We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was not good” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Evelyn to your Saves list
The Evelyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 463 Hotels in New York City
norwich, vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place was not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is not a 3 star, and the room we had looked nothing like the website. We booked 2 nights and left at 6 am after the first night. Bathroom in terrible shape. Toilet sprayed water up after flush, soon floor wet. Tv reception terrible. Room itself totally stark, tiny and dark. We paid over 200. For that night and feel totally ripped off. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    385
    198
    57
    43
See reviews for
133
314
96
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ettlingen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Gershwin has a really unique atmosphere and spirit - don't miss the library ! Met with a kind reception, I was guided to my room: Clean, cute, with wooden floor, a mixture of modern and classic furniture. Subway station and 24/7 deli-cafe in next block / 28th st., ESB and Time Square in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

nothing to write home about, but clean, safe and good location. Rooms are small and furnishings are not modern, but if you are looking for a decent hotel at a decent price The Gershwin works! Bonus that there is a coffe shop right underneath

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

January 2014 was the month to avoid at Gershwin Hotel, in renovation, noise and workers around and with serious problems with the heating system in the rooms!
Service and atmosphere in the lobby quite good!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel is nice and tidy, and the personell is very kind. It's top quality is the position, don't expect a super hotel but for its price and position it's perfect for a short holiday in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penns Grove
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked this hotel a week before my birthday because it was in my price range & had a good rating. It's definitely a quirky little hotel & I loved how unique it was. When I got to the desk I was told I was upgraded to a deluxe king room. The room itself wasn't huge, but it was perfectly fine for me. The room was very clean & the staff was very friendly. I would definitely book this hotel again and suggest it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Falls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The room was frozen and they offered a space heater but then said it was a fire hazard. The pipes were frozen in our bathroom, when they got them working there was no hot water. No offer of another room so checked out early. They kept the prepaid money for the room for the full stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GershwinManagement, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Shirley L,

Please accept my sincerest apologies. I'm so sorry you had such a disappointing day. I know an apology doesn't change such an uncomfortable experience. I received your comments prior to your tripadvisor posting and responded immediately. I do hope you received my e-mail. We are addressing all of the issues you've encountered throughout your stay. I do hope you allow me to discuss this matter with you and I look forward to your response. I thank you for sharing your comments.

If I can provide additional information I'm at your service. Please contact me directly at jagosto@gershwinhotel.com or at 646.507.5400.
Sincerely,
John David Agosto
General Manager
The Gershwin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#252 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evelyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.