We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gershwin Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Gershwin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Gershwin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #325 of 446 hotels in New York City
Burbank
1 review
“awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Easy & convenient location to walk around NYC - felt very safe - room is cozy - bathtub was a bit of challenge to get into to take a shower as its very deep... we were greeted by staff each time we came out of the elevator to check on how we are doing and when we arrived into the hotel, they asked us how our day went. Very caring staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    148
    94
    34
    17
See reviews for
38
120
44
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The front desk staff is friendly and helpful and our stay was pleasant. The hotel is undergoing a renovation problem and honestly I don't think I've heard a group of workers make more noise. I wouldn't expect them to be silent, but surely, they could avoid hollering to talk to one another. Anyway, the hotel has lots of character. It is over 100 years old, the rooms have hardwood floors and steam heat via radiators. There were a few inexpensive things I thought the hotel could have done to make the rooms more comfortable. Rugs by the beds would have been nice and it would have been nice to have had a small coffee/tea maker. I really wanted a cup of tea one night and couldn't get one in the hotel or next door at the coffee shop. The radiators were very noisey, but the rooms were kept warm and toasty. At times we actually had to turn the heat completely off, but we were able to control the temperature of the room. The staff at the hotel was friendly and our room was very clean. The bathroom was very small, but was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a room in the place with a view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a lovely friendly hotel in the perfect area with lots of atmosphere and good eating places nearby. The staff are really helpful and the beds are hugely comfortable. It's in the middle of refurbishment which didn't really impact on us although it might bother some people. Our bathroom was rather 'tired' but the water was very hot and abundant. We would hope to return provided we can still afford it once the refurb is finished.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulricehamn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect located hotel with a wonderfull staff in the center of NYC. Old facility but with some charm. Even though renovation is ongoing, we were not affected in any way. The staff in every area was very kind and helpful. As a guest you felt more than welcomed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had no expectations when checking in. The reviews online are either horrible or great. It is a hotel that was built and has not been refurbished since 1910. The ambiance is phenomenal. The staff - wonderfully delightful. They helped with anything you needed. The rooms - although out of date, extremely clean and comfortable. They have updated bedding and furnishings, but they are basic. For a great price and if you have an open mind, this is a great hotel for you! We really enjoyed it. Besides... you're in NYC. You're not there to stay in your hotel. Check it out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing E27th Street are noisier than the other rooms. If possible, request a side room. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Gershwin Hotel this past weekend and definitely enjoyed it! The moment I walked I was greeted by the doorman and by the front desk staff. The service they provided was outstanding and very professional! Even though they are going through renovations right now, I believe the hotel will be better than ever! I stayed in a suite with a king bed and two double beds, the room is very spacious and decent amenities. The bed was really comfortable and felt well rested when I woke up the next morning. Since the hotel does not have room service, play (coffee shop/bar) is right next door and definitely enjoyed the latte! I definitely recommend this place since it is not far from union square, ktown, or times square. I definitely wanted to thank Aurielle, Jeremy, and the front office team for making it a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

a very good experience in a very fascinating building in a excellent position. quality of stay was overall satisfying: the room was large enough even if a bit noisy; the bathroom should be renewed. the staff was nice and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gershwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gershwin Hotel

Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel
Gershwin Hotel New York
Gershwin Hotel Nyc
Address: 7 E 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gershwin Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gershwin Hotel boasts a history that dates back to 1903. Designed by architect William H. Birkmire in the Beaux Arts style. This has now become the preferred address for all travelers that want to experience the trendy Flatiron District of Manhattan. Located just around the corner from the famous Empire State Building, within walking distance of Union Square, New York University, Greenwich Village and just steps away from shopping along Fifth Avenue. We are centrally located to many of the city's unique restaurants, bars and clubs.The Gershwin offers Internet kiosks, discounted parking,health club access an concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gershwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gershwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.