We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant in Manhatton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast 2015
Ranked #69 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Elegant in Manhatton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for six nights, and found this an ideal base to explore New York. The foyer is glamorous and our standard bedroom was equally elegantly styled. Everywhere was spotless and the wooden floor in the bedroom gave a feeling of cleanliness. The reception staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful . It is a great location a couple of hundred yards from the Empire State Building but very quiet. For New York we got a good price but taxes add about 15 per cent.

Room Tip: We had room 801 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear DanteBelfast,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Avalon Hotel New York on tripadvisor. We know you have many hotels to chose from in New York and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your comments with the rest of my associates and appreciate your kind and generous words. I hope you will stay with us the next time your plans include a trip to Manhattan as I would like to personally oversee your reservations.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    362
    63
    2
    9
See reviews for
259
349
18
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saco, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every time I travel to NYC for work I go "on the hunt". There are so many hotels in the city I typically try to find the best deal. I have been happy with choices and not so happy with choices, until I found the Avalon Hotel! It's now my hotel of choice for trips to NYC.

In addition to a perfect central location it was the perfect hotel. In a really loud city you find a little peace and quiet at the Avalon. The rooms are incredibly quiet for NYC since it's on a side street (32nd) - you don't hear the traffic of a busy street. The hotel is on the smaller size which makes it feel like home. The staff quickly got to know us and welcomed us back every time we walked in. The staff was incredibly friendly. (Aylin, Abby, Wilson, LeAnne - fabulous employees) I brought my mom and uncle with me while I was there on a business trip, it was their first time in the city and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly making sure their first time was perfect!

The rooms are immaculately clean, the hard wood floors were spotless. It's probably the first time I ever felt comfortable laying a piece of clothing on a hotel room floor. Loved that the windows opened for a bit of fresh air, rooms and bathrooms were large, and the beds were incredibly comfortable.

WiFi is included and worked really well, which is important to me as a business traveler. Breakfast is available for around $14 but I certainly can't eat that much food. An option of coffee and a bowl of oatmeal for $8 would have been perfect!

The staff obviously cares deeply about this hotel. I challenge you to find another hotel where the General Manager is responding to every Trip Advisor posting!

This is your perfect choice for a NYC hotel. A sincere thank you to everyone at the Avalon Hotel who made our stay PERFECT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Lynn T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about the Avalon Hotel New York. We are glad you found us and it was a pleasure to be of service to you and your family. It means a great deal to me and my colleagues to know we could be a part of this special occasion.

Your feedback is very helpful as the breakfast issue has come up before and I have discussed some options with our team. The review reads like a travel article in one of the many magazines I am not allowed to mention, and the bar is now set higher to make sure we always deliver the same level of service and accommodations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Avalon again very soon!

Warmest regards,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked this hotel through the Hotel Tonight app (awesome app btw). I highly expected to get a standard room, nothing elaborate. When I arrived the woman at recoption was incredibly kind and did everything possible to make me feel welcomed. When I ask her if I could have a king bed (typically Hotel Tonight hotels only book queen size), she replied back to me we have you in the Executive Suite Mrs.Bxxxxx. I was extremely shocked and so very delighted when she told me this. Room 807 was beautiful and LARGE. The bed was comfortable, lines were soft and the space I had was perfect. I will agree with some of the other reviews the furniture is dated but from what I can nothing was damaged or falling apart.

Another surprise was when I return back to the hotel from dinner and their were two elevator service men servicing the elevator when I went to go up to my room. One of them was kind of enough to take me up to my floor as if he wanted to assure me there was nothing wrong with the elevator. I'm not sure who the elevator company was but I thought I would give them props too.

Overall very happy with the whole experience. Was quite a surprise to find in Korean City, hadn't stay in that area before. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Christy5769,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. We appreciate your comments and value your feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Executive Suite and it is nice to know you booked through Hotel Tonight. One of my colleagues in another hotel introduced them to us and another innovation in travel planning.

I see you were here on business and hope you will contact me directly if you have plans to return in the future. It would be a pleasure to oversee your accommodations personally.

Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Avalon Hotel for 6 nights commencing on 15th February 2013. This was our first trip to the USA.
The location of the hotel is superb; it is in an ideal position close to all the major tourist sites.
The Hotel is clean, we stayed in a junior suite which was adequate for our needs.
We were a little disappointed that that there was no provision to make tea or coffee in our room. Complementary refreshments were available in the lobby of the Hotel, however, when we arrived back at the hotel at 5.30pm after a busy day shopping all the complementary beverages had been taken away for the evening.
The reception staff was unhelpful when we asked if we could have any hot water to make ourselves a cup of tea. We had to forgo our afternoon tea.
We made our booking through Booking.com, in the description given by them of the facilities offered, it stated that bathrobes were included when booking a junior suite.
We asked at reception why we had not been given bathrobes and we were informed this had ceased many months ago. Booking.com blamed the hotel. The hotel blamed Booking.com. Booking.com are today 3/03/2013 still advertising bathrobes are available!!
One morning while taking breakfast in the Hotel supplies of ham, eggs, etc and again hot water was in short supply. When we complained to reception staff we were informed that as it was a continental breakfast and only consisted of pastries. We pointed out that previously we had had ham and cold meats along with eggs, the receptionist said she would get back to us. She never did. This was never a deluxe continental breakfast.
On our return home we checked our bill and noticed they had charged us for breakfast 2 days before we even arrived! I have emailed them twice now asking for a refund of the cost of the breakfast but they have ignored my emails.
We were led to believe that customer services in the USA were second to none; we would have to disagree with this statement with regard to the reception staff at the Avalon Hotel.
Would we stay there again? No.

Room Tip: ask for a room not above the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Stratford393,

Thank you for posting a review to TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. While it was difficult to read your comments, starting with the title, I will also extend my sincerest apology that we did not provide you with the service you expected and deserved.
It was troubling to read your critique as so many of the issues were avoidable. I have asked around for your emails about the breakfast charges and have not seen one. TripAdvisor does not allow us to include contact details, but you can reach me directly through TripAdvisor. I would like to personally resolve this for you immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location nice rooms bad shower sometimes there weren' t hot water
Employees nice particularly concierge and doorman
The lady at the reception was rude and unpleasant her name carolina, she was rude to allguests

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Barbara l,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. We value your feedback and appreciate your letting us know about your experience.

I would like to apologize for the unfortunate situation you encountered and can assure you this is not the type of service we strive to deliver nor is it the type you deserve. Also, my apology for what you relayed to us about the hot water.

As hard as it is for me and my associates to read these reviews, I assure you it serves to remind us to increase our level of service response when a guest is upset, not to dismiss them or treat them poorly.

I am very humbled that you still remarked on some positive aspects and were extremely gracious in your rating. Should your future plans include a return trip to New York, it would be my pleasure to oversee your accommodations. You can contact my office directly.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a standard room for 4 nights. Location is wonderful. Staff excellent. Room decor is tired. Furniture and walls bit scuffed, not great pressure in shower, mattress a little soft. Great location for Penn Station, mid town. Lovely restaurants and diners etc in Murray Hill. Would stay again. No bar or proper lobby, no room service menu.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Suseandco,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at the Avalon Hotel New York. We greatly appreciate all feedback, good and bad, as it only helps us provide better service and accommodations.
When the hotel changed hands last year, the restaurant lease ended and we are actively searching for a new one. We are serving an extensive continental breakfast buffet each day on the second floor for all guests wishing to dine in-house.
I am sorry you didn't find the Library with fireplace or adjoining room with 2 computers to be a proper lobby, but I will look into putting some more seating in there.
I hope you will come back and stay with us, as we are upgrading many furnishings, the shower heads already in process. I would be happy to handle your reservations personally and you can contact my office directly.
Thank you for staying with us and for offering your helpful remarks.


Sincerely,

Michael Rawson
Gernal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Aaaah. A tranquil Oasis in the heart of the hustle and bustle of New York City. After travelling to New York for pleasure and business for over a decade now, I have never stayed in such a fine gem of a hotel such as the Avalon. Being a travel critic myself, my criteria for a pleasant stay in any hotel can be quite demanding. The Avalon, however met all of my criteria and beyond for what I deem to be the perfect stay in New York. We had a double Queen Suite, which was unusually spacious (450sf) for a New York hotel room. We had a separate “living” area with an additional flat screen TV and a couch which turned into an additional bed. The hard wood floors, marble bathroom (which was also very spacious) and comfortable beds added to the luxury and comfort we felt during our stay. The room was immaculately clean and we even had our own tea and coffee nook complete with kettle and fridge for our use. Our room was also extremely quiet…even though we at times opened the windows to get some fresh air (another lovely trait, being able to open the windows, that other New York hotels rarely offer). Indeed, I have never stayed in such a quiet hotel for New York City. The staff from the Bellman, to the front desk to the Manager of the Avalon were all very professional, calling us by name throughout our stay and taking care of all of our needs. The Wi-Fi worked great in our room, and the Avalon also offered a complementary business room where one could use their computers to go on-line and use their printer, all at no additional charge. Although we were too busy to take advantage of their gourmet continental breakfast, it looked scrumptious. The price was also fantastic, considering an equivalent size suite at somewhere like the Waldorf, the W, or other luxury hotels would have been four times (or more!) as much. The location was also perfect. Conveniently situated in the heart of Manhattan, just steps away from the Empire State Building and a couple of blocks from Macy’s and Penn Station, it was easy to catch a cab to up-town or down-town to visit our favourite restaurants throughout our stay. It is also not far from the Theater district where we saw the Broadway Hit ONCE on this stay. The only downside for pet lovers is that it is not pet friendly. On the flip side, as I do not travel to New York with my dogs, I am making the Avalon from now on my “home away from home”, as that is truly the feeling one gets when staying there.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor, so cannot speak for the quietness of the floors below us, however the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Fido_Mom,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor about the Avalon Hotel New York
On behalf of my colleagues, I send a collective "grazie mille" for the extensive and laudatory review. You hit all the highlights and we appreciate your pointing out so many nearby attractions.
We all enjoyed having you with us and am very happy it went so well. I will look forward to hearing from you when you are planning your return trip to New York, as we are glad you are making the Avalon your "home away from home".

Warm regards,

Michael Rawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel New York is centrally located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, convenient to all neighborhoods. Only two blocks from the Empire State Building, the Avalon Hotel New York is also only a few blocks from seven subway lines. Penn Station is down the street from the Avalon and easily accessible to the East Side airports, LaGuardia and JFK. Guest rooms are very spacious, with the majority over 400 sq.ft., many with two beds and a sofa bed. With only 100 rooms, the Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel with personal service and exceptional value. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.