We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace on Third” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace on Third”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was much better than anticipated. First time user of Expedia in finding an affordable NYC hotel, I expected small but "good enough". They surprised me with much better than average attention to service and fabulous beds.
The rooms are small, but really well appointed; lovely attention to details such as excellent pillows, excellent supplies in the bathrooms and excellent towels. The guest lounge is an explosion of light on the 10th floor, with a huge terrace attached. Breakfast is very simple, but always good fresh fruit. I just wish there was better bread available in a place where fantastic bakeries abound.
I love the afternoon complimentary wine gatherings they offer to their guests. Such a nice way to mingle.
When I had a repeated problem with WIFI reception in my room, they offered to relocate me to another room with better reception, which I accepted. (Higher floor) No questions asked.
As the other reviews state, access to public transportation is easy; three blocks away from Madison Square park.
Things I did not like: the lighting, or the lack thereof. The first rooms did not have good lighting, especially in the bathroom. I also did not like the dim bedside lights.
The second room, although a more beautiful room, had no bedside lamp, and only one ceiling lamp that gave off so little light that sorting through clothes was difficult.
Will I come back? Absolutely! I'll just make sure to bring a Coleman lantern....

Room Tip: If you want a brighter room, ask for one overlooking the streets, even though they are a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Gabriele F,

Thank you for taking the time to review! We are so happy to hear that you found us on Expedia and hope you will book directly with us in the future (we will match any legitimate rate found online)! We have just rewired the entire hotel to improve our wifi service and have switched to new light bulbs to improve the brightness in our rooms. We hope you will be back again soon to see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    658
    232
    117
    100
See reviews for
237
721
170
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a first timer in New York I wasn't quite prepared for how busy this amazing city was going to be. Needless to say, I loved the atmosphere of Times Square, but was extremely grateful to have this boutique hotel to come back to in an evening. Its location was perfect for us, fairly quiet (well as quiet as an area in Manhattan can be I suppose), a short walk to the subway and surrounded by lots of cool bars and restaurants.

Whilst the hotel room was small, it was clean and comfortable and ideal for us to lay our heads in an evening before taking on another day of exploring. Check-in was smooth, we actually arrived early and they had our room ready for us to dump our stuff before heading out.

My only negative observation would be the lack of wifi in the rooms, but I hear this is a common trait among hotels in New York.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good restaurant close to the hotel, City Crab is amazing! Also the New Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Rebecca B,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property and for all of your kind words! We are so happy we got to be a part of your first visit to NYC and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We have complimentary wifi in the lobby and our second floor lounge and just rewired the whole hotel to improve the wifi in the guest rooms (that is a nominal fee). Hopefully you will get to experience these improvements when you come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

In four days, never had to wait an instant
on the telephone or at the front desk to get
questions answered. No fitness center, but
the hotel arrangement at the huge New York City Club
around the corner is better anyway. Room
service surprisingly reasonable, with neither surcharges
nor expectant waiters. Huge imposing windows,
The hotel has many room configurations: mine,
one of the smaller, was still wonderful due to the
dramatic corner views. Enjoy the relaxing outdoor
10th-floor seating during wine hours. Should be
more highly rated!

Room Tip: Often fully booked, but staff does its best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Biernacki,

What a fun profile picture! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Marcel with others and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket,Ontario
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we stayed at the marcel for few days in july, the location is great,in a safe area,walking distance from the subway line, the hotel was clean but very small,that's what to expect from new york, its centrally located in upper part of downtown close to financial district,and attractions downtown, as well as times square and shopping with central park and broadway.The staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear allouzee,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park7860
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took my family to Marcel at Gramercy for a little weekend getaway to NYC and we could not have asked for a better hotel, location and the price. We were blown away by the size of the room. We were expecting a tiny box like most NYC hotels, but it had high ceilings, big bathroom and spacious closet. The only down side is their TVs. It was a flat screen, but no HDTV. Either way, great hotel for the price you pay. If you are looking to experience NYC like a local, this is the hotel for you. Check out Bluebell Cafe for early brunch and take a stroll to Madison Square Park. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 10th floor is their roof top lounge. 5p-7pm they offer wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Park7680,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay (and we think Bluebell is delicious too!)! Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their stay (and we are working with TWC to fix our TVs) and hope we get to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August and thought this was a great property. Good location, lots of restaurants nearby. It was easy to walk to the subway. Lindsay, Britney M & Danny were all very helpful and gave us excellent service and great suggestions for places to eat. Our room (915) was a good size and very quiet, clean and comfortable. The 10th floor lounge/business center was a fun place to meet up with our group and enjoy a glass of wine or cup of coffee. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 & 15 on each floor seem to be the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear travelingz42,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and appreciate you taking the time to mention them! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night in June and had a very good experience. The staff was helpful and gave a complimentary upgrade. Check-in was very quick. The room was small, but fine by NYC standards, and the room décor was fun. We didn't have much of a view and there was some marginal noise, but overall a great value for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear alpalcasuitcase,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip into Manhattan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#209 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,933 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,752 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#16 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Hotel
#226 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#176 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#102 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Budget Places, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.