We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot, Great People!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast 2015
Ranked #69 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot, Great People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We just visited NYC for our 6th annual spring break family trip. We are pretty particular about what hotel we stay at but this year we decided to stay in a different location and couldn't be happier with our choice. We have a daughter with special needs and we have to pack a lot to get her through the week. We also need a clean room since her immune system is compromised. We stayed in the junior suite (great price) at the Avalon and not only was it huge compared to most hotel rooms in NYC, it was very clean with dust free laminate floors. Perfect all around for us. Checking in was pretty easy and then Curtis, the doorman, did a fabulous job settling us into our room. He even anticipated our needs and had someone come up and prepare the pullout sofa for our son. The location is outstanding as well. All kinds of nearby subways and we could see the Empire State Building lit up for St. Patrick's Day from our window. We will be staying at the Avalon for years to come.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear hilaryannl,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was thrilled to read that you had decided to stay at our hotel for your sixth annual spring break trip. I am happy we lived up to and exceeded your expectations. What I was most pleased to hear was how you felt you and your family were treated and taken care of - in particular your daughter. I am proud of the Avalon Hotel - especially the staff and was glad to hear that everyone - expecially Curtis - took good care of you and your family. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to him and the rest of the staff.

When your travel plans call for a return trip to Manhattan, please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    362
    63
    2
    9
See reviews for
259
349
18
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here this week for business as my client was around the corner on Madison, This hotel was very convenient to Penn station. The room was very large even for outside NYC standards. The staff was super attentive and friendly. The little coffee shop outside to the left is gear too...yummy muffins. Plan to bring my family to NYC and stay here

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Laura C.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was thrilled to read that you found our hotel's rooms, amenities and location perfect for your needs. I was also most happy to learn that you will be bringing your family here on your next trip.
I am honored that we will have the privledge to host you once again.

When you are ready to book your next trip to Manhattan and the Avalon Hotel, please contact my office directly so I may personally handle your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

First impressions are great. Lobby is lovely, go through to a lounge area with a little nook off to the side with computers & coffee machine. Upon arrival at 1.00pm, check in was slow & our room wasn't ready & wouldn't be until around 3:00pm., so out & about we went. It wasn't hard to kill time in the area the hotel is situated in. Back to the hotel at 3:30 & we still had to wait as they had to check if our room was ready.....trek up to the 8th floor & oops, wrong room. We booked a smoking junior & they put us in a non smoking. Call down to the lobby rectified the problem quickly. Room was large with 2 flat screen tv's & 2 very comfy queen size beds. Room was a little noisy come 7:00am with a construction site next door. Windows were a little draughty but that was counteracted by cranking up the heat. Overall a pleasant stay in a value for $$$ hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Auss1e63,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

Please accept my sincere apology surrounding the opportunities you encountered during your stay with us. They certainly are not typical of the service here at the Avalon. Unlike many hotels in Manhattan, our windows can be opened, but also need to be closed tightly to minimize noise and draughts.

I am happy to know that you did find our location perfect for your needs and your overall stay was pleasant.

Should your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, I hope we will have the privilege of hosting you again. If so, please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

After reading mulitple positive reviews on TripAdvisor I decided this was the right hotel choice. And it didn't disappoint! Considering the high cost for quality lodging in the middle Manhatton area, the nightly rate beat most of the competition (especially if you're lucky enough to grab one of their winter specials). Other great features include friendly staff, spacious junior suites, quiet evenings, great location across from the Empire State Building, and complimentary breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel for your NYC travels. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Junior Suites are very spacious, but note their is no full separation (no wall between lounge and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Matt J.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was pleased to read that you found our location and the size of our rooms perfect for your needs. I was also happy to know that you enjoyed our continental buffet breakfast. I will certainly pass your comments on to our staff.

Should your travel plans call for a return visit to Manhattan, please contact my office directly as I would like to personally arrange your next reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Avalon Hotel. We stayed in a deluxe suite for 2 nights in March. The room was large with 2 queen beds and a sitting area. There were 2 TV's in the room, one in the sitting area and the other by the beds. The bathroom was large with both a shower and separate bath tub. The room was clean and you could hear very little city noise. The staff was courteous and helpful. The subway station is very close by. We walked to Time Square and Grand Central Station from the hotel. There are many restaurants close by. The hotel offers breakfast but does not have room service. I definitely recommend this hotel for families because of the large rooms and great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Miamimomfl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was happy to read that our hotel's location, room size and amenities were perfect for your needs. I hope you will have another opportunity to visit Manhattan and that we will have the privilege of hosting you again.

When you are ready to make another reservation, please contact my office directly so I may personally handle your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We (a family of 4) stayed here in Feb/March 2014 for four nights. We chose this hotel, after a lot of research here on Trip Advisor, as this hotel seemed to stand out for us, amongst the rest. We wanted to make this a memorable family trip to celebrate a 50th, 21st & 18th birthday. We had booked two Junior Suites and after hearing we were here for celebrations one of our rooms as up-graded to an Executive Junior Suite and complementary goodies left in each room. Both rooms had two Queen beds, which were really comfortable especially after a long day sightseeing. The hotel was in a quiet spot and both rooms were very spacious with wood floors, flat screens and were spotlessly clean and are serviced every day. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and made you feel at home, there was a free hot drinks machine and computers in a cosy lounge with comfy armchairs and a 'log fire', which was very welcoming in the bitter cold weather we had. The location couldn't have been better, Empire State Building was around the corner Macys two streets away and a 20 minute walk to Time Square. Ideal location for Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and the 33rd St subway. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to New York, couldn't fault it for a Four star hotel in New York.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Snows13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

First, please accept my congratulations and good wishes to those who celebrated their 50th, 21st and 18th birthdays with us. I wish you many more to come.

I was very happy to read that you and your family were well taken care of here at the Avalon and we were able to be a part of such special celebrations. I was also pleased to learn that you found our hotel, location and amenities perfect for your needs. Additionally, I will pass your kind comments from you on to our staff.

Should you plan a return visit to Manhattan, please contact my office directly as I would like to personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel near Empire State Building during cold period in New York. The room was large; the breakfast delicious. Due to bad weather I had to return one day earlier and the hotel easily changed my reservation.Prior I have stayed in other hotel but to this one I will surely return on my next trip

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Hansamdam,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel spacious and was able to partake in - and enjoy - our continential buffet breakfast.

When your travel plans call for a return trip to Manhattan, please contact me directly as I would like to personally handle your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Michael R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel New York is centrally located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, convenient to all neighborhoods. Only two blocks from the Empire State Building, the Avalon Hotel New York is also only a few blocks from seven subway lines. Penn Station is down the street from the Avalon and easily accessible to the East Side airports, LaGuardia and JFK. Guest rooms are very spacious, with the majority over 400 sq.ft., many with two beds and a sofa bed. With only 100 rooms, the Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel with personal service and exceptional value. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.