We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love New York” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gershwin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Gershwin Hotel to your Saves list
The Gershwin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS
Ranked #308 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Kidderminster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love New York”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location, renovated rooms lovely, staff friendly and efficient, very comfy bed, reasonable price. The lift is a real museum piece! Allow plenty of time in your day for its eventual appearance.
I trust it will be updated with the completion of floors one to five or it will be totally inadequate for a hotel of some 170 rooms.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    268
    140
    48
    30
See reviews for
79
212
70
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice staff! Friendly and helpful. Good location, close to a subway station, restaurants (Eataly located steps away) and a park. The room is nice, but very small and the elevator is too slow!!....

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Gershwin Hotel for a business visit to NYC for 3 days. The location is great, very central and near to Subway Stations. There are a number of great restaurants mere blocks away, and there is a 24 hour Fitness a block away (the hotel does not have a gym - but this was a great alternative.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and had a nice nod to Gershwin - I loved the bathroom with the musical note tiles, as well as the amazing bath products from C.O Bigalow. I had a room with two double beds which is probably a little bit bigger than others. I loved the Frette linens and comfortable beds.

I have to say I was a little worried about noise, as when I was walking down the hallway to my room I could hear a group talking loudly and laughing, but once I was in my room it was pretty quiet, with the exception of the garbage pick up (for future visits I probably will request a room that doesn't face the street).

Only downside was the elevators. They are beyond slow - I actually read about 5 pages of my book while I was waiting for it - and since there is only one elevator you have to wait and let everyone on and off. This was frustrating when I had my luggage and was trying to leave quickly. No facilities in the lobby, but there is a nice coffee shop next door and they gave you a discount on your purchase. Still some construction out front - but it certainly didn't effect my stay at all.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location is quite good, staff are very friendly & cost of accommodation is affordable.
Place is currently a construction site though; it has the slowest lift in history and rooms are not insulated to external noise. We could here dump trucks outside to the early hours of the morning.
Because its so new there are no facilities within the hotel lobby but there is a nice café next door with good coffee. Very rare in the US....

Room Tip: Stay away from the road side of the building. It is extremely noisy. rooms are quite small, but cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband & I travelled to New York from New Zealand in September & it was a pleasure to stay at the Gershwin. The bed was super comfortable, location amazing, staff friendly, rooms fresh, bright & clean. We hope to be back to see the finished hotel renovations.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Myself and my friend travelled to New York for a long weekend in between our university studies and came across this beaut of a hotel online. To our delight this hotel was exactly what we were looking for and a perfect stay for the couple of nights that we needed it for.

We highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A bit expensive for a three stars but renovated rooms are really very nice, it looks to be in the 30's.
Very clean and comfortable, even if rooms and wardrobes are small, but bathroom is ok and shower is big.
Personnel is careful and professional. Location is perfect, in the middle of everything!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gershwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gershwin Hotel

Address: 7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gershwin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gershwin is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gershwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gershwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.