We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Evelyn to your Saves list
The Evelyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“The Rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had problems with heat first day, no hot water second or third day. I was told boiler being worked on and they were draining water from boiler. Also, bed a little too soft. But I appreciated all the staff and cleaning service. They were all friendly and very helpful. Great team!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    385
    198
    57
    43
See reviews for
133
314
96
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I love you guys! The hotel is perfect, the vibe and the charm it has is great! I ope to see you again in a near future! Thank you for everyting, and say Hi to Guadalupe! You know who she is! At least, everytime she cleaned my room she lefted an empty envelope by the bed side! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

They can't rebuild this hotel, but the rooms are very small and cramped. The bathroom had no shelf in the shower for washcloths, soap, shampoo. The toilet was cramped. There was steam heat which was very noisy. Maid service left much to be desired. They were working with jack hammers outside our room. Otherwise, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is in need of renovation but is very attractive if a little dated. Very convenient for a short cab ride to MSG, Empire State, and Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Gershwin Hotel is in the midst of a massive renovation and noise can go along with it from 8:30 AM to 5:00 Monday -Friday. Having said that our stay in spite of the noise was extremely enjoyable because of the people who provided the service.

We were greeted our first night by Hicham. What a pleasant and accommodating gentleman. Every time we saw him he was asking how everything was and did we need anything. He took the time to show archive photos of the hotel in its great days and what the plans for the future hold for this grand old lady. Arielle, Dinet followed suite providing continuity, reliability and good energy when Hicham was not at the front desk. Mohammed, the door man, was always Johnny on the spot with a smile, a kind word and a willingness to help with bags, parcels and the like for everyone.

We were with the Gershwin for 5 days and for the money you couldn't find a better bargain with a nicer customer sensitive staff. Oh, I can't forget Housekeeping. They did everything they could to make sure our room was not only clan but had everything we needed to be comfortable.

When the renovation is complete this hotel will not be the bargain it presently is. However if the present staff remains, it will be a bargain at any price because PEOPLE MAKE THE DIFFERENCE.

Thank you one and all for making our stay so enjoyable. We definitely will return and hopefully soon.

Igal

Room Tip: Go during the renovation if you want a bargain by Manhattan standards. They really try to accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Wareham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Although in an ideal position for sightseeing we were not advised that building work was going on during our stay. Although not working at the weekend the only public lift was being used by workmen when it came to trying to get luggage down from the rooms. The bar was also missing and the heating very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

unless you're having an affair or are shooting an indie film about a wretched hotel, for the same cost you can stay at a number of pleasant chains within two blocks. No heat. No hot water. Spare yourself the unpleasantness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Radiator noise kept me up at night. Shower facet needs improvement in order to get hot water. The blow dryer provided was inefficient. I appreciated the staff very much but the lack of a good night sleep as well as a morning hot shower may prevent me from staying at the hotel again. The location is great, character of the room was great, cleanliness was great and staff was great. If the radiator and facet were not an issue I would stay each time I visit NYC which is every other month.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#252 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evelyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.