We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada New York/Eastside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada New York/Eastside to your Saves list
Ramada New York/Eastside
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #309 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Downham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reading other peoples comments on Tripadviser. The staff were very polite and helpful. As my husband and I have already been to New York before and knew hotel room sizes were not always that big, we were really surprised how big the rooms were. Our room was clean and cool (after we turned the air conditioning up) and beds were comfortable. The location was good. We had read people saying the breakfast room wasn't that big. Yes, it was a bit small but we always managed to get a table every morning and the breakfast was good, as this was the first hotel in America we had stayed in that offered a complementery breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    447
    176
    44
    42
See reviews for
177
304
102
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was a nice hotel, the room was clean and the staff were very accomodating. The only drawback was the elevator, hallways and lobby were not air conditioned and it was hot and humid in the city in July! But if you can get past this the rooms were beautifully airconditioned and very nice!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I had paid for the hotel in advance and wrote in my reservation that I my flight would be getting in late. I get to the hotel at midnight and they had given away my hotel room. They stated they had plumbing issues but you could tell by the guy's demeanor that it was a lame excuse. Plus another customer said this had happened to them a few weeks back.

Anyway, the front desk guy was completely unhelpful and directed me to a flea bag hotel (the only one that had availability).

Not the kind of thing you want to deal with getting in at midnight. Complete disaster.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at Ramada New York/Eastside, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Rsbraver,
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the issue with the room. There was a leak in the room when you checked in, so we could not rent the room out to anyone. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
The majority of our guests enjoy their stay for the convenient location and excellent value they receive. We offer free amenities like breakfast, WIFI, and domestic phone calls which are not available in all New York City hotels.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here with a friend of mine before our flight to Europe and was nicely pleased by the hotel. The rooms are a bit outdated but still nice and clean. The staff was great! Friendly and professional!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Loved our stay at Ramada Eastside. Very surprised how spacious the room was. Included breakfast is great, good selection and quantity. Excellent location, easy to get around and helpful staff. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very central location for visiting main tourist area. Old building in need of update. Our room was situated overlooking a building which appeared to be derelict on 30th Avenue. The two lifts were very slow so I am pleased we were on a lower floor. Room was small but clean. At first sight the bathroom looked dated but you could not fault the shower, nice and powerful. The air con worked fine but very noisy. Liked the idea of the free use of the in room Safe which we had on the QM2 on our trip over. The hotel appeared to be staffed by Asians who did their job, no more, no less, a smile/greeting when returning to the hotel would have been nice. On our last day we were travelling to Niagara Falls by Amtrak so had to leave around 6am.When enquiring about breakfast (supposedly free?) we were informed in no uncertain terms," breakfast starts 6.30am" no more,no less. Luckily we were able to pick something up at Penn Station. This hotel was booked by our travel agents 'Spectrum' and although it was clean and central we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commere Associate at Ramada New York/Eastside, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mel H,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you did not have the best view and that you felt the hotel needed updating. Our staff is continually trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and we will continue to work harder toward making them friendlier. Our breakfast is free and doesn’t start until 6:30am. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.
The majority of our guests enjoy their stay because of the location and overall great value they receive when staying with us. We offer free WIFI, breakfast, and domestic phone calls, which is not something offered in all New York City hotels.
We hope you will reconsider and give us another chance on a future stay in New York.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Went with the wife for 2nd anniversary. Beds were great, and location was perfect for this specific night ;) had a restful night, I needed that in order to fly a 777 to London for 10 hours the next day. We were able to walk around and find a bar. I would definitely recommend this for an anniversary, or honeymoon. A regular stay is okay, but I would book for romantic reasons.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada New York/Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada New York/Eastside

Address: 161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Business Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada New York/Eastside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Eastside offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada New York/Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada New York/Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.