We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, they upgraded our room when the thermostat wasn't functioning. I would only complain that you must pay for the internet per device.Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are so glad that you found your stay enjoyable. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience with TripAdvisor!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    565
    191
    104
    88
See reviews for
182
571
147
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frelighsburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed four nights at the Marcel last week and absolutely loved this hotel. The staff were very helpful, polite and welcoming. The rooms, although small, are very confortable and extremely clean. The beds are very comfy and the bathroom is bright (light colored tiles). Our room was too warm so we closed the heat and opened the window and it was perfect. The hospitality room on the 10th floor is big and filled with light with many sofas, two computers and free wifi. There is also free coffee and tea. The hotel is close to the subway (23rd st) line 6 which is very convenient to go either uptwon or downtown. The neighbourhood is quiet with good pubs and restaurants. We will definitely go back to the Marcel on our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am especially glad that you were able to take advantage of our 10th floor guest lounge!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed at the Gramercy for a week, and I was very satisfied. The hotel and the room was clean, the staff were very helpful, and the room was great. I'm deffently going back to The Gramercy if I'm to visit New York again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your feedback and hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you are staying here because of SVA NYC then I highly reccomend it. The hotel is very close to the school and there are decent restaurants around it. Consider Blue Smoke , tasty BBQ in NYC. Good job Yankee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor!

I am so pleased to hear your appreciation of our convenient location!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel was not remarkable in any way. The location is very nice, the staff is friendly, everything is clean, the hot water is hot, the air conditioning system works very efficiently, but is a bit noisy. There was just nothing special about it, the atmosphere was very, I don't know what to call it, bland? It wasn't very cosy or interesting. Also, we had the cheapest room, and it was really small. We had no closet to hang clothes in, and there was no room anywhere for our big suitcases. Total experience was pleasent, but not memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate you taking the time to in form us of your stay.

I am disappointed to learn that you did not find our hotel to be memorable or special.

Our team does their very best to ensure a connection with each of our guests and I am sorry that you were not able to experience this!

I hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to make it up to you!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

After much research we booked the Marcel due to its quiet but convenient location (near the Lexington Ave. subway line) and positive reviews regarding the quality of the Hotel.
First off, all staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel decor and ambience meet our expectations for a 4 star hotel. Regarding the rooms, we had a deluxe double room which was very large for NYC standards and the beds were most comfortable. We were also delighted that you could access wifi from the bedroom for free. A special mention also goes to the roof top deck on the 10th floor which provided excellent views of midtown and the Empire State Building.

There were however a few issues that took away from our stay. The first is the fact that no kettles are provided in the rooms. Thus, you had to go to the common room on the tenth floor to get a coffee - a minor irritation every morning. The second more problematic issue was the problem with the heating. The rooms were so overheated it became a topic of conversation among residents in the elevators in the mornings. The default function was set to 76 f (24.5deg !!!)…(why so high???) so the air con need to be switched on to cool the place down. However, this was so noisy that we couldn't sleep! The only (unsatisfactory) solution was to open a window. Sleep is important!! particular as we were staying with you for 6 nights! Can the management please rectify this issue soon as it would be an issue effecting my booking this lovely hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

I am so glad to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Your feedback is most appreciated.

I am sorry to hear of the challenges you experienced with our heating system, please know that this is an area in which we remained very focused on improving daily and I do appreciate you bringing to our attention.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future!

Thank you again and hope to see you soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Close to the metro, clean, very friendly & affordable :) Everything we need in NYC! Only two issues were 1. housekeeping turned off our heater during the snow storm while we were gone during the day, so when we got back in the evening, the room was FREEZING 2. the car service we ordered through the hotel to take us to the airport was nearly 30 min late.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for posting on TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us!

Thank you for providing your feedback, as it is important for us know the challenges you experienced while staying with us. We will be sure to address the matters in which you have mentioned.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.