We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We (young couple) stayed here in late March 2013 for 4 nights. We arrived at our room and we had 3 double beds in our room, a family suite I think! It was on the fourth floor, but because its not on a main avenue its nice and quiet anyway and we weren't woken up by the noise outdoors. The bed was very comfortable, room was large and spacious and the bathroom was great.

Breakfast is complimentary each morning between 6-11am if I remember rightly. Tea, coffee and fruit juice, as well as a mix of toast and fresh muffins and bagels (amazing) and yogurts/fruits and cereals (lucky charms, cheerios etc). The bagels really were fresh and absolutely delicious, I had 3 in my first breakfast, I couldn't get enough of them!

There is a rooftop terrace and a fitness gym on the top floor. The terrace gives amazing views of the ESB and the gym had a good range of machines and weights.

The location is fantastic, Herald Square subway is 2 seconds away on the same block, we used it everyday to get around Manhattan. Macys is just down the road and Times Square is 10min walk up. Lots of shopping places in this area too, as well as a good spread of Irish pubs, bars and restaurants to eat at.

We loved our stay and would absolutely recommend Hotel Metro to anyone looking to visit NYC and be in a great central location. If we come back to NYC (been twice in 2 years) we would definitely come and stay at the hotel metro again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    996
    192
    51
    34
See reviews for
446
1,300
99
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights from 28 March and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are all extremely polite and helpful and you certainly cannot beat the location. Just one block from the Empire State and within walking distance of most of the main attractions.

We stayed in a contmeporary double double and were very pleased with the size of the room. Expected a small room with it being New York but the room was really spacious and the bathroom fantastic. The huge walk in shower was a godsend after a busy day sightseeing or shopping!!

The restaurant in the hotel is really nice and a good choice if you really can't be bothered after a busy day out. We ate there twice and throughly enjoyed it. Breakfast in the hotel is also good and set us up nicely for the day ahead.

All in all this is a brilliant hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were schedule to stay in another hotel in NYC. Although Travelocity had tried to reach us for a while, my e-mail had been hacked and I had changed it months after making my travel plans. They finally got a hold of us by phone days before we were leaving for NYC to tell us our newly constructed hotel had yet to be finished and we would not be able to stay there. After a couple of efforts, our Travelocity agent got us reservations at Hotel Metro and we loved the hotel. Our room was beautiful, the lobby and bar very nice, great food the one night we had dinner there, and an excellent continnental breakfast each morning. We made half a dozen trips to the penthouse level terrace to gawk in awe at the Empire State Building. Hotel clients were overwhelming European. The hotel has a total of 144 rooms and for us that's a perfect size -- big enough to have a variety of services, and small enough to be exceptionally comfortable. Location was also great. Several subway stops were nearby and lots and lots eateries nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior queen or king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights over Easter. The location is excellent. Just near Empire State, Macy's at Herald square and next to a metro station. Breakfast is complimentary and more than adequate to set you off on a day of sight seeing. Coffee and tea are available all day and the adjoining bar/grill has a happy hour M-F around 5pm ish. The rooms aren't that big and the decor is dated BUT its clean, all the staff are helpful and friendly and if you want a decent priced hotel near all the main sights, then this is perfect. The roof terrace is a bonus, it wasn't open when we stayed, but I can imagine it is fantastic in summer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. We booked online in January 2013 and requested a family suite room on a high level with a view. The family suites are great as we have a teenage son and daughter. This provided a separate bedroom for us and a separate bedroom with double beds for our teens. We shared a bath. There also was a wet bar and two refrigerators in our suite which were very nice to have. We also indicated that we were bringing our daughter to NYC for her 16th birthday. When we checked in we got exactly what we wanted in a room plus they left a birthday note and box of chocolates for our daughter! The rooms were nice and clean. The bathroom was wonderful! Loved the shower!!! One day we fogot to lock our safe and left several valuables. We were pleasantly surprised when we returned to find everything just as we had left it. The breakfast provided was nice and definately a bonus! We will definately plan to stay here again on our next trip!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids or as couples go for the family suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We used the reviews on Trip Advisor to book this hotel for 6 nights and were pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade to a king bed room upon check-in. The rooms are quite small but very clean and comfortable. The housekeeping is prompt and efficient and the complimentary continental breakfast and guest lounge with free tea and coffee available 24/7 makes it very good value for money in expensive New York. The location was perfect for us, being a block from Maceys and short walk to the Empire State Building and Broadway. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby and the Herald Street subway station is on the corner, with other subway stations easy to walk to.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our first time in NY, we stayed at the Metro on personal recommendation from the travel agent.
The Hotel is ideally situated in Manhattan, within easy reach of both Central park and Downtown areas.
The nearest subway is only 100yds away and very close to Macy's and 5th Avenue for shopping.
Our room was on the 12th floor and was very spacious, clean and had comfortable beds. Traffic noise was minimal, although we were facing the back of the building, with no particular view.
However, that didn't matter as there are great views of The Empire State building from the roof terrace.
The hotel is art deco style and staff very helpful, the Concierge booked a movie tour for us at short notice on the only wet day of our stay.
One of the benefits of the Metro is the continental breakfast, which is good and saves a lot of time finding food elsewhere before starting the day's sightseeing.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.