We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Evelyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Evelyn to your Saves list
The Evelyn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save More!
Ranked #290 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the night of new years eve. Check in was easy and the people in the lobby were able to look after our bags before check in time without an issue. The location of this hotel is great too, just around the corner from the empire state building.
The problem I had was with sleeping. First of all, my comforter/doona thing was totally lumpy. Also there seemed to be a gap between the 2 panes of glass in the window, which meant that every outside noise came in. Finally I was woken up every 10-20 minutes by the gas heater thing that was in the corner of the room. It would make a really loud hissing noise every time it came on.
That was my worst night's sleep in my whole 2 weeks of staying in new york.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J D, General Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Emma C,
Thank you for staying at the Gershwin Hotel; I read your comments and I humbly apologies for any inconveniences you had during your stay. Please be advised that the Gershwin Hotel is currently under new management and we are in the process of making many Improvements. I thank you for taking time out of your schedule to give feedback, please know we treat every person’s feedback as a learning experience so we can constantly improve on guest satisfaction. Please feel free to contact myself or any other member of the Gershwin Hotel team if you desire to discuss these matters further.
Once again thank you for staying at the Gershwin Hotel and I hope you consider staying with us again so you can witness for yourself all the positive changes in place.
Sincerely,
Stephen J DeFazio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Redlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Overall my brief stay at this hotel was pretty smooth and straightforward. The first night was easy to sleep, the second night was trouble, and the third night was terrible. There was maintenance from 10 all the way to 3o'clock at night to the morning, which is unacceptable. You would think that the majority of the work would be done during the day, but that did not seem to be the case. At any rate, the hotel staff was very courteous, graceful, and were genuinely nice (not some act). The room and bathroom were clean and well kept. The bed was ridiculously amazing.. I miss it. The TV was in a high and awkward position, making it pretty difficult to watch for an extended period of time on the bed. Mind you, I don't watch TV at all, so this is a first for me and it wasn't pleasant. If the TV was lowered about 1-2 feet, that would make a world of difference. I can't think of anything else to say

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here first week of December although the rooms are fairly basic the location and staff are amazing. First night wasn't the best as was some construction happening below our window. Asked reception if we could change rooms and we were changed later that day. I would upgrade rooms next time as standard is very basic....Birch Cafe which is right by reception has best coffee to,start day with. Concierge was really helpful and recommended we use the hop on hop off buses, which are great for seeing the sights. Got us really good seats at Chicago show too. We managed to walk everywhere from here, and weren't getting home till after 12am every night, felt safe walking the streets. Loved NY can't get to come back again and would stay here again too.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had to comment on how good this hotel is, yes it isnt all glitz and glam but it is clean comfortable and modern. ! The entrance is fab it looks like a Rhino has run out of the building - all horns everywhere (trust me you will understannd when you see it !) the lobby is basic but clean and the lifts efficient. there is a lovely cafe attached to the hotel which is always busy and serves lovely teas/ coffees and many more drinks. The room we had (a superior double) had a seperate lounge and bedroom making it large a roomy, the only negative I can think of is the heating was a bit tricky and the shower not always the best - the heat varies alot !! but the location of this hotel far outways any little issues ! This hotel is within minutes of the famous landmarks such as 5th Avenue (Litterally few seconds from the door !) The Flatiorn building, The Empire State Building, New York Library and many more. Times Square is a mere 10 minute walk away and there is a main subway stop around the corner on Park Avenue which will take you uptown or downtown although either are only a 20 minutes walk giving you the opportunity to see this wonderful city. I cannot reccomend this Hotel enough and we will stay here again !

Room Tip: Try and go for a superior room if the price isnt too much difference as these are alot larger than s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent location near midtown and few minutes walk to two subway stations. Great cafe downstairs for breakfast. Room is not anything luxurious, but clean and spacious. Hotel organized shuttle to the airport.

Room Tip: Superior room was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaisa158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Although basic this hotel cannot be beaten on it's location. 5th Avenue is the divider between East and West so it's in the middle of Manhattan. A 5 minute walk from Empire State building and in the other direction the Flatiron Building. 25 minutes to Times Square and Roccefeller Centre.
Our room was on the 13th floor and was very basic. We did have a few issues with the toilet and heating and as the pipes are old they can make some noise but apart from this it was fine for us. We stayed over New Year and for what we paid we couldn't complain too much. The bed was comfortable and there was a seating area if you wanted to bring take-out food to eat in your room. WiFi is free and worked better than expected. The room was cleaned daily and too a high standard thanks to our maid Mjuin (I think was her name.)
There is only 1 lift for the whole building and from the 13th floor we didn't like to walk too often so there was sometimes a wait. We didn't eat at the cafe on site however we did use Cafe 28 which is just around the block. It offered a good choice in food and drinks and was very cheap - we had breakfast here often.
After reading previous reviews I can see what people mean regarding rude staff and others were more helpful than some.
The hotel was bought out in September so renovations have started and we saw changed while we were there; hopefully these will all be for the better.
Overall I enjoyed my stay here and will return next time I'm in New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dani_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After a second stay at The Gershwin Hotel I can say the hotel management desperately needs to do something about the outdated rooms. The superior room we had could use some new furniture, especially the bathroom, wich had a rusty sink and we had fights every morning with extremely hot or ice cold water in the shower...

Upon arrival we still found hairs from strangers in the bathroom, that were only removed after the second night of staying.

Besides the old furniture and bad housekeeping, the hotel is located well and is close to two subway stations serving the N, R and 6 trains. Might be a place to sleep for those who don't want to feel king of the castle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srwrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#194 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,153 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,989 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#271 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#305 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,190 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#34 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,114 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#282 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 East 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#225 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing