We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada New York/Eastside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada New York/Eastside to your Saves list
Ramada New York/Eastside
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #311 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

This was an excellent find for Manhattan - the price was excellent and the hotel offered many many extras for free that you would pay for in other (more expensive) hotels. Free wifi, breakfast, use of computers and printers, check in kiosk for both the hotel and flights, in-room coffee maker etc... A small fridge would be nice but at this price, we're not complaining!

The room was of a good size and the bathroom large and clean. We were on the 9th floor and even though we were on the corner of 30th and Lexington, the traffic noise was not a problem.

The only complaints, if you could call them that, would be that there is no blind or curtain on the bathroom window (though the glass is frosted) and because the door to the bathroom was glass, the light from outside came into the bedroom. We fixed this the second night by having the closet door open to cover the glass door partially but a blind on the bathroom window would be useful.

Secondly, it would be nice to see some more environmentally friendly table ware in the breakfast room - the cheap plastic cutlery and styrofoam plates were just a little cheap feeling and surely not good for the environment...

All in all a fabulous experience - we will definitely be back and recommending to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at Ramada New York/Eastside, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Dear CDGYYZ,

We are very happy to hear that you have liked our Ramada Eastside and enjoyed the services and the values of our facility. We do appreciate, you taking time to write the comments about the amenities and services. We are totally committed to excellent customer service and quality and we make sure that every guest receives it I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. As you have noted the door to the bathroom is frosted, so it ensures privacy. We will look into installing a blind on the bathroom's exterior window to limit natural light colin in.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    440
    174
    43
    42
See reviews for
173
299
101
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I stayed at the Ramada 5/10-16/09 and found it to be an exceptional value for the price I paid. Breakfast was fresh and plenty of it and the only criticism with breakfast would be that there was no soap and paper towels at the sink to wash one hands if they get soiled or sticky.
The room was exceptionally clean and fresh and as others said about the bathroom, there is no place to hang the towels after use. No towel bars at all. But, I'm being picky here and I did speak to the Mgr. about it. He said they were still in the process of their upgrades and would address the issue. There is an in room safe and a good closet.
The area is nice with bus and subway close at hand. What more could you ask for in midtown Manhattan than a reasonable price, close to transportation, with your first meal of the day covered. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at Ramada New York/Eastside, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Dear compare,

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the real value and service of the Ramada eastside during your stay with us and are grateful to you for taking time to put those comments and suggestions. We are committed to quality and excellent customer service. We do wish to apologize for any inconvenience and take more steps towards keeping our guests fully informed of all services at our hotel. There is a wash room just out side the breakfast room. Again, thank you for choosing the Ramada Eastside. Our entire team is committed to creating caring experiences – every person, every time.

Sincerely,
Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

During my stay here, both my mother and I very very impressed and appreciatiave of how clean the hotel is. The staff is very friendly and the hotel includes many great perks. It is one of the few in the area with a free breakfast, and it's a nice breakfast! The business center was also helpful. My only suggestion is that if you are getting a discount on the rate (AAA, etc.) you must present the card or proof of discount at the time of check in. I highly recommned getting a confirmation of this, such as having the staff make a copy of the discount, dating and signing it. I noted several people having trouble getting their discounts at the time of checkout. Otherwise, we were very happy with our stay and this hotel. I would recommend it and would not hesitiate to stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at Ramada New York/Eastside, responded to this review, May 28, 2009
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your kind words. We try our very best to make sure that our guests are comfortable during their stay and are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our amenities and our staff. Our staff is trained to continually improve the quality of the service and to be as helpful as possible. Our housekeepers clean the rooms, the bathrooms and the public areas on a daily basis and pay close attention to cleanliness. It is very important to us to make sure the rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable for our guests.
Also, as you rightly pointed out, guests need to show their AAA or AARP card at the time of the check-in otherwise discount cannot be given. A sign is also displayed at the front desk to inform guests about this policy.
Thank you!
Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

I stayed at Ramada Eastside from April 30 through May 06, 2009 and it is never forgetable experience. The hotel was very clean with very friendly and proactive staff. The breakfast served was very fresh. On top of everything it is the best valued hotel. For the month of April, it was pretty reasonable. I won't get better hotel and better service than Ramada Eastside. it is perfect! i loved it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

This was a great find in New York, given the cost of most other forms of accommodation in the city. As has been said often in the reviews here, it’s in an excellent location only a few blocks away from places like the Empire State Building and Madison Square Garden – and around a 15 minute walk or so from Grand Central Station. There’s also a subway station nearby. The room was clean and perfectly adequate with a nice, comfortable bed; well-sized flatscreen TV and a newish shower/bath. They also provided a free breakfast while I was staying there. I didn’t encounter too many problems with noise from outside the room, either. The only thing that bothered me was the customer service (or lack of it). Some of the staff seriously need to do a customer service course and/or to go to hotels in other parts of the world to learn about how to interact with (and even give an occasional smile to or indulge in a friendly conversation with) their guests. But, the further I travelled across the USA, the more a lack of customer service seemed to be standard practice in a lot of different parts of the country these days.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at Ramada New York/Eastside, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us.
Our staff is trained to continually improve the quality of the service and to be as helpful as possible. It is very important to us to maintain high quality and standards and to provide great guest experience and value at the Ramada Eastside. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.
We hope you will give us another chance to serve you better in the future.
With warm regards,
-Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in April, and booked the hotel, after having enjoyed a stay last year.

The hotel has been renovated in the meantime, and we had a large, nice double queen room. Our room was very clean and everything in perfect condition.

The hotel is situated in Murray Hill, 2-3 blocks from the No. 6 Subway. Nice neighbourhood with lots of good restaurants.

Breakfast ok, although breakfastroom in basement is too small.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Excellent value for money, and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Just had another great stay at the hotel. My family of three have stayed a few time & this trip consisted of two moms & 2 children under the age of 12. The staff is very friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean & updated. One complaint is that the bathrooms could use extra hooks or more counter space to put your gear. Other than that, great location good price. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Apple Core Hotels at Ramada New York/Eastside, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have your family here! We try our very best to make sure that our guests are comfortable during their stay and are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our staff. Our staff is trained to continually improve the quality of the service and to be as helpful as possible.
Besides, our housekeepers clean the rooms, the bathrooms and the public areas on a daily basis and pay close attention to cleanliness. It is very important to us to make sure the rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable for our guests.
Your feedback is very helpful to us in order to better our services. Please be assured that we are continually working toward improving our services as our guests’ comfort is extremely important to us. We will keep your suggestions in mind regarding the extra hooks and counter space.
Thank you!
Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada New York/Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada New York/Eastside

Address: 161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada New York/Eastside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Eastside offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada New York/Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada New York/Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.