We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Evelyn, 7 East 27th Street, New York, NY 10016” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Evelyn to your Saves list
The Evelyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“The Evelyn, 7 East 27th Street, New York, NY 10016”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Evelyn is at Excellent location for business and Tourism in New York. Hotel is clean and staff are kind, friendly, courteous and very timely in response to guest needs. I strongly recommend this Hotel to all who plan to visit New York.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    353
    185
    55
    41
See reviews for
115
290
92
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel has been recently renovated. Our room was 911 (we're not superstitious...) on the ninth floor. Our room was small but nicely decorated to a good standard with a shower and nice comfy bed. It was noisy during the night due to the city never sleeping but then I don't expect to get a good nights sleep in New York unless I'm paying top dollar and staying fifty storeys up in a plush hotel. The lobby is dimly lit when you walk in which adds to the calm ambience and the staff are all courteous and professional. We couldn't fault them. It's location is about 8 minutes walk from the Empire State building and 15 minutes from Penn station so is in a good location on 27th street. We liked this hotel. It is clean and functional.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glinde
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

because the Hotel is on edecoration it is very noisy, the heater does not work properly, the water and toilett sometimes did not work.
It might be better after finishing everything.
Right no the price is far too high for the incinvinience we have had.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, yesterday
Greetings,

Thank you for your comment, your comment is like an invitation that invites us to be better. In essence, it’s a challenge. We welcome the challenge because we always want to be better. And we thank you for prompting this notion. I personally assure you that your next stay will be most enjoyable. Please reach out to me directly at eboamah@theevelyn.com
Sincerest Regards

Eric Boamah
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Evelyn hotel is located centrally to everything you want to see in Manhattan. The Flat Iron building and the Empire State Building were within easy walking distance.
Everywhere that you looked you saw unbelievable architecture and historic buildings.
The hotel is under a remodel and should be much more comfortable with larger rooms and the proposed restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a GREAT hotel. Rooms are recently renovated and though they are quite small, they are immaculate. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Complimentary water and coffee in the lobby is a nice touch. The location of this hotel cannot be beat - close to Madison Square Park, great shopping, great restaurants! We read prior reviews about the elevator being slow, but it was not a problem at all when we were there. Highly recommend The Evelyn!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nice hotel in a great location. Friendly and efficient staff, complimentary tea and coffee at reception was a nice touch. Only points for improvement would sorting the windows out as they rattled loudly in the wind at night and let a draft in, and the shower temperature was difficult to control. Otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has is undergoing renovation - as of March 2015 I would say guest rooms are 80% complete. The renovated guest rooms are very comfortable. A bit small as is to be expected in NYC. No dresser. The beds and linens and bath products very nice.
Lobby is still a bit of a mess. No lobby bar at this time - but cute bar right next door. Coffee and water in the lobby along with pastries in the morning. Super friendly staff. Really made me feel welcome over my 6 day stay. Only one elevator so it can be a bit of a wait.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evelyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.