We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gershwin Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Gershwin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gershwin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed Fri-Tues...staff very pleasant, professional and helpful especially Arielle and Hicham, they could not do enough for us! Great location new rooms well done, no bar or restaurant but plenty nearby. Would stay again...Richard

Room Tip: Ask for newly remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Richard C.,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. I highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff.
I'm pleased to announce that all our rooms are now fully renovated!
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    249
    134
    46
    30
See reviews for
76
196
66
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in July. The location for what we needed was spot on. Staff is very caring and kind. If you are a light sleeper don't get a room looking over 27th, as early risers it was OK to us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mary E,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience al the Gershwin Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terruggia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

2 persons, one week. Perfect position, quite, nice and efficient personnel. Room not big but new and very clean. It is located in crowded area, near Union square, nice park. Perfect assistance before our arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Roberto M.,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Gershwin Hotel. We highly value your acknowledgement of our service. We are very excited with the on-going transformation. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and updated. The location was great. My daughter and I loved our visit to NYC, and the staff at the Gershwin Hotel made it an A+ mini-vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jennifer J.,
I am delighted you were impressed with The Gershwin Hotel. I highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent value for money and very central. Will be great when all refurbishment work completed. We didn't have a refurb end room but it was fine. Staff very friendly and you can buy food from deli to eat in dining area in lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Fiona K,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We are truly excited with the on-going transformation. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here- We liked Excellent location and value for money. Staff were very helpful though they could do with a bit of training on how to help you to book an airport shuttle - very willing but lacking in knowldege. The room was small but very comfortable and the bathroom had one of the best showers I have ever experienced, large shower head and plenty of room. Lovely toiletries. Amazing decoration with music staves from Gershwin's New York, New York on the tiles. There was a good sized room safe, and a good sized refrigerator. Good sized flatscreen TV and iPod dock alarm clock. There was even the current week's copy of Time Out New York.
The hotel is undergoing massive reconstruction so there is, understandably, a little construction noise during the day although it did not affect us. Because of the work there was only one lift working which meant a wait sometimes.There was no coffee maker/kettle available, I should imagine because of the construction work. And the smart reception area leads into a very dingy lobby, which had not yet been decorated. Having said all of this my main "don't like" is that when all the work is finished the price will probably go up out of my budget as it will be a stunning hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back if you don't like New York traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear BletchleyCat,
We highly value your acknowledgement of our friendly and attentive staff and delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel's central location. We apologize for the inconvenience while booking the super Shuttle. I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel. I'm confident you will be satisfied with the end result. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights During my first visit to NYC. As a solo female traveler, I felt very safe in the area, even at night. Most pedestrians were female and the homeless population was at a minimum. Despite not being a tourist trap like Times Square, the hotel is convenient to several attractions, being next door to a museum and within easy walking distance to grocery stores, restaurants, and the subway. While the hotel lobby wasn't anything worth writing home about, the newly renovated superior queen room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. However, I would only recommend it for solo travelers or couples who truly enjoy each other's company because it's a bit cozy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, Director of Sales at The Gershwin Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Rosa B,
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel's central location. We appreciate your comments regarding solo female travelers, we are very proud to be part of a female professionals preferred hotel program. We are very excited with the on-going transformation at The Gershwin Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
Sincerely,
Nathalia Sosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gershwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gershwin Hotel

Address: 7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gershwin Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gershwin is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Gershwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gershwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.