We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #246 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family of 4 stayed for 4 nights this week. The location was great. It was 2 blocks from 42/Bryant park subway station. Right across the street from the New York Public Library and Beautiful Bryant Park. Many food and shopping choices are nearby.
My only complaint is the actual size of the rooms. I have stayed in several hotels in the city and have had larger rooms than this. This hotel would be more adequate for a couple than a family.
The service was good from the front desk staff.

Room Tip: Great for a couple or business travelers. Families may try another hotel with larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback! I apologize that the size of the guest room did not suit your family. Some of our rooms are smaller than others - if you find yourself booking at our hotel again, a king suite has an additional living room space that might be better for a family. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay besides that! We would love to have you here as our guests next time you're in NYC! Thanks again - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    225
    94
    33
    13
See reviews for
186
95
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Having been to New York quite a bit for business, I was getting tired of navigating through the crowds just to get to and from my hotel. I felt like a local staying here, the room was so quiet and I didn't hear sirens or taxis honking every few minutes. My view consisted of the back of a few buildings, so I would guess a tourist who is staying here for the view may not like it. But I was here for business and just wanted a comfortable environment. The room was very clean, the lobby is small (the way I like things) and the wifi was free. I did have a problem connecting my iTouch to it though, so that is one criticism.

The hotel is close to Bryant Park and the NY Public Library. Times Square is maybe 4 blocks away as is Rockefeller center (don't quote me on this, just an estimate). There is a deli next door, which was super convenient, since I was too busy to sit through a formal dinner and wanted something fresher to eat. I believe there is a McDonalds and a 99 cent store on the same block as well.

Check-in and check-out were effortless and service was great. I would stay here again the next time I am in New York. I was only there one night, so did not use any exercise facilties, etc. The rooms are a bit smaller than the Hilton Times Square and Westin Times Square, but not at all claustrophobic. I appreciated that there were only about 4 rooms per floor, this made it easier to not forget my room and made the walk shorter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving such a nice, detailed review! I am happy to hear that we were able to make your business trip so enjoyable and comfortable. We would love to have you as our guests during your next trip to NYC! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend in the city for our 35th anniversary. The staff at this hotel was very accommodating from the General Manager Justin Scarpa to the housekeeping staff. Everyone was professional and helpful when we needed directions or dining recommendations. The only negative comment we have is that we could hear the people in the next room and in the hallway. Although there are only a few rooms per floor, it appears that there is not enough sound insulation in the walls. The room was clean and very sunny. The size of the room seemed typical for a NYC hotel room (smaller than in other cities). We normally stay at the Marriott closer to Times Square and the Theater district, but decided to try this one instead. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the elevator may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback! I am sorry you found your room to be noisy! Our floors are set up with only a small number of rooms on each so I apologize this impacted your stay. I am very pleased that the rest of your time at our hotel was enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Courtyard Marriott was perfect for our stay in NYC, lovely helpful and friendly staff and great central position. The room was great, average size for NYC but nicely appointed, clean and very comfortable. Free Wifi and Coffee maker in the room is always a bonus and a coffee station on the second level for extra tea and coffee should you require it,  along with a business centre and gym is nice. We would definitely recommend this hotel for absolute value and service. Just a quick note we did stop in at the down stairs restaurant/bar Salmon River on our way home for a quick night cap and we received the rudest service I've ever received, easily fixed though just didn't go back! For me it is No reflection on the Courtyard Marriott, they were fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you had such a nice stay at our hotel! We would love to have you back upon your next trip to NYC! Salmon River is not owned or operated by Courtyard by Marriott, we simply share an address - I will be sure to pass your feedback on to their management. I apologize you received such poor service! Thank you for your feedback! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel was like an oasis in the city. The rooms were a bit small but well appointed. The bedding and bed were very comfortable. The room was very quiet and we could not hear much street noise, which was great in NYC. The location is perfect for sightseeing. There are several eating establishments nearby -including Chipotle amd McDonalds for casual dining. I would recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to provide this great response from your stay! I am very pleased you found our hotel so enjoyable. Our new bedding, mattresses and renovated rooms have received wonderful reviews so far! Thank you again! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just had an amazing stay at the Courtyard Marriott. Great location close to all the attractions. Maid service every day, really clean. Reception staff really helpful and friendly. To top off the holiday we asked the consierge Frank to book us a taxi to the airport. He said he had arranged us a taxi and when it came to collect us he had booked a limo at no extra cost, fantastic! Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: We asked for high room but unfortunately only got 10th floor with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Wow - what a great response! I will be sure to let Frank know you were so pleased with his help. I am sorry to hear you didn't receive a high floor room. We try our very best to accommodate each guest's requests so I apologize that we were unable to meet your request. Please feel free to contact me personally should you find yourself returning to our hotel! Thank you - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very great in terms of service, cleanliness, and the rooms!! The people at the front desk were very welcoming and provided us with a lot of great advice about where to eat and go. The rooms were a little small, but that was okay because we were rarely in it since we were doing a lot of sightseeing! The location was great! It was very close to Bryant park and grand central station. It is also in walking distance of the theater district and Times Square which was very convenient. The rooms were very clean as well. The first two nights here we were on the 3rd floor, but we really wanted to be higher up. The 3rd morning, the clerk was able to move us to the 29th floor and the view was spectacular! The staff was very nice in the way they handled our wish to move floors. Overall this was a great stay and we would definitely stay here again!! It was close to everything, but just out of the crazy crowds!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback! Our staff works diligently to keep this hotel sparkling clean so I will be sure to pass your comments on to our housekeeping and engineering staff members. Thank you again and we hope you have a wonderful summer! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 3 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
#229 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.