We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Save Saved
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Met our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I were visiting our son in Manhattan. The location was perfect. The street was quiet. The staff was friendly but not in our faces. The room was clean. Worth the price. My only complaint was no free internet.



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor!

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    515
    174
    96
    84
See reviews for
159
519
137
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've stayed at the Marcel three times now - each for business - and each time I've been quite pleased. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are tiny but lovely and efficient.

Given the prices for most hotels in the city I highly recommend The Marcel - a great value!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we are able to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is a good hotel to stay in for business. When my aunt who lives in New York, stated that I had a very nice room. She also stated this hotel was located in a very good area of New York. When I come to New York again I would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Marcel is a great choice and very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent. We were offered a free upgrade upon check in and found the location to be excellent. The hotel has a roof top outside sitting area.

Room Tip: large king bedroom was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your five star rating on TripAdvisor!

We are thrilled to learn you had a great stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The rooms were super tiny which I guess is expected in NYC. This was my first time there, so I was surprised at the tight quarters I stayed in for 3 days. The floors (in rooms and all hallways) in this hotel squeak and the walls are super thin, making the complimentary earplugs necessary. For $200+/night, I expected more from the room. The staff was great though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

I am very pleased to learn that our staff was accommodating to you during your stay. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apology for this.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future, please fee free to co ntact me direct upon your next visit o NYC at nsullivan@marcelhotelnyc.com

Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Marcel is an excellent hotel located in the heart of midtown. I enjoyed the convenience of access to the subway, shops, and restaurants. The hotel was clean and the staff was very courteous. The best New York experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was indeed a pleasant stay at The Marcel(at Gramercy).
Clean well appointed room.
Not very spacious however comfortable for a couple.
Friendly personnel.
Tenzin,Jennifer,Anita,Mohammed and the team.Thank You for professional courtesies.
No doubt we look forward to stay with you in our next visit.
Keep up the good work.
KU & JC
Berlin,
Germany

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are very glad you appreciated our convenient location.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.