We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service goes a long way!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Save Saved
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 449 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service goes a long way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

very nice boutique hotel, good location and offers the necessary amenities for an affordable price. What really makes the difference is the service awareness within the hotel staff - from the technician all the way to the front desk and the manager. Very courteous and nice and trying to accomodate. An overall nice environment and great service. Britney M, Brittany W and Emerald: keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: higher floors are more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for posting on TripAdvisor!

We are very appreciative of your positive review! Thank you for mentioning the names of those that went the extra mile for you.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    559
    183
    100
    86
See reviews for
143
490
131
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is nice and so are the staff members.

We knew upfront the rooms were small which is fine but there is some unnecessary furniture which could be removed to grant more space.

Breakfast is very good for the price and rooftop deserves a visit.

The location is OK, walking distance to East Village with lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the street can be very noise because of 3rd avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A romantic weekend in Gramercy was not helped by the Marcel.
The "romance package" was a warm bottle of prosecco place on the work desk. The bed was a board of a mattress covered in some sort of protective coating - usually associated with nursing homes. The halls & room had the musty odor of disregard for updates. The style is dated DIY "quirky"; appears far better in the website photos than live. It is sort of IKEA updated by a trip to the hobby shop - zebra fabric cover over a bad overhead light, mustard vinyl stapled over particle board. The bed is awful...not suitable for any adults. The AC/Heater sounded like a broken Vitamix or Abe Vigoda choking on a prune pit ... all night, every night... The connecting door to an adjoining room squeaked and banged with any activity in the neighboring room. Completely ineffective and weirdly designed privacy curtains ... not private, not attractive, bad technology. The saving grace is the neighborhood and the really nice desk staff. They try. So, with lots of great places in the greatest city on the planet...I regret to say, avoid the Marcel until it is better. I'm bummed because I had high hopes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

I am very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide such detailed feedback and we will be sure to address the challenges you mentioned.

I am however, glad to learn that our staff was helpful to you and our central location fit your needs.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity in future.

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It's hard to find a decent hotel for under $300 in NYC, especially one that is centrally located. While the rooms are small, it is perfectly suitable for a solo traveler on business that doesn't spend excess time in their room. The reception at the front desk was very welcoming and they honored my request for a higher floor.

The only negative to this property for me was the walls were very thin which dropped them down a star. There was a couple arguing at 2am the first night and it was like it was in my room. Then, in the morning around 7am housekeeping started making their rounds and they would open-and-close the same door letting is slam. I don't blame the hotel for the couple arguing, but should be more aware of their guests that are sleeping when housekeeping is moving throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights over new year. Room was small, as expected from reading other reviews. But bed was comfy, shower was nice and powerful and room was quiet. Area was brilliant. Loads of bars and restaurants around and was a great base for seeing the city.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I´ve been to Marcel with my wife for one week at christmas time. The room is big enough for Manhattan standards (a took one of the smallest). A couple, lugagges and after christmas sales shopping could fit well to the room. The staff is great, the hotel is clean, looks really nice (well decorated) is not old, and it is close to metro and citibike station. You cannot walk to midtown spots like Times Square (too far for that).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pleasant stay. This is our third stay at the Gramercy and will return. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great value for NYC. Our son lives in the area and this is the best hotel we have found for quality and price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#154 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.