We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Metro - Great location and stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 459 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Hotel Metro - Great location and stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our company uses this hotel frequently for our business travel, although this was my first stay. The hotel accommodations were terrific, including a free breakfast which is unusual for a uniquely styled hotel like this. Centrally located near the Empire State building, it's a short walk to our office and the train stations. Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    999
    193
    51
    34
See reviews for
447
1,302
99
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Super location right underneath the ESB, near Macy's the Garden and Penn Station. Great value for money, clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathroom. Staff nice. Breakfast is buffet style and sets you up for the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After checking out Trip Advisor (for weeks!) we eventually decided upon Hotel Metro for our six night stay in NYC.
We read 100s of reviews and found the lengthy, detailed ones extremely helpful, so...
HM was just perfect for us... I am just going to gush in no particular order... free room upgrade on arrival, quick, no nonsense check-in, bubbly and chocs left in room with a wee personal message.
Room was lovely, surprisingly spacious for NYC - plenty of room for both of us with three suitcases and Macy's shopping! The bed was unbelievably comfortable and big - normally a very poor sleeper, I slept well on all six nights.
Although we had no view our room, 908, was quiet - no noise at all - apart from the heating coming on on the first night (we turned it off and didn't need it for the rest of our stay). The room was comfortably warm and lovely to return to for a wee freshen up before going out in the evenings. Housekeeping did a consistently fantastic job - spotlessly clean and tidy day after day. It was great to have a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities in the room - a nice touch.
We had to contact Reception once, to ask for batteries for the remote control - sorted immediately with no fuss!
The bathroom was a good size and had a great three head shower. The Gilchrist and Soames toilries were a nice wee touch and were replenished daily.
The breakfast was excellent, we had no problems at all with the (good quality) paper crockery. The coffee was good and the croissants were fresh and warm. The bread was very good and the toaster was quite quick. We loved the fact that we could bring breakfast up to our room as sometimes the temperature in the Breakfast room was oppressively hot (this is the only gripe we had).
Another nice touch was tea and coffee was available 24/7 - gratis.
We ordered Meet and Greet at the airport, helicopter ride and tickets to The Jersey Boys (highlight of the whole holiday) with the Concierge from home - seamless - no problems at all - although a little more expensive doing it this way.
The Rooftop Terrace was just spectacular. We took our bubbly up and took in the awesome view of the ESB - you feel as though you can touch it - it's so close!!
Very helpful being able to leave luggage in storage on the last day. Concierge arranged a shuttle to take us to the airport - $25 each, not expensive at all.
We walked everywhere every day (averaged 8-10 miles daily) - the location is just perfect.
This hotel was everything we wanted and we have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending it.

Room Tip: Bryant Park - just around the corner - a magical and romantic place not to be missed - we went every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here in early November. Stayed on the 12ft floor in a family suite which was a premier room and it had loads of space, very clean and warm. Free soft drinks on your arrival in the minibar plus two bottles of water on the locker. Beds were very comfortable and had no problem with street noise. Bathrooms were a nice size, towels changed every day but had to leave the water running afew mins for it to get hot water. Breakfast was great plenty of bagals, muffins, bread for toast, fruit, pastries, cereal, tea, coffee and orange juice. There was also free tea and coffee 24 hours a day available in the breakfast room. Staff were very friendly and helpful espeically the doorman never got his name thou. The hotel is about 2 mins walk to macys, about 3 mins walk to 5th Ave, 5 mins around corner to the empire state building which can also be seen from the roof top bar in the hotel which is lovely at night, 20 to 25 mins walk to central park and 10 to 15 mins walk to boardway and top of the rock. O'Reilly Irish pub down the street is lovely for food and drinks. Just one thing do not book Woodbury Common with concierge its $40.00 and the company thats running the tour can pick you up at pennsylvania hotel which is about 5 mins walk on 7th Ave but you dont get dropped off there on the way back in the evening, you get dropped off at Milford Plaza which is on 8th Ave but because of traffic they could drop 15/20mins away from both hotels and we were never told this then we booked the tour, you are better of to go to port authority bus terminal its cheaper. Other than that had a great holiday and would def recommend this hotel and def stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

excellent hotel, gave value for money and a superb location only two blocks from Empire State Building. This hotel has excellent facilities including a roof top bar that gives really good views.
It is close by to bus and metro links to which the later I would strongly use.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The number one thing for us when going to New York is location and Hotel Metro has one of the best locations. Helpful staff, great food. Slightly dated hotel but still very clean and everything in working order. With a view of the Empire State building and very good value for money we will definitely book this hotel again next time we go to New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel immediately after hurricane sandy.

We stayed in a contemporary delux room, booked through British Airways, which was perfect for the two of us (2 double beds). The standard of decor was very good, the beds were comfortable and where we were at the back of the hotel on the eighth floor it was very quiet. The shower (with three different shower heads) was very good, although the bathroom could do with an extractor fan. The room also had a great coffee machine and radio with iPod dock (although the time was wrong and we couldn't work out how to change it!).

The hotel is very clean and the staff very accommodating and polite. Free Internet was a bonus, although was a bit slow for my liking.

The breakfast was perfectly acceptable for us. It consisted on bagels with cream cheese or jam, delicious muffins, cereal, fruit, orange juice and toast. They provided paper plates and bowls and plastic cutlery which some might not like, but it didn't upset us.

In terms of location, the hotel is on 35th street very close to Macy's and Penn Station, so great for shopping and visiting Broadway.

Whilst we couldn't make much use of the roof terrace, there is a great view of the Empire State Building, so it's worth going up there.

We'd also recommend Keen's Chophouse on 36th street and O'Reilly's Irish Pub on the same road.

This hotel deserves much more than its 3 stars.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.