We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada New York/Eastside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada New York/Eastside to your Saves list
Ramada New York/Eastside
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #310 of 458 Hotels in New York City
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Value and Location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

Stayed for a full week in March, 2005 - our first trip to NYC. Found Staff very friendly and helpful. Allowed us to extend our stay one extra day even though the central Ramada reservations agent said they were full. Accepted AAA discount without question. Had room with 2 Queens that was clean and comfortable for 3 adults, although we were in the room only to shower and sleep. Provided extra towels and pillows on request. Continental breakfast - available 7 days until 10am each day - ok just for a light morning snack. Another perk that is unusual for hotels these days - they don't charge for local calls ( 212 area code) or 800# access. Must be well insulated because it was in the 20's at night but we didn't need the heater at all (and we're from LA and not used to the cold!) Only issue was an elevator that squeaked horribly and took 2 days to fix - granted, it was the weekend. Luckily we brought earplugs for sleeping, which we recommend anyway if you're not used to traffic noise 24 hours a day. Great location - felt safe and secure in the hotel. We walked everywhere and felt comfortable walking at night. Easy to get taxis - most expensive taxi ride was $12 from Central Park. Lots of sights, restaurants and shops in the neighborhood. This is a great budget hotel and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    443
    176
    44
    42
See reviews for
177
302
102
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2005

I wasn't expecting much for the price, but was pleasantly surprised to find a generously-sized (by NYC standards) queen room and bath. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was actually attractive and appeared to have been recently renovated. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was decent. I've had far worse in NYC for more money. The neighborhood is safe, but there's not a whole lot going on in the immediate vicinity; the subway is nearby and taxis are plentiful.

This is not a destination hotel, but a safe, clean, comfortable place to spend the night. In other parts of the city, you wouldn't blink an eye to pay twice as much for the same room.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2005

My company probably booked me into the cheapest hotel in midtown Manhattan. For three nights, Mar 27-30 2005, the price per night was 89, 99, and $119.
For that price you get a lot of problems. First thing upon getting to my room, I had to call back down to the front desk because I had no TV remote. By the time the guy came up to the room with a new one, I had a list of other problems. 1: toilet would not flush. 2: shower water handle fell right off when you touch it. The guy fiddled around with the toilet until it flushed. As for the shower handle, he looked at it and determined that a screw was missing. Not that he was going to expend any energy to fix it. More of an informational, "That's why" type of thing.
Also later I was disappointed to find out that the fitness room was not open (renovation), the water pressure was just a trickle of lukewarm (at best) water, and worst of all, the heater just would not heat up the room at night to a comfortable level. it was not even that cold outside... but it was that cold inside too.
The room had a strong smell of perfume, no bugs... and it was full of ashtrays, even though I had requested a non-smoking room. I would take my chances almost anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2005

We were very unhappy with this hotel. We took it because it was cheap, but you definately get what you pay for in this world. The sheets were itchy, and there were long waits for the elevators. The cleaning staff use one of the two elevators for sheets during the day. And the rooms were very small.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

This was a nice little hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed there from March 12-15. We got a room on the 4th floor facing the front of the building, I thought it would be noisy but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was cleaned and the bed made up daily which was nice. We got a smoking room because everything else was booked up, but thankfully it smelled fresh and nothing like smoke. Another plus was the free wireless internet which was great since we had brought a laptop along. We only went to the continental breakfast once and it was the normal fare; doughnuts, bagels, ceral and the like. The location of the hotel was alright, within walking distance to the Empire state building and Macy's and the shops on 34th St. It's also only a few blocks from the 28th St. Subway stop for the green line. The m16 bus on 34th St. will take you straight to the Port Authority bus terminal. There's also a nice Mexican restaurant called La Cocina a block away on 3rd Avenue, and the hotel is surrounded by indian restaurants which we were too unadventurous to try. The downside was that it was hard to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. When the heat was on it got really hot, and when it was off it was too cold. The elevator was also a little slow and smelled strongly of cleaning products which wasn't that bad considering what it could have smelled like. Also the front desk wouldn't change four dollars into quarters for us, so if you're planning on taking the bus which only takes quarters remember to bring them with you! Overall this hotel was nice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

This hotel is great value for money! The rooms and the bathrooms were very clean and comfortable! If you are looking for a cheap place to rest your head this is definately the place to go. Next time I am going to New York and I am booking this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada New York/Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada New York/Eastside

Address: 161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada New York/Eastside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Eastside offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada New York/Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada New York/Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.