We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Save Saved
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 446 hotels in New York City
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a first timer in New York I wasn't quite prepared for how busy this amazing city was going to be. Needless to say, I loved the atmosphere of Times Square, but was extremely grateful to have this boutique hotel to come back to in an evening. Its location was perfect for us, fairly quiet (well as quiet as an area in Manhattan can be I suppose), a short walk to the subway and surrounded by lots of cool bars and restaurants.

Whilst the hotel room was small, it was clean and comfortable and ideal for us to lay our heads in an evening before taking on another day of exploring. Check-in was smooth, we actually arrived early and they had our room ready for us to dump our stuff before heading out.

My only negative observation would be the lack of wifi in the rooms, but I hear this is a common trait among hotels in New York.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good restaurant close to the hotel, City Crab is amazing! Also the New Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Rebecca B,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property and for all of your kind words! We are so happy we got to be a part of your first visit to NYC and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We have complimentary wifi in the lobby and our second floor lounge and just rewired the whole hotel to improve the wifi in the guest rooms (that is a nominal fee). Hopefully you will get to experience these improvements when you come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    515
    165
    96
    83
See reviews for
125
453
118
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

In four days, never had to wait an instant
on the telephone or at the front desk to get
questions answered. No fitness center, but
the hotel arrangement at the huge New York City Club
around the corner is better anyway. Room
service surprisingly reasonable, with neither surcharges
nor expectant waiters. Huge imposing windows,
The hotel has many room configurations: mine,
one of the smaller, was still wonderful due to the
dramatic corner views. Enjoy the relaxing outdoor
10th-floor seating during wine hours. Should be
more highly rated!

Room Tip: Often fully booked, but staff does its best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Biernacki,

What a fun profile picture! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Marcel with others and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket,Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we stayed at the marcel for few days in july, the location is great,in a safe area,walking distance from the subway line, the hotel was clean but very small,that's what to expect from new york, its centrally located in upper part of downtown close to financial district,and attractions downtown, as well as times square and shopping with central park and broadway.The staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear allouzee,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park7860
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took my family to Marcel at Gramercy for a little weekend getaway to NYC and we could not have asked for a better hotel, location and the price. We were blown away by the size of the room. We were expecting a tiny box like most NYC hotels, but it had high ceilings, big bathroom and spacious closet. The only down side is their TVs. It was a flat screen, but no HDTV. Either way, great hotel for the price you pay. If you are looking to experience NYC like a local, this is the hotel for you. Check out Bluebell Cafe for early brunch and take a stroll to Madison Square Park. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 10th floor is their roof top lounge. 5p-7pm they offer wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Park7680,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay (and we think Bluebell is delicious too!)! Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their stay (and we are working with TWC to fix our TVs) and hope we get to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August and thought this was a great property. Good location, lots of restaurants nearby. It was easy to walk to the subway. Lindsay, Britney M & Danny were all very helpful and gave us excellent service and great suggestions for places to eat. Our room (915) was a good size and very quiet, clean and comfortable. The 10th floor lounge/business center was a fun place to meet up with our group and enjoy a glass of wine or cup of coffee. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 & 15 on each floor seem to be the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear travelingz42,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and appreciate you taking the time to mention them! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night in June and had a very good experience. The staff was helpful and gave a complimentary upgrade. Check-in was very quick. The room was small, but fine by NYC standards, and the room décor was fun. We didn't have much of a view and there was some marginal noise, but overall a great value for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear alpalcasuitcase,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip into Manhattan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I found this hotel a really nice balance between form and function, the location was ideal, I love to be in a place where I can walk to the action but still be far enough away to escape, I love to walk around cities, to be exposed to the life and rhythms of a city. When I first get a to a city (even one I have been to a few times like this one) I walk, walk for hours. This hotel was in a great spot for just that. If you don't like to walk its a very easy location to get a taxi too, uptown or down town.
One thing I really liked about the hotel itself is the restaurant, I liked the food, most other hotels I will push myself out the door to avoid it, so many hotels have mediocre restaurants, with food the average quality at a high price. Places you eat because your too tired to go out, this hotel has the real thing, the service was quick, and the food was not only good it was special. Walking past the restaurant is full and its not guests its locals, some nights I stayed in because the meal I had the night before was so good I just wanted it again. I never had breakfast, I have a weakness for bagels so Bagel Express just around the cnr on 25th and 3rd was my spot, great everything bagel.

The rooms were a little small (surprise its NY) but if you can get as far from 3rd as you can they are quiet , well quiet for NY a city that truly does not sleep and never seems to be quiet either.
The service its good the rooms very clean and well kept, in my 5 stay never anything broken or dirty.

Oh be warned black is the new black at this hotel, black and grey is everywhere and everything.

I have stayed since and would stay again,

Room Tip: Stay high and away from 3rd, early morning on 3rd is far from quiet so if you wake easily stay at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Also Known As:
Marcel Hotel
Marcel Hotel New York
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Ny
Marcel Nyc
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.