We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC metro hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 449 hotels in New York City
west yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NYC metro hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked this hotel via Virgin holidays, what a find this hotel is. The hotel Metro is in a fabulous place for all the sights the empire stated building is just over the road. The room was small but very clean modern with a great shower. complimentary breakfast was good coffee tea bagels pastries fruit juice yogurts (continental) The hotel lobby was small but welcoming as are the staff, in all the hotel was great and we would book again. Plus Macy's is a two minute walk from the hotel as is the nearest tube stations.

Room Tip: The room was 901 with no view but very quite at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,237
    963
    191
    53
    33
See reviews for
398
1133
92
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was my 3rd stay at the metro, was dissapointed with the room this time on booking this stay 12 months ago i requested a high floor with a front view and twin beds as we had before but got 3rd floor very tiny room with a small bed looking out to a brick wall at the back this didn't bother us to much asked if they had another room as we were excisting customers they did not.Other than that would stay again with a bigger room, brilliant location lovely breakfast and ongoing tea and coffee. doorman very helpfall. woodbury common is a must do very easy from port authority bus terminal once again had a brilliant time in this great city and hope to come back soon to the hotel metro.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is the best hotel I have stayed in NYC we were lucky to be given a superior king room.we had a bottle of champagne and a card for my sisters birthday.it was excellent to have a breakfast and 24hour tea and coffee .the metro grill attached to the hotel is excellent and very reasonable.as sad as it may be we counted and it is 250 steps to Macy's from the hotel so location is fantastic would never stay at another hotel whenever I return to the best city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked this hotel via the united airlines website and got a killer deal. Came here for Veteran's day weekend from Sun-Mon with the girl to celebrate our anniversary. Enjoyed the continental breakfast and the rooftop penthouse of the hotel overlooking the empire state building. This rooftop must be a treat in the summer time when its nice and warm with an open bar.
The rooms were smaller then ususal and the bathroom was small but with a spacious stand up shower. My favorite part of the shower was the rain showerhead. There are three showerheads that turn on at the same time. The location is great as well, being that the path and herald square is only a 2 minute walk. The service was great and so was our bell boy who kept our luggages after check out. I def recommend this spot for any family, couples or singles looking to enjoy a nice weekend in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Great restaurants only a few blocks away and Bryant Park is only a 5 minute walk. Great spot and se...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the minute we walked into the lobby I knew I had selected the right hotel. It was clean, and welcoming. the front desk staff were efficient, helpful and pleasant. Our room was very well appointed with huge comfortable beds. We were on the 12th floor so street noise was not an issue and we slept well. Breakfast the next morning was good and plentiful - a nice selection of bagels, cereal, juice and coffee. I would definitely return again and hope to soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

GREAT place to stay...stayed there on a Saturday night in Novemeber for our anniversary at a rate MUCH lower than any other place, and Hotel Metro did not disappoint. We chose this hotel because the rate was good and the location was perfect for any NYC venture. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and had all the necessary amenities. An added bonus was the rooftop deck with a pretty cool view of the Empire State Building.

We have stayed in several NYC hotels and are ALWAYS soured by the room size and lack of attention from the staff, but Hotel Metro blew them all out of the water. As an added bonus the continental breakfast was excellent and saved us money. I will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Metro happened to coincide with Hurricane Sandy. The whole of New York shut down for several days, but fortunately Hotel Metro escaped the power cuts. Despite having severe staff shortages for several days, the hotel coped brilliantly. The service continued to be good, the restaurant remained open (one of a very few that did), and we felt well looked after. Apart from the drama of the hurricane, we were impressed with the standard of the accommodation (we had a family suite - great for 2 adults and 2 teenagers), the breakfast was good, and the location is brilliant. I'd highly recommend it and would happily stay there again if we returned to NY.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.