We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 454 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked a premier room and put in a request for a nice room with view as it was for my birthday. When we arrived the lady on reception told us they had upgraded us to a suite for no extra charge. The suite was on the 12th floor and was superb with views over the Empire State Building . The room was serviced everyday and was spotless.
The staff were very helpful and always friendly . The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day and was very relaxed in the dining / lounge area . The rooftop bar was open but we missed it but took our own drinks up to the roof "what an amazing view" The Gym looked good to but that's as near as I got to it !
The location is perfect and we walked almost everywhere . Times Square less than ten mins , Bryant park ten mins and Central Park no more than 20 mins . Macy's ( if you want to brave it a stones throw away ). I can strongly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in staying again if we return to NYC again.
Thank you hotel metro for making our stay in NYC such a pleasant one .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    974
    191
    51
    33
See reviews for
435
1,271
97
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first trip to NYC and to the USA and I have to say we could not have chosen a better hotel. To begin with, the staff: all of them were polite, friendly and helpful and all provided a warm welcome at all times. The location is good and easy to find, and is also close to many of the sights including Time Square and The Empire State Building. The bedroom was a good example of a room which, although small, provided everything we needed to a high standard. The bed was very comfortable, (although may be an issue if two giants want to share it!) and the room provided lots of good facilities including coffee making and a big 'walk in' shower. We were also on the 11th floor which was nice and peaceful. The breakfasts were ok: a bit too bread orientated and ideally should include a little more choice, but they were a good start to the day. Lastly, the hotel has a lovely lobby and a lovely area with sofas where you can sit in peace and drink free tea and coffee all day. We spent all of our time in NYC walking around and seeing the sights, so to come back to a such a lovely and peaceful lobby, be greeted by wonderful staff and to sit down in peace and drink coffee was always a pleasure. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Hotel Metro is in a fantastic position in New York. A minute's walk from Macy's and two from the Empire State Building. Indeed, both can be seen from the hotel terrace on the roof, the Empire State impressively so. Times Square is a 5-10 minute walk, depending on how fast your pace. It is midway between uptown (Central Park, etc) and downtown (9/11 Memorial, etc). We found that a 48 hour tour bus ticket was very useful, going in one direction each day and getting on/off when and where we wanted (You can purchase the tickets at most of the tourist hotspots...Indeed, you will no doubt be approached to buy them!)
The hotel itself is nicely presented, if a little tired in some areas (some upholstery needs replacing)
It seems to be a theme that you are upgraded. We were informed that we had a free upgrade to a recently redecorated Superior room. Indeed, it was very nice, but the cynic in me asked if we did not mention the terrible view (back wall of another building) and the position opposite the lifts (which was a little noisy, particularly in the morning when the cleaning staff started) because of the 'upgrade'?
The room itself was well presented with a tv, coffee maker, fridge and safe. It was generally cleaned very well, but the stains on one pillow on our arrival had obviously not been spotted. And why do they give you new soap every day? Leave the soap in the dish! I am happy to use it for more than one day!
Breakfast was very welcome. Cereals, bagels, toast, yoghurt, fruit. All very nice, accompanied by fruit juice, tea and of course, coffee. If you want the works including pancakes, French toast, hash browns, etc you will have to go elsewhere, but quite honestly, the hotel breakfast was fine.
As previously noted, the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. These people are what add to the Hotel Metro experience which is very positive and one I would have again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our first time ever in New York. We stayed at Hotel Metro for 5 nights for our honeymoon and loved every minute of it :-) . We were upgraded to a Superior Queen Suite, our room was really lovely and clean - no complaints at all. The breakfast every morning always had a large selection to choose from and saved us a lot of money (something most hotels we looked at didn't offer). The reception staff were always friendly and very helpful. The concierge went above and beyond to give us lots of helpful advice throughout our stay. The hotel's location was perfect too, just a short walk to Times Square and round the corner from Macy's and Empire State Building. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to family and friends and will definitely choose this hotel again!!! Thank you for your excellent service and for contributing to making our honeymoon so enjoyable :-) .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Metro for a few days from 11th April 13', and it was brilliant. For starters, when we arrived at the hotel, we were given an upgrade from a standard room (with one bed) to a suite with 2 double beds and a kingsize - perfection! The room was clean, the staff were courteous and the breakfast was divine. Honestly couldn't of wished for a more perfect stay. Thank-you Hotel Metro. You truly made our stay a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are perfect, but in my experience try and get a room at the front (we were just by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our 4th time staying at Hotel Metro in April 2013 and our best to date. Staff are as always friendly and professional and willing to help out with any need and its great to see the same faces working there, really helps to make you feel like a home away from home.

Our room was of an excellent standard, as always, and the note in our room welcoming us as we are part of the facebook family was a nice wee touch. Breakfast being included sets you up for the day ahead and with the hotel in a prime location mid town for all the sights you don't have to wonder far.

This is a must stay hotel for new and regular visitors to NYC. We'll be back for sure again and can't wait for that day to come.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have been in have been nice but if you can go for a big bed size as it helps rest y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Title says it all.

Great location in the heart of NY. Located in a short walk to all landmarks including Times Sq, Flat Iron Building, Maceys.

Rooms are ideal, clean, modern and fresh.
As A UK traveller we have been to new york 3 times now and this was by far the better hotel we have stayed in. big thumbs up.

Hotel staff all helpfull and kind.

9/10

Cheers

Room Tip: 1 - Arrive alittle early before check inn. We did and got bumped up to a better room as our wasnt re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#45 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.