We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #246 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This review is a little late, as my wife and I stayed there in 2010. But I just wanted to say that we had a great stay here. Great location and a clean room. What else could you ask for while visiting NYC?

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    225
    94
    33
    13
See reviews for
186
95
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed two nights over thanksgiving weekend and the location of the hotel couldn't have been any better. But it was the staff that really made our stay special. The front desk was really helpful and friendly and we were able to check in early. Every employee we met greeted us with a smile and genuinely pleased to give us suggestions of where to go and what to eat.

I love hotels, I just really do! We had wanted to stay at one the higher end Marriott's but pricing and availability didn't work out. We stayed one night at the East Side Marriott and two nights at the Courtyard. I was nervous that we would not be happy at the Courtyard but in the end it is one of our favorite hotels! We are already planning our next visit to NYC and we will be staying at the 5th Ave. Courtyard!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing this fantastic review of your stay with us! While the Marriott Eastside is an outstanding property, I am so pleased you found our staff, accommodations and location to fit your needs for an excellent stay in NYC. I hope you'll consider us for future trips to the city and in the meantime, we wish you a very happy new year and 2013! Best - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from 5 nights in this hotel and can not fault the room, staff or location. The room booked was a queen double and it was more than spacious, the beds were a dream! so comfy almost did not want to get out of them. The bathroom was of a good size and very clean. The coffee machine and safe were also great to have in the room.
The staff were very friendly, in particular when a film that I purchased by mistake was removed from my bill. All the staff made sure that we were made to feel welcome in the hotel.
The location of the hotel is superb, we walked everywhere as all landmarks close by, Central Station, Macy's, Empire State and of course Times Square. Shopping on 5th Avenue also meant that we did not have to carry our purchases very far back to the hotel. Bryant Park is across the road which was great for taking five minutes for a coffee break in a more serene outside setting.
As previously mentioned we can not fault this hotel, we are hopefully returning to NY next year and this hotel will be our number one choice.

Room Tip: 26th Floor good as cut out a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Nothing makes us happier than hearing that your stay was PERFECT! Thank you for sharing this feedback and I am so pleased to hear that our staff and accommodations made your visit to NYC such a success. I look forward to seeing you again next year and wish you a wonderful holiday season! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are Macy Day Parade Veterans, but have never stayed over the night before. We booked this hotel in September and paid approx. 350.00 - a excellent price for the date. The hotel was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms might be considered small, but honestly for Manhattan a good size. The Location was EXCELLENT. located on 40th St. and Fifth Ave. Across from the NY Public Library. Walking distance to Times Square. Empire State Building. Bryant Park. The Subway. They also offer valet parking for 50.00 per night. I did comparisons for the area and this was a good deal. Fantastic Stay - Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for providing this feedback from your stay - happy belated Thanksgiving! Our location is, as you said, so convenient to so many Manhattan attractions. I'm so pleased our hotel provided you with the accommodations necessary to have a fabulous Thanksgiving experience. We can't wait to see you again for next year's parade and wish you well for the 2013 year! Best - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I booked a double room to stay with my daughter for a few nights - her first time in the USA!! We chose New York and this hotel being central to lots of places of interest!! I e-mailed the hotel in advance as we required a fridge in our room and not only did we get the fridge but 2 pieces of cake and 2 bottles of sparkling water as it was my birthday! Very much appreciated! The room on floor 10 was quiet and comfortable with all the amenities we could expect - ie free wifi and coffee making facilities!

The hotel is located centrally for lots of tourist activitiies and the reception staff were more than helpful in many ways and overall I'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 night stay and could not find anything to complain about. It is well located in the city, and the staff are very helpfully, Frank was very good. I was there with 6 others all of which enjoyed there stay. Would be happy to stay there again when I next visit the big apple .

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I am so pleased to hear your stay at the Courtyard 5th Ave was such a success! Thank you for taking a moment to provide this feedback - it is essential we have an opportunity to hear from our guests, past and present! Thank you again and happy holidays! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is well-located right around the corner from the New York Library and steps away from Bryant Park and Grand Central Station. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, big enough and comfortable enough. If you travel with more toiletries than a toothbrush, make sure to request a room that is NOT wheelchair accessible. The accessible bathrooms have no vanities or shelves. And the toilet tank cover is convex, causing your stuff to roll off. I tried making a make-shift table out of the luggage rack, but opted instead to switch rooms. The staff handled this courteously. Regular rooms have ample vanity and shelf space. Climate control was difficult to adjust. Setting the temp below 72 kicked on the air, which sounded like a truck. Luckily, the window opens. Overall, the stay was a good one and I'd gladly stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate the feedback and hope you will stay with us again for future NYC visits! Happy holidays! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 3 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.