We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, in a good way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Evelyn to your Saves list
The Evelyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #293 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quirky, in a good way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I booked a room at The Evelyn, based upon location and price, and because it looked like a place that would have unique charm (as opposed to a soulless chain hotel). We were not disappointed. Although the vibe was a more "Addams Family," rather than "Eloise at the Plaza," we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The turn-of-the-century feel of the building has been maintained and enhanced, but rooms are comfortable and accommodating. The bed and linens were high-quality and comfortable, and the "residential" feel of the room was successful. The quirky Rodgers and Hart sheet music tile in the bathroom was charming, especially in contrast with the modern "rainfall" shower and the heated floor (or was that just my imagination)? The hotel provided convenient coffee and pastries in the morning, but we also enjoyed having coffee at Birch Coffee, a few steps outside the front door. We have stayed in New York many times, and we marveled at the quiet nature of The Evelyn's location. It is situated on 27th between 5th and Madison Avenues, two bustling New York thoroughfares, and yet the hotel was peaceful and quiet at all times we were there. That is NOT the case in many hotels in the City. We had not stayed in the Flatiron district before, and we loved the vibe. Subway stations were easy and pleasant walks in any direction, and we walked to the High Line one afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had Uptown business on two mornings, and especially loved walking to the "1" train station on 28th and 7th. Most of 28th street in that area is lined with wholesale flower and botanical shops, all loading and displaying their fragrant wares right on the sidewalk. The Evelyn's desk and bell staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, and housekeeping was scrupulous. At an average rate of about $200 a night, this hotel is a good deal, too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear dallasmom57

Thank you so much for giving us such an excellent review. We greatly appreciate it especially when it’s coming from a senior contributor as your self. Thank you for your intricate detailed descriptive narrative of the Evelyn. It was well done and accurate. Thank you for also for taking the time to evaluate The Evelyn and affirming that we did achieve the "residential" feel of the room .You said it best “The quirky Rodgers and Hart sheet music tile in the bathroom was charming, especially in contrast with the modern "rainfall" shower and the heated floor” I personally want to invite you to stay with us again. A grand welcome awaits you.

Sincerest Regards

Eric B.

Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    385
    198
    57
    43
See reviews for
133
314
96
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arriving at the hotel was fine, check in wasn't terribly warm or friendly but wasn't rude either. We checked in around 3:30 which was after the 3:00 check in time, and yet we had to wait 20 minutes to get our room. We had a reservation, we were not walk ins, our room should have been ready prior to check in. We had plans and friends waiting for us and we had to sit and wait while our room was being prepared. I have never had that experience in any hotel I have ever stayed at and we were not pleased. The room was nice and we had no complaints. It was small but what can you expect in the middle of NYC? We liked that there was a mini fridge as we had left overs from dinner, but when we asked for silverware from the front desk we were told that the hotel didn't have any. It was nice my food was kept cold all night but come morning I couldn't even eat it because there were no plastic spoons or forks at all. This struck me as strange and was a minor annoyance. We liked that the hotel offered valet parking, since many hotels in the area have no parking and we didn't want to have to hunt for a spot on the street. So we wanted a reasonable priced room with parking and that's all we got.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Adrienne S
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, it is most appreciated. Thank you for acknowledging that our rooms are nice and the fact that you had no complaints. Check in initiates at 3:00 PM, depending on the room type that is reserved it may take more time to have the room ready. Thus, check in may slightly surpass 3:00 PM. We are in the midst of the transformation of the Evelyn and it will include an exquisite restaurant with first class services associated with it. All you concerns that you mentioned are being addressed currently. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Eric B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Pros:
Decent location
Clean, updated rooms
Very accommodating staff
Early check-in available

Cons:
Property currently under renovation
The slowest property elevator I have ever encountered!!!
Very small rooms
Poor internet service

Room Tip: If you have any special needs/requests, the hotel staff is very kind and willing to accommodate you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is perfect, The rooms are updated and very clean. Expect The Evelyn to be even better when the lobby is completed following construction. The elevator service was spotty, needed to wait long but was told that construction plans will fix that in the future.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Eclectic Hotel in a great locaton. Smaller hotel than most in the city, but worth it. The staff are extremely helpful offering help on where to go locally for coffee/desserts and directions on how to get to certain sites.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Good Day,

Thank you for your excellent review. Thank you for acknowledging the fact that our staff members are extremely helpful. We hope to welcome you in the near future.
Sincerest Regards

Eric B.

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wait until the hotel is done with the renovations, and has a second working elevator. Also, ask for a room that is far away from the elevator and the stairwell, since the walls aren't soundproof enough.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good Day,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment; we highly value all your comments. We are currently in the midst of the transformation of The Evelyn. New elevators are part of our planed upgrades. All upgrades and improvements are currently happening now. We are confident that on your next visit you will experience all the phenomenal upgrades and great changes.

Kind Regards
Eric B.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is new, the room is tiny, and there was nowhere for me to hang my dresses. The bathroom is beautiful although the water pressure left a lot to be desired. The room was very clean but my room was directly outside the elevator, and since the rooms are so small I felt like people were in my room all night.

It's a good option for a decently priced place to stay in midtown, it's by far not the worst place to be, but I'm surprised that for a new hotel it only had one elevator, and crappy wifi, and no room service.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we highly value all your comments. Please rest assured that all your concerns will be addressed. We are currently in the midst of the transformation of The Evelyn. New elevators are part of our planed upgrades. We will also have an exquisite restaurant and all the first class services associated with it.

Kind Regards

Eric B.

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#249 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evelyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.