We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
British Columbia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel was reccomended to us by native New Yorkers, and we're really happy that we stayed at this hotel.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and central to all of the touristy areas, plus the subway.
It includes breakfast (bagels, coffee, etc) which is always a bonus, The roofop deck was really nice(however the bar closed early). the only real downside was that we werent ablel to connect to the internet however, there is a business centre)
We would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,473
    1,057
    206
    52
    34
See reviews for
479
1,412
104
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gort, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Metro NYC during our honeymoon. The hotel was very nice and clean and nicely decorated. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is in an excellent location and only a 2 min walk from macys!! It was a great location as a base for touring NYC and was easily accessible. The roof bar is class, especially at night as you look over at The Empire State Building.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Metro in June 2013 for 3 nights and this was our first time in New York. The hotel is in a perfect location to explore, with an amazing close up view of the Empire State Building. The breakfast is great to set you up for a day of sightseeing. The decor and bedrooms are done to a high standard and the staff were friendly and helpful. A great hotel that we will definitely return to in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel recommended by acquaintance, booked it due to reviews on TripAdvisor, and thrilled with choice. It is located near the Empire State Building, Macy's and the subway; a great central location. The rooms are smallish (expected this here) and clean; shower is huge. Nice selection for free continental breakfast. Staff was always gracious and willing to help - especially important our first night as luggage was lost. Room on ninth floor with a great view of the Empire State Building. We could hear the city activity on the street below, like white noise, a reminder the city never sleeps. Here from 1-6 July and will definitely choose this hotel for all future stays.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I were in NYC just for one Monday night in mid-June for a charity function. I found Hotel Metro after a little research and I feel like a hero! What a great hotel. I can't recall whether or not we booked a premier room, but that is what we received. Corner premier room on the 11th floor. It was such a large room for NYC. It was very well-appointed and included a mini-fridge that even had a few complimentary soft-drinks. That was a nice little surprise. The bathroom was exceptional and included what I'd call a "rain drop shower" option. The service at the roof deck was a bit slow and drinks a bit too high, but we survived and it was a cool perspective on the Empire State Building. There are also some decent bar/restaurants on the block. All in all, it was a very nice experience and something of a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the week in New York and booked the Hotel Metro based on reviews from Tripadvisor. It is a great hotel. Great staff, excellent rooms and a free breakfast each morning with bagels, yogurt, cereal, coffee, and pastry. The rooftop garden area was open to guests 24 hours a day, with a great view of the Empire State Building. The location is close to the subway and we were able to walk to almost everything we wanted within a 1/2 hour. On our next trip to NY we will book this hotel again. So don't hesitate, just book it, you won't be disappointed for the value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I chose to come here based on trip advisor reviews and the competitive prices.

I was glad I did with the hotel being high quality with comfy beds, large rooms and good bathrooms. The location was also amazing and probably the best part!!

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only complaints I have was that I never got a daily newspaper and the airconditioner wouldn't turn off

Room Tip: You can't really avoid the street noise here as sirens are the sound of NY
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.