We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avalon Hotel to your Saves list
Avalon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast 2015
Ranked #69 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location - quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Only stayed one night for business. Booked the room only a few daythe s before stay and the price was very reasonable. Spoke directly to the hotel and felt that the staff really wanted me to stay with them. Very welcoming. Good room rate for a last minute booking. Arrived late on Tuesday night. Check in was very easy and night clerk was very hospitable. Empire Pizza is a block away on 5th ave. for good late night food. I used to have an office a few blocks away so I knew the neighborhood. Room was clean and very old style NY. Big windows and hard wood floors and over stated trim. Floor was warm and did not creak. Stayed on 5th floor facing the street. Room was quiet and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable. WiFi in the room was a little flaky. Breakfast buffet is expensive for what you get and caters to European travelers as well as American. Better breakfast for my needs is available down the street. The Library / Business center was very comfortable and a good place to work. All the hotel staff were very helpful and gracious. Rumor is the building has been sold to a new investor group that will try and turn the Avalon into a 5 star hotel. I will definitely try them again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear rtrain4,

Thank you very much for letting us know what you thought of your stay at the Avalon. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and experience with the staff, and are in the progress of upgrading the WiFi so that it will be faster and more reliable. If you plan to return to New York, please contact my office directly so that I can extend a complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    362
    63
    2
    9
See reviews for
259
349
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Beautiful hotel, staff could not have been nicer, even let us check in 3 hours before official check in time. Storage of bags no problems with no obligatory costs charged. Free internet access in rooms and tea and coffee in reception, refreshing change from Hilton hotel chain we stayed in previously. Easy 10 minute walk from Penn Station. Overall lovely stay and will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Cara O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us all about your stay at the Avalon and letting us know what made it a great one. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience with your room and the staff. We are very happy that you chose the Avalon, and hope that you will return upon your next visit to New York-- please contact my office directly if you do so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Located in Midtown, this hotel is perfectly situated to some of New York's most important landmarks. Just a few minutes walk from the Empire State Building, Macy's and Times Square.
The hotel is well appointed and has very decently furnished rooms for prices that are half that of comparable places in Manhatten.
The reception and house-keeping staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 17th Floor Suites have pretty good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear James B,

Thank you very much for sharing with us how much you enjoyed your stay at the Avalon. We are delighted that our location made it possible for you to enjoy New York to its fullest and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and experience with the staff. We’d very much like to have you again, so please contact my office directly if you decide to return to New York so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice hotel, good value. I had problems with internet in my room but they fixed it. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Grzegorz1983,

We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your visit, and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and your experience with the staff. Thank you for letting us know about your visit—we are currently in the process of upgrading the internet service so that it will be faster and more reliable. Please contact my office directly if you plan to return to New York, as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coruña
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Great hotel for walking around Midtown and close to Times Sq. By Empire State Building.
Close to subway.
The area is know as Korean and so are many of the restaurants in the area. Great for noodles and sushi!
Complimentary coffe
Helpfull staff

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Gracielas,

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us all about your stay at the Avalon and letting us know what made it a great one. We are very happy that our location made it possible for you to explore New York and that you enjoyed your experience with the staff and the nearby destinations. Upon your next visit to New York, please contact my office directly so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay an even better one.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Huge room (especially coming from Ramada New Yorker closet sized room), wood floors instead of carpet was nice, good pillows and bedding. Slight downside was water pressure in the shower although the bathroom was very nice and spacious. Decor is slightly dated, but had a nice not too formal feel to it. Really enjoyed the area, had a great walk down to Eataly on Madison Square Park - very nice spot. Hotel was very quiet, and right near Heartland Brewery - had a great dinner there - amazing service and reasonable prices. Make sure to go up Empire State building at night it was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear LoaFinn,

Thank you very much for letting us know what you thought of your stay at the Avalon. We are so happy that you enjoyed our location, and that it gave you the chance to really explore the city. We very much appreciate that you chose the Avalon, and hope that you will return upon your next visit to New York-- please contact my office directly if you do so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We are a group of 4 college friends who spent MLK weekend at the Avalon. My sister and I shared a Queen suite and we were very appreciative to have the extra room. The extra space in the suite had a desk, sofa and chairs. We had some more friends visiting the city and the staff brought up extra chairs and ice. We especially want to thank Curtis, who was so very nice to us. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The location of the hotel was central to everything.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as the rooms go fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear casamurph,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay at the Avalon. We are very glad that you found your room to be spacious and that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate that you chose the Avalon, and hope that you'll return very soon. If you do plan another visit, please contact my office directly as I would like to provide a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel New York is centrally located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, convenient to all neighborhoods. Only two blocks from the Empire State Building, the Avalon Hotel New York is also only a few blocks from seven subway lines. Penn Station is down the street from the Avalon and easily accessible to the East Side airports, LaGuardia and JFK. Guest rooms are very spacious, with the majority over 400 sq.ft., many with two beds and a sofa bed. With only 100 rooms, the Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel with personal service and exceptional value. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.