We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gershwin Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Gershwin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Gershwin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #316 of 452 hotels in New York City
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“What a difference....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

WOW I have stayed at this hotel several times and I love the location but the hotel was in DESPERATE need of a remodel. Now on my return to the hotel the remodel has begun and it is amazing, the details in the rooms are wonderful and I loved the bathroom with the sheet music tile, also the chandeliers that look like parts from trumpets really bring back the historical and musical past of this hotel. As always the staff at this hotel is TOP notch, I will be back and I want that suite again!!!

Room Tip: I had a suite on the 8th floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Traveltheworldfun,
We are delighted you were impressed with the hotel and the renovated rooms. We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    231
    125
    40
    29
See reviews for
71
180
64
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Gorgeous Hotel... small, neat, beautiful room with musical details. I loved the style of the entire building. The only problem is the elevator which is VERY slow. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Shellen K.,
Thank you for choosing The Gershwin Hotel. We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. We apologize for the inconvenience of the slow elevator. We are in the process of getting new brand new ones! I look forward to welcoming you back on your next New York City visit.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent service. You also get a voucher for free coffee (and refills) with the purchase of breakfast at he Play cafe next door. The location was convenient (good to commute from to midtown east or west.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear sujeidyr,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We value your comments regarding our service and pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 5 nights in August. Location really good, near Broadway and middle of new York. Walking distance to time square. Positives: Great staff, always helpful. Booked restaurant for us and gave advice. Negatives: there is building work going on in the hotel which is really noisy and disruptive. We did mention to staff and they moved us to an alternative room further from the builders which was better. Elevator was so slow and no option due to stairs out of use with building work. Overall great place to stay and would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Bennie55,
We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff and delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel's central location. We are very excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience; we are in the process of correcting the issues you've experienced during your stay. I'm confident you will be satisfied with the end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Spent six nights here with my best buddy in a queen room to celebrate my big birthday. We laughed when we saw the size of the room. "good thing we like each other!" we knew the hotel was under renovation so were a bit nervous about what we would find. It was not bad. Exterior is under scaffolding and lobby has not been touched. But they are putting guests only in renovated rooms. We were on the eleventh floor so weren't bothered by construction noise, just some dust. The room, though small, was spotless, the bed was amongst the most comfortable I've slept in for a long time (very soft). The downside is noise. It seems like the door and windows are paper thin.You hear every noise in the hallway and the garbage truck arrives outside at 7 a.m. But for the rate they were charging we really could not complain. Lift was also slow but then again, we weren't in a hurry.The staff were super friendly and helpful. Location is very convenient--24-hour deli/supermarket around the corner, ATM across the street, walking distance to restaurants and shopping, plentiful taxis.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the end of the hall, farthest from the lift, would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear WestintheEast1964,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location and highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. We are excited to let you know that we are in the process of changing all the windows and brand new elevators will be installed. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay very soon.
Regards,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having flown in from the UK at 4am, no sleep and the onset of jet lag were seriously kicking in. Well, as you can imagine, when we checked in and were told we had actually booked into a 10 person room with ONE bathroom, I could have literally died. We walked into a room of snoring people, no aircon and even worse, my friend was separated from us into a hostel room upstairs with a group of men!! When we went down to reception to kindly ask if our friend could move into our room, we were simply told 'no'. We snuck her in anyway, there was no way we were leaving her up there being the only female amongst 9 men.

I understand us booking into the hostel was not the hotels fault and I really do emphasise that this was our fault. However, the receptionists' attitudes absolutely stank. Having genuine concern over a friend who felt uncomfortable sharing a 10 bed room with 9 men, we would have thought they would be more helpful - well they couldn't have cared less.

Also, if you do choose to stay in a hostel I would seriously reconsider. Save up a couple more bucks and try and get a hotel room!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Saint-etienne-de-crossey, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

sleep quality : noise in the morning due to rehabilitation of the hotel.
Good service end cleanliness of room
Queens bed a little small for two people
Good location of the hotel
Hospitality of the staff

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Erica A,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gershwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gershwin Hotel

Address: 7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gershwin Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gershwin is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Gershwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gershwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.