We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location/Small Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Evelyn to your Saves list
The Evelyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Good Location/Small Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Evelyn Hotel has a great location. The lobby is dark, the room small, but extremely functional, high floor has good sound proofing, plenty of hot water for the shower,2 new Apple computers with a printer,great help and very accommodating. The one real drawback was that only 1 elevator was working while a new one was being added. Certain times of the day had us waiting long time for the 1 elevator.

Room Tip: Request room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    401
    203
    59
    44
See reviews for
139
328
101
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at their Everlyn for around 5 days, it was just an ok stay. Not a great hotel for business travellers, WI-FI was intermittant, lobby was rubbish to meet up in, no bar or even a cafe. The staff were great and it does seem they are building something new to the hotel, restaurant maybe. The location was great if your spending time in flat iron. Strange store on the corner called museum of sex. The decor was a bit dated and the rooms felt like something out of an old horror movie.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, yesterday
Good Day,
Thank you for acknowledging our great staff and affirming that our location is great. You are correct, we are building something new. We are in the midst of the transformation of The Evelyn. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with regards to your stay. Please rest assured that the end result will include an exquisite restaurant with all the first class services associated with it. We hope to have the luxury to welcome you back so you can experience all the phenomenal upgrades.

Sincerest Regards
Eric B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was lovely, but they took payment a day in advance of my arrival ($1300), which was fine, although the booking confirmation said "one night will be charged at least 3 days in advance of arrival". I therefore did not feel the need to check my account. When I arrived to check-in they took my card and charged $1300 for what I thought this was cost of the room. Only after I had checked out and looked at my bank balance did I realise they had charged $1300 before my arrival and another $1300 on arrival. When I phoned to query this, the receptionist was off-hand and explained they charge the cost twice as insurance for damages (!), and the money would be returned to my account within 10 days. During which time, I was on holiday in the USA, with $1300 waiting to be returned to me. Disgraceful policy and it should be made clear to customers that this is their practice.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, yesterday
Good Day,

Thank you for acknowledging that The Evelyn is a lovely. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with regards to your stay. Please rest assured that it is never our policy to charge twice. Please contact me directly to discuss this isolated experience. I can be reached at eboamah@theevelyn.com

Sincerest Regards
Eric B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel is under remodeling, only one elevator, long quehues, lots of people arround. Suite is large to be in Manhattan, but I'll probably try another hotel un my next stay in NYC. Not all the staff is kind, they not seem to be too interested in the guest experience.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good day,


We truly appreciate your acknowledgement of the large space in our suits. We are still in the midst of the transformation of the Evelyn. Your comments are vital to us; it guides and aids us on the conduit to perfection. Thank you for all your comments and a grand welcoming awaits you each and every time you stay at the Evelyn.

Kind Regards

Eric B.

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Evelyn with some friends over a long weekend in early May. The hotel appeared still under renovation in the lobby area and the exterior but the rooms are totally updated, with a nice vintage décor, beautiful Frette bed linens and a small but neat bathroom. Apart from the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff, I found that the location is the best prerogative of this hotel: in a quite street if midtown, convenient to both the upper part of Manhattan and the (for me more interesting) areas of Chelsea, Meatpacking, Soho and the West and East villages. We walked to the High line in 15 minutes and the Union Square farmer's market on Saturday in less than 10 minutes. This hotel is also one block away from Eataly, which adds literally the icing on the cake (I highly recommend the cappuccino and croissant there for breakfast and the pizza for dinner)!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a quaint little hotel with a very noticeable 1920s vibe to it. The location is excellent, very close to a lot of the sights and also to the subway.

The hotel has undergone renovations and some are still in progress, but they didn't affect our visit at all. On the contrary, I found the hotel pretty quiet. Not as much noise from the street as you would suspect with that location, and even though you could hear sounds from outside the room, it was nothing that disturbed us.

We couldn't really make much out of the outside, since it was covered due to work being done.

Coming in, you arrive into a lobby that is dark and does not look at all like the pictures on the hotel's website. Like someone else said, the furniture looks put together randomly, but if you are into that kind of thing (like I am) then it's pretty charming!

There is one escalator and it feels like it's from the 1920s too... It makes a little jump every time it stops, but it worked excellently and because of the size of the hotel, we really didn't have to wait for a long time at any time we wanted to use it.

Our room was one with two double beds and I would advise against picking this room if you are more than 2 adults. There was two of us sleeping in one bed and it was pretty crowded. I still slept like a rock, but my sleeping companion complained about the mattress. I guess it's a matter of taste.

The room itself is SMALL. There was barely room to keep our suitcases, and definitely not opened. The room has a wardrobe with complimentary robes (nice), a safe and hangers and a shelf. We used the TV once and it seemed to work.

I liked the bathroom a lot. It's modern but has a very time typical feel to it (again 1920s). Lots of toileteries are supplied and LOTS of towels! On the negative side, the shower was a bit complicated to handle, since the water was either boiling hot or ice cold and it took some manouvering to get to a nice temperature. The bathroom is, like the room, very small so there is not much room for your products. Again on the plus side - the lighting is good and there is a power outlet.

Wifi is free and fast!

Something that is worth mentioning is the service mindness of the staff. Everyone we met were very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of good tips.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but serves tea and coffee free of charge and in the morning there is free pastries. You'll have no problems finding breakfast places within walking distance. I can especially recommend the Café 28 on 5th Avenue, just around the corner.

All in all, we had a very pleasent stay at the Evelyn, and much because of the people who works there. If you are into old and quirky, you are going to love it here! If you like modern and roomy - pick another hotel!

Room Tip: Don't pick the two double beds room if you are more than 2 adults!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The hotel is undergoing renovations at present but our smart,newly-refurbished room and en-suite on the seventh floor were clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet after days on the New York streets. The Evelyn offers a complimentary walking tour which I would thoroughly recommend if new to the area. Our guide not only showed us the local sites but gave us great tips on where to eat and shop and how to get around. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evelyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.