We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good but it is old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of NYC Package
Ranked #173 of 449 hotels in New York City
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Location is good but it is old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The room is old. The sound proofing is not good. At night you can hear people going in and out of their room very clearly. There is a small bar but not enough space for a proper restaurant and hence there is no breakfast served. One thing I like is the free WSJ and USA Today which can be taken from the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to pass on the feedback of your stay at our hotel. At your convenience, please contact me at julie.v.kennedy@marriott.com so I may more personally address the aspects of your stay that were disappointing. I would love an opportunity to use your feedback as a building tool for our hotel. - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    188
    74
    27
    9
See reviews for
142
80
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is just what you need for sightseeing, especially if you are a Marriott points collector like me. Like any downtown or midtown hotel, it can be pricey, and the rooms are small, but you're not there to spend time in the room. It had the amenities I needed though: free wireless, coffee maker, free access to Internet-connected computer with a printer soi could print my online event tickets. The staff were friendly, and the room was clean and functional. We bought our event tickets online rather than through the concierge, but that's always my policy because - in general - I am never sure who gets what kickbacks. This hotel location is perfect - 5 (short) blocks from the Empire State Building, 1 1/2 (long) blocks from Broadway & Times Square. We walked everywhere - to Rockefeller Center (9 blocks), Grand Central (4 blocks), and even through Central Park to the Museum of Natural History. This hotel was great!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel online! I hope you and your family had a fantastic time sightseeing in the city! I am happy to see that our staff and amenities suited your vacation properly. I hope you will return to the Courtyard Fifth Avenue for your next trip! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Managed to check in 2 hrs early and 1 hour late staff very accommodating. Room as expected quite small. £120 a night peak season is expensive for cheapest room but can't get it much cheaper elsewhere. Altogether a pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Fifth Avenue and that our staff did their best to accommodate your travel needs. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back next time you're in NYC! - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff was great. The property is in an ideal location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Everything was clean and well kept. The rooms were quite small, but many are in NYC. This was a good hotel for a quick trip, but I would stay somewhere more spacious for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback and outstanding review of our staff! I will proudly share your words with our associates and managers. I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip to NYC and would love to see you again on your next trip to the city! Best wishes - Julie Kennedy, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

4 nights here in late july over the weekend. price point was good in comparison to other hotels in the area. location was wonderful, short walk to times square and easy access to the subway at either grand central or bryant park. room itself was extremely comfortable with excellent amenities both in the room and in the lobby itself. staff were wonderful, welcomed us warmly and were able to assist with wonderful recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! It is so wonderful to hear your enjoyed your stay at Courtyard 5th Ave. Our staff strives to provide top notch guest service and I am pleased they made an impression on your stay. Thank you again and best wishes! - Julie, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disney World, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a perfectly fine hotel. Location is across from NYC Public Library and Bryant Park, close to 5th Ave shopping, Times Square, and Grand Central. This is a midtown location and a lot of things close on the weekends so keep that in mind. The plus side is it's not as noisy on weekends with less traffic, which was nice given we were on the third floor. There was a white noise machine in the room to drown out the traffic but the background sounds from the AC/fan worked just as well.

This is not in a neighborhood and doesn't have that feel of an NYC neighborhood. A lot of guests were on business trips and that makes sense given the midtown east location.

We got in late the first night and found that the sheets had not been changed from the previous guest. Not what you want to find a 1 am but they sent up fresh sheets right away and the rest of the weekend was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a very late review - but better late than never!

We stayed at the Courtyard back in December using points but from what I remember it was pretty reasonably priced vs. other hotels in that location. The location was great...we were able to walk everywhere (Times Square and then 5th avenue later on). The staff was very nice. The room was tiny but I wouldn't expect anything else in NYC. We were also able to check in extremely early (9am) even during the busy holiday season - which was great! There were some cute irish pubs down the street that were great for before dinner drinks. We went to Club A Steakhouse for dinner and it was fabulous (outdated decor, but they make a great steak!) If you're looking for a reasonably priced dependable hotel in a superb location - stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard5thAve, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel - even months after you checked out! I hope you enjoyed your time near Bryant Park during the holiday season when the city goes above and beyond to deck the halls for Christmas! Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff service and local features. Warm wishes and we hope you'll visit for the 2012 holiday season! - Julie, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 3 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near New York City's exciting Fashion District, our hotel is within walking distance of Bryant Park, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Broadway's Theatre District and the Empire State Building. Our hotel is also a stone's throw from the New York Public Library. Unlike any other New York City Fifth Avenue hotel, our guests will enjoy comfortable rooms with a desk and complimentary high-speed internet access. Visit the trendy Salmon River Restaurant serving American cuisine with a seafood focus. Out of all the Fifth Avenue New York hotels, hotels near Rockefeller Center and hotels near Grand Central Station our Courtyard Fifth Avenue hotel is ideally located for any reason you travel to NYC. Whether you are shopping, dining, sightseeing, on business or a romantic getaway, we will welcome you with legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.