We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what to expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada New York/Eastside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada New York/Eastside to your Saves list
Ramada New York/Eastside
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #312 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Perrysburg, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Not sure what to expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel staff was helpful. The room was small but clean. Bed was very comfortable. There was not a rack for hand towel in bathroom .Room did have a microwave & refrigerator. Breakfast was good. There is an extra charge for parking $25.00 per day. Nice stay, would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    499
    189
    47
    43
See reviews for
193
336
111
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Staff great and helpful. Arrived early and was dreading the "your room is not ready as check in time is....." but a plan was made and had a great room in 15 minutes. Which is really appreciated when arriving off a red eye flight and desperate to shower. Fantastic location with brilliant restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Try get a room above the 11th floor for a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had stayed there in the past and stayed there again Saturday May 25th.
It really is a Great place to stay in the city.
The staff is very attentive and helpful, When we we checked in we asked if there was a AAA discount The desk clerk said he would check and willingly gave it to us . When i originally made my reservation through Ramada directly, I was told that there was no AAA discount avaiilable and was happly surprised that I was able to get it directly at the hotel.
The hotel is in a nice safe area ( Murray Hill ) close to Grand Central) and there are plenty of resteraunts around.
It is a close walk to the subway and within walking distance to Union Square , Madison Square Park and a lot more places
It is also a Great deal . I had priced hotels all over the the city .We payed less the 200 dollars for a room with a queen bed with private bath , free wifi and breakfast. and free nationwide calls. (Quite a bargain for NYC)

The room and bathroom are a bit small but very clean and nicely decorated and you never feel that you are in a budget hotel.
We were told also that they will be gutting and renevating the lobby . A year or so before they relocated and redid the breakfast room.
If you never knew the price you would feel that you were in a upscale boutique hotel costing much more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in the beginning of May. The hotel is situated very vell, just a couple of blocks from the subway. This I must say was the main advantage of the hotel. The room was as well clean and a good size. Not the most modern interior but cleanliness is for me the most improtant thing.Breakfast was included in the prize, but it was not the most impressive one. We actually did not expect a lot before we arrived. Lower your expectations when it comes to it, and you wont be disappointed, you do after all save some money on the breakfast.

I would definatly reccomend this hotel to others, especially the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel reception service is not good. Payment transaction was done via my credit card, They charged me twice for my first night and I made twice international calls to request a solution, the atitude of Reception was bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce at Ramada New York/Eastside, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear P L,
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any extra charges on your card. It may have been a hold on your card which would be released soon. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Feel free to contact the hotel directly to get a better idea of the charges at + 1 212 545 1800. We hope the matter will be resolved quickly.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Location - If you want to stay in middle of Manhatten and do not want to bomb, this is an highly recommended place. 10min walk from Empire state building, two different metro rail stations with in 5min walk, i love walking so went upto theater district and every where on foot everything is approx 30-45min walk.
Stayed in one king size bedroom (i am told new york has small rooms every where so will not complain) , very comfortable and clean room, nice mattress, although will agree with many reviews they definiatly need to improve on the noise insulation of windows as its on a cross and many times we can hear traffic noise in mid night. Bathroom is quite small for a large body man like me, but since i was alone could manage without too much complain.
Breakfast is standard continental (no hot option) - juices are powder mix with water variety, coffee / beagle with various spread and various cereal options are there to start the day.

Room Tip: I took room away from lift as dont mind walking also is more peaceful ask for higher floor if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Småland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for good money. Good location. The rooms are nice but small. Cleaning was good. Breakfast is ok. Remember to bring earplugs, the streets are noisy. The staff will help you with transport to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada New York/Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada New York/Eastside

Address: 161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada New York/Eastside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Eastside offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada New York/Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada New York/Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.