We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 454 Hotels in New York City
jersey c.i
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for five nights at the metro and enjoyed every minute.
The staff were very pleasent and helpful.
Breakfast is perfect and sets you up for all the walking and sightseeing.
Hotels situation is great and close to many famous landmarks.
We will definitely return to the metro as we had a fab time.
Newyork is well worth a visit

Room Tip: We had a room without a view and I'm sure it added to the sleep quality we had .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    948
    190
    51
    33
See reviews for
423
1,248
97
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've just returned from the metro hotel , its great , the staff are friendly , the breakfast is really good and the 24 hour free tea and coffee is great , its our first time to New york and this is just the best hotel , its located just minutes away from the main shopping area (5th Avenue) and a subway stop just down the street , its so central , the roof top bar is great in the evening and not too expensive and has a great view of the Empire state building , it really is a great place would highly recommend

Room Tip: floor 12 just below the roof top bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay. The bed was extremely comfortable as well as the pillows. After a day trekking about the streets of New York, it was wonderful to come back to such a comfortable room. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was very good and a great start to the day. Clean rooms everyday. Even supplied coke and water on arrival in your room, at no charge. Would love to stay here again when again in New York. Walking distance to Times Square and Central Park, the subway is on the corner if you wish to catch the train.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in the largest room with two bedrooms and one bath. The room was enormous and very nice. The bathroom was wonderful with a walk in shower with three shower heads. The place was spotless and they even had free Cokes in the room, as well as free Wifi. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was pretty good. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Even though we had to wait until the stated 4pm before being able to get into our room we were able to wait in the lounge and have the complimentary tea and coffee. This hotel (as well as the Comfort Inn across the road) is ideally situated for walking anywhere, nearest subway stop is at the end of the road, bus stops are at the other end in 5th Avenue, Macys is also at the end of the road, and so near to the little coffee kiosk and quiet no-smoking park at Herald Square (coffee is half-price between 3 + 6). Bed was extremely comfortable and I slept perfectly every night (and I am a person who takes a long time to get to sleep and then wakes up a couple of times during the night - but I slept all night) and the little mini fridge helped keep drinks cool. Complimentary toiletries were a shower cap, soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion (so no shower gel). You got a large towel each, a smaller hand towel and a flannel each, changed daily for us. My husband rated the gym as good and when he was in there I sat just outside on the rooftop terrace in the quiet but it was so nice to sit in the fresh air (especially as the windows do not open as you have air con/heating units in the room). Take an eye mask though as everything that is plugged in has a power light on it, the light comes round the door frame and in through the security peep hole, and the blackout blind on the window doesn't quite fit. Free wi-fi worked everywhere in the hotel (i.e. bedrooms and terrace). Breakfast was lovely - I dare you to find fault. Complimentary tea and coffee and hot water all the time and additional at breakfast was orange and apple juice. Hot water could also be used to make up porridge sachets. There was also a good range of fresh fruit. The list goes on:- cereals, bagels, toast or bread, jam, marmalade and grape jelly, yogurts, philly cheese for your bagels if you're like me and have to have that for breakfast, croisants (but only if you are down there really early - these go quick and do not get replaced), giant muffins, little glazed pastry cakes with jam or apple and cinnamon. This sets you up for the day and you will not be hungry. Space is limited to sit for breakfast in either the library, lounge or little room they open for breakfast, but you can share with the other guests or not have to wait that long for a table of your own. When we were there the breakfast ran from about 6.30 to 11am. Reception staff and doormen are lovely. Free newspaper every day and don't forget to ask for Macys' discount vouchers. We are definitely coming back here again. This is my 4th time in New York City. Email/contact me if you have any queries or questions and I will answer them honestly.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from lifts - some of the rooms have door which face the lift doors directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Metro in April and were thrilled with the location and hotel. The staff were most helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were cleaned daily, clean towels and bleached toilets!! The shower was great too! Ideal situation for all sight-seeing in New York. We would definitely recommend this hotel - it was booked as a package with BA. Bagels/muffins were yummy for breakfast and tea/coffee available 24/7.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and another couple. We all enjoyed our stay and have nothing but wonderful things to say about the Hotel Metro. The location is central to lots of attractions. The rooms were good size and spotless. Bathrooms were a little small but the shower was terrific-with wall, rain shower head and handheld options. Felt spa like despite the overall size of bathroom. Continental breakfast more than adequate. Free coffee/tea all day which hit the spot after long sightseeing days. It was full when we were there but the hotel was quiet. Great view from hotel rooftop of the Empire State Building which is literally just around the corner.
We did use the concierge for theatre tix which was hassle free but there are great deals to be had in Times Square if you are willing to do a bit of work and stand in line.
Also had free wifi which was another bonus. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want a boutique hotel feel for very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.