We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Hotel Metro and it didn't disappoint. Hotel in great location, everything on your door step or a walk away. Rooms large, beds so comfy you don't want to get up in the morning and shower very powerful and warm. A lot of choice at breakfast, enough to start the day ahead and the complimentary tea and coffee a great added bonus. Matthew on the door as lovely as ever. In fact all the staff very welcoming and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel enough. Just BRILLIANT.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    999
    193
    51
    34
See reviews for
447
1,302
99
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here 9th-13th January. Like many others I found the location excellent - a subway at 34th Herald St within a few hundreds metres brings you Uptown or Dowtown very easily. We had a few drinks at the nearby Irish bars and had a wonderful meal at the Korean/Chinese restaurant next door - it didn't look much from the outside but the food was superb. We also ate at Keens Steakhouse and Ai Fiori which are both around the corner. The Empire State is on the next block and we visited when we arrived at 3.45pm - no queues and we watched the sunset and NYC come alive at night? Breakfast was self-service and more than adequate - cereal, fruit, toast, muffins, bagels, yoghurt etc. Coffee and tea is also complimentary self service 24 hours a day. That was a nice touch after a day or night out. Macy's is also nearby - 8 floors of shopping heaven or hell depending on your point of view. Rooms are not 5 star but were clean and a good size for a city. Maid service every day and staff were always on hand if you needed them. It's a bit noisy outside at night, but they do say this is the city that never sleeps! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to be used as a base to visit this wonderful city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Probably the best thing about this hotel is the location, Macy's is just down the road!

Our room was very comfortable and the shower was lovely, I was very pleasantly surprised at the amount of choice for their continental breakfast.

The roof terrace would have been lovely if we didn't go there in November, slightly chilly to say the least - but offers great views of The Empire State Building which looks great at night all lit up.

We were only there a couple of days as we continued our holiday with a cruise, but I would definitely stay there again if we return to this amazing city sometime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were recommended to stay here by a friend who used to stay there every week and we had a family suite which was lovely. Very comfortable and spacious. Staff were very nice and the bell staff were especially great

Room Tip: Family suite was perfect for us, family of 4, but could have easily accomodated 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel with a great location. As soon as we arrived we was given an upgrade to a family suite. Lovely large room with two doubles in one room and a queen in the other..

Yes you can hear noise from the street but who goes to NYC to sleep ?? We ate in the metro grill twice and it was ok with good staff but there are far better value places to eat nearby.

The breakfast is good with a fair choice. And the free tea and coffee all day was a real bonus..

In short the good.. Location. Friendly helpful staff. Roof terrace. Clean room. Hot coffee 24/7. Stylish.. Comfy beds. Plenty of hot water and clean soft towels.

We was there for thanksgiving. And got a prime view of the parade from the bottom of the street.

The bad. Controlling the heating was a little temperamental. And finally this didn't affect my partner but for some strange reason I seemed to get the odd static electric shocks when I walked on the carpet.

This would be my first choice if I was to go back to NYC

Room Tip: Email ahead if its a special occasion and ask for an up grade. It worked for us. Take an extra muf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Cet hotel est juste génial!! En plus d'étre quasiment juste en face de l'Empire State Building, cet hotel est d'un confort inoubliable et la décoration est juste splendide!! Le petit déjeuner est délicieux surtout les muffins!! (attention ils sont énorme)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Cant complane at all about hotel it was near Macys and at night on the top deck you get a brilliant view of the empire state which is just across the road. Room cleaned daily, towel change also. We had breakfast and it was continental but the bagels were lovely and very fresh, we didnt use gym but noticed some people using it. It was also a quiet location , no noise from traffic or local night lfe. All round great hotel would recomend

Room Tip: just go up to the top deck at night for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.