We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gershwin now Evelyn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gershwin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Gershwin Hotel to your Saves list
The Gershwin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy the NYC experience
Ranked #307 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Rutland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gershwin now Evelyn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic break at the hotel, right in the heart of everything, 3 minute walk to the empire states building, around the corner from Maddison square garden. A great hotel, bed so comfy . Around the corner from the most amazing steak house ben and jacks. For a short break in NY you cannot go wrong. Hotel just finishing renovations yes hotel lift is slow but they do have stairs. They did not put us off. Free tea coffee and water for guest a lovely touch.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    294
    156
    51
    33
See reviews for
89
238
76
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wannaska, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just 2 blocks from the subway. Lots of restaurants (and a grocery store with deli!) nearby. Broadway is close at hand. Hotel staff (particularly Paul!) was very pleasant. Clean room, comfy bed. Fresh hot coffee and ice water in the reception area (good, because no coffee maker in room). Eventually this might be a lovely hotel. That won't happen for at least a year.
No restaurant on site, but in Manhattan that's not a problem at all. No coffee maker but they have coffee in the lobby. Worst features: the endless wait for the single elevator! The stairwells were blocked with painting and construction supplies so that wasn't a better option. Construction noise lasted until 6 p.m. on Saturday and started by 9 a.m. on Sunday & Monday.
Not sure I'd recommend it, but I would stay again.

Room Tip: There's no view. Ask for a room away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We checked into the Gershwin on Sunday, but we checked out of The Evelyn today. The place is clearly in transition, but it was still a little surprising to come back from breakfast to brand new signs. The staff, every single person I encountered, was super nice. And the location was perfect for what we wanted to do in the city. However, the elevator is extremely slow, and very small. The only working elevator. And because of construction on floors 1-3, you couldn't use the stairs. Didn't like that. The deluxe queen room is only slightly bigger than the elevator, with virtually no storage. The bathroom is very nice though the windows in there were really drafty. The tv only worked sometimes and only on some channels. The USB ports in the wall didn't work. The bed (an alleged queen...) was comfortable however there was no possible way those flat bottom sheets are ever gonna stay tucked around those mattresses. One turn and it's over, you're in a puddle of sheet. The tiny refrigerator was a nice touch though. To wrap up - I wish the Evelyn Hotel the absolute best of luck. They seem to have good people working for them, they just have a lot more work to do in their renovating and upgrading of the property.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was not originally granted the room that I booked, so I ad to pay for an additional upgrade. At the time of booking, there was no mention that they were doing heavy remodeling, causing inconvenience and additional noise.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first stay in NYC. The location of the hotel to all the things we wanted to do ( Times Square, Bryannt Park, Macy's, was the Best!!Great Location!! Friendly Staff!! Recent refurbished rooms (first 2 floors are still being remodeled) Valet parking was fantastic as well!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Dennis W.,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentiveness staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms are recently remodeled and look nice, but the windows are drafty, the closets are tiny, and there is only one elevator which takes FOREVER. The location is good, but the hotel is currently undergoing construction which may be why the other stuff is not up to standard yet.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear 238jeffreyk,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We are excited to let you know that we are in the process of changing all the windows and getting brand new elevators. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. I thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonseca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel can go anywhere with ease, even walking. Very well located and well priced. Without excessive frills but very well maintained. In addition there are details such as internet access and ability to print, ideal for the chek-in if you travel by plane.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEvelynManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear alejob798,
I am delighted you were impressed with our friendly and attentiveness staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gershwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gershwin Hotel

Address: 7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gershwin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gershwin is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gershwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gershwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.