We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the spot!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Evelyn to your Saves list
The Evelyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy the NYC experience
Ranked #307 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Hit the spot!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My mum and I shared a room for 3 nights a few weeks ago on holiday. As we walked in my first impression of the place was that it was dull, run down and not very inviting! However, the staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us a lot of information! The hallways by the rooms were very shabby and run down looking but that didn't matter to me as we weren't going to be sleeping or living in them for the 3 nights! The rooms were very basic, clean and comfortable, although not a lot of space was provided! Thank god It was only my mum and I! Everything about the en suite was pleasant, clean and satisfactory! I can't say enough about the beds, they were the comfiest beds I have ever slept in and I would sleep in them again in a heartbeat!! The food in the little cafe was beautiful!! All the type of food on offer was healthy, ideal and would cater for nearly anyone's needs!! Quite simple but amazing! Would happily stay in that hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    299
    159
    52
    33
See reviews for
90
244
79
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First impressions were a bit daunting. Reception area and hallways are very run down. However the room, though quite small with somewhat shabby furniture , was freshly painted, bed was clean and bathroom newly tiled. There was nowhere in the bathroom to put toiletries although it was quite spacious. The bath is very high and would make it difficult for an infirm or very short person to climb into to shower. We spent a week there and got used to the facilities. Location is just off 5th Avenue and is within walking distance to Metro and restaurants. Essen restaurant across road and down a bit is recommended for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I found this location to be great... quick walk north to Times Square or South to Flatiron. It's a little away from the action but close enough. I was traveling for business but it wouldn't have mattered because it's NYC- who wants to spend time in a hotel when there is SO much cool stuff to do? The room was simple but just what I needed. The bed was fantastic!! Best bed EVER in a hotel and just what I really needed after my long days.
I would stay here again, it's pricy but it's NYC so that's expected.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor and the elevator is a little slow so I was able to take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Seven of us stayed in this hotel. We had booked two suites. However, their definition of a suite isn't quite the same as mine. We had two rooms in each "suite" but no area for sitting together.There were two bedrooms. One had a desk and a small fridge. The other had a dresser and small table. We had a total of 2 chairs. Luckily we didn't spend a lot of time there .In the pictures the hotel looked really funky with cool artwork and furniture, but I never saw any art.

It is an older hotel and was clean but needed some sprucing up. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We found it expensive for what we got, especially for the area. Is a little removed from the action.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went for a long weekend in June, in short, we would stay there again.

Pros:
New York charm
Valet parking
Clean rooms
Near restaurants
Walking distance to Time Square
Good, friendly staff
Quiet

Cons:
Not the fastest elevator (old building)
Not much of a view (could be limited to our room, however)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The best thing about the Gershwin was its location. It's a 10/15 minute walk to Times Square and transport links are good. The rooms are fairly simple, however there is WiFi access in the rooms, air con, a television and a safety deposit box, which is free to use.

Before arriving, I had the impression that it was something of a boutique hotel, however it would be very generous to call this hotel boutique. I believe that the hotel was fairly priced in comparison to other hotels in New York, and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were totally happy with this old cute hotel. Clean rooms, nice staff, and close to all the subways. Not fancy... Affordable and great location. Good BBQ at Shorty's right around the corner. Went all over by subway- city is clean and not as many panhandlers. 9/11 a must also little Italy. Ate at Napoi's and had best steak and ravioli ever!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Evelyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.