We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for NYC standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada New York/Eastside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada New York/Eastside to your Saves list
Ramada New York/Eastside
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #311 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel for NYC standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ramada Eastside is for NYC standards good hotel. Rooms are a bit outdated but clean, bathroom did what it was supposed to do and breakfast for nice extra for the morning. Ok, the elevator was slow but you're on holiday, so what... :) Or then use the stairs, little morning exercise doesn't do harm after late dinner in Blue Smoke (the best!).

We are going back on March but chose another hotel because we wanted to stay on the other side of Manhattan (in other case we would have staid in Ramada).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    443
    176
    44
    42
See reviews for
177
300
102
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I booked my friend here who wants to stay in a quite area of NYC but close enough to tourist attractions. I made my reservation through Joy who is very pleasant and professional. My friend's overall stay experience at the Hotel was very nice...from the reception staff to the cleaning ladies. I highly recommend this place. A bang for your buck.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel was the perfect place for my family and I to stay. Great location, beautiful rooms, great breakfast! Vizzo's across the street has great pizza! Subway is nearby, 3 min walk. Staff was very helpful for information. Rooms are equipped with refrigerator and microwave (we were told over the phone by the hotel there would be an extra $20 a night fee for the fridge and microwave so we opted out, but our room came with them for free anyways) Everyone says the elevator is slow but we didn't mind the elevator at all. Definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay here again next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my mother during December. Upon check-in, the staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was clean. It was a little cramped, as we had two queen beds, but it's NYC! The room fit our needs just fine. The hotel is just a few blocks to the 6 train, which is only a stop or two from major connections. We could see the Empire State Building from our window as well. The day we checked out, the hotel kept our bags for us until our flight left that evening. The only complaint I have, and it's a very small one, is the quality of the continental breakfast. It consisted of dry pastries, donuts, and cereal. However, Penelope is a little cafe right next to the hotel and serves a great breakfast. The Murray Hill Diner is only about a block north and also serves a fast, cheap, tasty breakfast. Overall this was a very enjoyable place to stay in NYC. Great hotel for the money in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Perfect location, in the heart of Manhattan. One of the most reasonable price in NY. My double room was just right, bathroom and shower quite new and really clean. They have a gym and a business room where you can print anything from tickets to boarding passes. Definitely will be back if ever in NY again. I suggest to go to/from the airport with a shuttle, either go express or super shuttle; they are super cheap and if you are alone taxis are worthless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada New York/Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada New York/Eastside

Address: 161 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#251 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada New York/Eastside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Eastside offers clean and elegant accomodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ramada New York/Eastside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Eastside Hotel New York City
Ramada Hotel Eastside
Ramada New York City
New York City Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada New York/Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.