We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Lovely boutique hotel close to everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 452 hotels in New York City
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location. Lovely boutique hotel close to everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and another couple. We all enjoyed our stay and have nothing but wonderful things to say about the Hotel Metro. The location is central to lots of attractions. The rooms were good size and spotless. Bathrooms were a little small but the shower was terrific-with wall, rain shower head and handheld options. Felt spa like despite the overall size of bathroom. Continental breakfast more than adequate. Free coffee/tea all day which hit the spot after long sightseeing days. It was full when we were there but the hotel was quiet. Great view from hotel rooftop of the Empire State Building which is literally just around the corner.
We did use the concierge for theatre tix which was hassle free but there are great deals to be had in Times Square if you are willing to do a bit of work and stand in line.
Also had free wifi which was another bonus. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want a boutique hotel feel for very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,235
    916
    185
    50
    33
See reviews for
407
1187
95
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal, but we weren't disappointed. A great central location, near to Macy's and the Empire State Building and a short walk to Time Square.
The room was clean, well appointed, ours on the 9th floored the back of the hotel, a great bed, queen sized and very comfortable.
A walk in wardrobe housed a generous rail, room for cases, a safe, an ironing board and iron as well as a hair dryer.
The bathroom had a walk in multifunction shower, lots of towels and products and always plenty of hot water even at peak times.
The complementary breakfast in the morning was always busy, but with not having to walk out, saved loads of time.
We would certainly visit the Metro again and would recommend to anyone wanting to visit New York.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked a premier room and put in a request for a nice room with view as it was for my birthday. When we arrived the lady on reception told us they had upgraded us to a suite for no extra charge. The suite was on the 12th floor and was superb with views over the Empire State Building . The room was serviced everyday and was spotless.
The staff were very helpful and always friendly . The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day and was very relaxed in the dining / lounge area . The rooftop bar was open but we missed it but took our own drinks up to the roof "what an amazing view" The Gym looked good to but that's as near as I got to it !
The location is perfect and we walked almost everywhere . Times Square less than ten mins , Bryant park ten mins and Central Park no more than 20 mins . Macy's ( if you want to brave it a stones throw away ). I can strongly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in staying again if we return to NYC again.
Thank you hotel metro for making our stay in NYC such a pleasant one .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first trip to NYC and to the USA and I have to say we could not have chosen a better hotel. To begin with, the staff: all of them were polite, friendly and helpful and all provided a warm welcome at all times. The location is good and easy to find, and is also close to many of the sights including Time Square and The Empire State Building. The bedroom was a good example of a room which, although small, provided everything we needed to a high standard. The bed was very comfortable, (although may be an issue if two giants want to share it!) and the room provided lots of good facilities including coffee making and a big 'walk in' shower. We were also on the 11th floor which was nice and peaceful. The breakfasts were ok: a bit too bread orientated and ideally should include a little more choice, but they were a good start to the day. Lastly, the hotel has a lovely lobby and a lovely area with sofas where you can sit in peace and drink free tea and coffee all day. We spent all of our time in NYC walking around and seeing the sights, so to come back to a such a lovely and peaceful lobby, be greeted by wonderful staff and to sit down in peace and drink coffee was always a pleasure. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Hotel Metro is in a fantastic position in New York. A minute's walk from Macy's and two from the Empire State Building. Indeed, both can be seen from the hotel terrace on the roof, the Empire State impressively so. Times Square is a 5-10 minute walk, depending on how fast your pace. It is midway between uptown (Central Park, etc) and downtown (9/11 Memorial, etc). We found that a 48 hour tour bus ticket was very useful, going in one direction each day and getting on/off when and where we wanted (You can purchase the tickets at most of the tourist hotspots...Indeed, you will no doubt be approached to buy them!)
The hotel itself is nicely presented, if a little tired in some areas (some upholstery needs replacing)
It seems to be a theme that you are upgraded. We were informed that we had a free upgrade to a recently redecorated Superior room. Indeed, it was very nice, but the cynic in me asked if we did not mention the terrible view (back wall of another building) and the position opposite the lifts (which was a little noisy, particularly in the morning when the cleaning staff started) because of the 'upgrade'?
The room itself was well presented with a tv, coffee maker, fridge and safe. It was generally cleaned very well, but the stains on one pillow on our arrival had obviously not been spotted. And why do they give you new soap every day? Leave the soap in the dish! I am happy to use it for more than one day!
Breakfast was very welcome. Cereals, bagels, toast, yoghurt, fruit. All very nice, accompanied by fruit juice, tea and of course, coffee. If you want the works including pancakes, French toast, hash browns, etc you will have to go elsewhere, but quite honestly, the hotel breakfast was fine.
As previously noted, the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. These people are what add to the Hotel Metro experience which is very positive and one I would have again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our first time ever in New York. We stayed at Hotel Metro for 5 nights for our honeymoon and loved every minute of it :-) . We were upgraded to a Superior Queen Suite, our room was really lovely and clean - no complaints at all. The breakfast every morning always had a large selection to choose from and saved us a lot of money (something most hotels we looked at didn't offer). The reception staff were always friendly and very helpful. The concierge went above and beyond to give us lots of helpful advice throughout our stay. The hotel's location was perfect too, just a short walk to Times Square and round the corner from Macy's and Empire State Building. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to family and friends and will definitely choose this hotel again!!! Thank you for your excellent service and for contributing to making our honeymoon so enjoyable :-) .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Metro for a few days from 11th April 13', and it was brilliant. For starters, when we arrived at the hotel, we were given an upgrade from a standard room (with one bed) to a suite with 2 double beds and a kingsize - perfection! The room was clean, the staff were courteous and the breakfast was divine. Honestly couldn't of wished for a more perfect stay. Thank-you Hotel Metro. You truly made our stay a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are perfect, but in my experience try and get a room at the front (we were just by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.