We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff, clean, not old, well located, well decorated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Save Saved
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 451 hotels in New York City
Curitiba, PR
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff, clean, not old, well located, well decorated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I´ve been to Marcel with my wife for one week at christmas time. The room is big enough for Manhattan standards (a took one of the smallest). A couple, lugagges and after christmas sales shopping could fit well to the room. The staff is great, the hotel is clean, looks really nice (well decorated) is not old, and it is close to metro and citibike station. You cannot walk to midtown spots like Times Square (too far for that).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    491
    565
    186
    100
    86
See reviews for
145
494
132
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pleasant stay. This is our third stay at the Gramercy and will return. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great value for NYC. Our son lives in the area and this is the best hotel we have found for quality and price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are frequent travelers to NYC as well as all over the world. I classify this as a boutique hotel with fewer rooms and fewer amenities than a larger chain. The room was comfortable, bright, clean and everything was as pictured in the photos. The staff was helpful and the location was excellent for us. Approximately 2 blocks from Gramercy Park, walking distance to Union Square and NYU/Washington Square. HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great location. Great food and bars blocks away. I would stay here again. Rooms are small but you only sleep there. City noise can be an issue but earplugs provided. Guest lounge was very homey feeling and had a great view of the Empire State building!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a decent stay at The Marcel for a quick weekend trip. It was very expensive for what you get, but all hotels in the heart of Manhattan were very pricey (more so than normal) that weekend for whatever reason, so relatively speaking it was one of the better priced ones. Every time we are in Manhattan we try to stay in a new area and check it out. I really like the location of this hotel. Not far from the subway, and in an area that has a lot to offer yet isn't very touristy. I loved it that we were within walking distance of the Union Square Greenmarket and Madison Square Park. The hotel is just off 3rd Avenue, which has many bars and restaurants.The hotel itself has sort of modern/boutique decor. The common areas are very nice. One of the best parts was the roof top lounge with good views. The room was comfortable enough, but as other reviewers have said, pretty small. We knew that going in though so we were prepared. It was clean, had a decent shower, a comfortable bed, and importantly, no street noise that we could hear, so we were able to sleep in. We had no problems with the staff, they were very nice and accomodating. We tried to check in early but the room wasn't ready. Since we didn't arrange that prior, it was not a problem, we were just hoping to get lucky. We dropped off our bags and went out exploring. They took our cell phone # and called us as soon as the room was ready. All in all it was a good stay, I would stay again if the price isn't too painful (you never know with Manhattan).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Rooms were unbearably hot and dry with no way to regulate temp. Worst night sleep of my life. Pull out bed for the kids had springs digging in to your back. Very expensive. Would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

Please accept my sincere apology for any discomfort you and you family experienced while staying with us.

If you would like to discuss further please feel free to contact me at nsullivan@amsterdamhospitality.com


Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, quiet with an outgoing, relaxed, friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable, attractive and stylish if lacking storage space for unloading clothing from suitcases. The lounge is very comfortable and pleasant and the breakfast sufficient and made especially pleasant by the surroundings. Only blip is not being able to make tea or coffee in the room after 10:30 PM when the lounge closes. But overall this hotel has the ambience of a much more expensive hotel at a reasonable price for New York City.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
Manhattan
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#222 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Boutique, Quiet...
Show More
Manhattan
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#118 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
Manhattan
King & Grove New York
King & Grove New York
#311 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, City...
Show More
Manhattan
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#115 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
Manhattan
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#151 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Flatiron Hotel
Flatiron Hotel
#225 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.