We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Woodside, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A surprising gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I bought the discounted expedia surprise deal, and got the Marcel. It turned out to be a fantastic deal. The elevator was slow, and they overcharge for wifi, but the room was fantastic, simple, well appointed, and very, very, very quiet. The soaps and all that were more spa-like, nice touch. The room was an interior room, which I thought I would detest, but it turned out to have a window, and dare I say again, it was quiet, quiet, quiet. I would definitely go back. Far better than the Paramount. Not as good as Trump, but a fantastic deal.

Room Tip: Opt for the interior room. It's quiet and less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

We are most appreciative of your kind review and we hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    566
    192
    104
    88
See reviews for
183
571
147
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We chose the Marcel due to close proximity to family living there in NY. The only problem we had was the air conditioning not maintaining the temperature cool enough. We had to get up twice a night to adjust it back to the temperature we wanted. We would wake up sweating. Also a lot of street noise, so I would request a room off the direst street location. They do provide ear plugs!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay!

Please accept my sincere apology for the challenges you encountered with the HVAC in your room. We will be sure to look into and appreciate you bringing to our attention.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Marcel at Gramercy is our favorite hotel in NYC. We only stay here each time that we come to NYC. It is our home away from home in NYC. Everything is always perfect, no complaints whatsoever. Only compliments and thanks!!! :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay!

We appreciate your loyalty to us and we are delighted that we are able to make you and family feel at home!

We look forward to your return soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very poor up keep since our last stay. Sink wouldn't drain properly, Carpeting was torn in several areas in the room and also outside of the room near the elevator. Room service was terrible. Superior room with king size bed is very small. Windows are not insulated so you can hear all the morning traffic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and please know they will be addressed.

If you would like to discuss further please feel free to reach out direct nsullivan@msterdamhospitality.com

Thanks again and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very much impressed with this hotel ! Amazing staff, very good food, clean rooms, fast WiFi and very cheap as well ! It was indeed a wonderful experience. I recommend this hotel for those who want excellent services in cheap rates.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!


Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The minute I walked in .. LOVED IT !
Rooms were Perfect .. STAFF was VERY HELPFUL & FRIENDLY !
The Roof Lounge was PERFECT for some Sun Time or just Coffee w/ Friends.
Couldn't ask for a Better Wknd Getaway !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive review!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My experience at The Marcel was a wonderful one. I found the rooms to be very comfortable and the availability of a room bar made the stay so much easier. Wi-Fi in rooms is very good and free too. The staff were fantastic from the ladies at the reception to the guys on the 10th floor. Special mention: Mohamad - what a gent. Very friendly and very helpful......

Room Tip: Rooms away from the corner 23rd street are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdviosr!

We appreciate the mention of our team! We are very proud of them and we love that you noticed the attempts to exceed our guests expectations.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.