We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything We Needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 459 Hotels in New York City
West Linn, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everything We Needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am fairly picky about hotel rooms and picked this one mainly because of it's location (we needed to be near Gramercy and NYU) and because the reviews were good. We stayed a week and I really have no complaints. It was clean and quiet (we asked for a quiet room) and the staff were very accommodating. (Room didn't have enough light for my old eyes so they brought extra lamps for us as soon as we asked.) It would have been nice to have free internet but they gave us a discount on it so that helped and for the very reasonable room prices, I think some things will have to be extra. My sister would have liked a coffee pot in the room but then, all we had to do in the morning was to go up to the top floor to get coffee. The lounge and outdoor area upstairs was a very nice place to visit. It has a nice "low key" feel to it and not the big impersonal ambience of the larger hotels. All in all, a winner for me. I would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and one with "light" and were put on the 9th floor away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for posting on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience at The Marcel at Gramercy.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    568
    192
    104
    88
See reviews for
185
576
147
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was in NYC one night for a concert and needed a place to stay that was reasonably priced on sort of short notice (finding a room for less than $250 a night with 5 weeks notice is not that easy in NYC!). Marcel was very stylish, nicely located near two subways lines, and with helpful and courteous staff. I arrived very early, before 10 am, on the day of my reservation. They did not have a room for me then but took my phone number and called me at 1.00 pm to say they had a room for me (normal check in is 3.00). Leaving my bag with the concierge on both days was not a problem and they helped me with a taxi on my way back to the airport. The neighborhood has tasty nearby options for food which I was happy about.

My only real concern is that the room, and many of the rooms it seems, was very small. It was great for one person for one night, but if you had any significant amount of luggage or if there was more than two of you it would likely be a squeeze.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have family in the Gramercy Park neighborhood so we pick hotels in that part of Manhattan. As others have said, the rooms are small but the beds comfortable and the price is right. Room service brought ice within 5 minutes. There was a lack of places to charge electronic devices. I had mine on the floor in the corner. It seems to me that the more expensive the hotel the more likely the hotel is to charge for WiFi. The Marcel is no exception. I am tired of being charged for WiFi so I now just carry my ipad and use local cellphone service. Since I have done that I have removed a major irritation I have when staying in a "nice" hotels. Almost every chain motel out on the interstate has free high speed WiFi. Come on Marcel at Gramercy. Charge everyone a few dollars more and give your guest something we all want and need for free.

Room Tip: This part of Manhattan has a lot of noise so maybe stay off 3rd Avenue. We were in the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

I am very pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Please accept my sincere apology for not having enough outlets in your guest room. We are actually in the process of solving this challenge that exists in some of our guest rooms. We are grateful to hear feedback from our guests on TripAdvisor and will ensure to do our very best to address all concerns.

Please note that while we do charge for WiFi connectivity we do offer complimentary use of computers with access to internet as well as printing services in our 10th floor guest lounge-for future reference, and the view isn't bad either!

Thanks again for your time!

We hope to see you at The Marcel at Gramercy very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We live in the suburbs, but occasionally spend the night in Manhattan to make the most of our time. We were very impressed by the location of this hotel, and the staff was exceptional. We were immediately upgraded at checkin, and we exchanged parenting stories with the Bellman who was very careful stowing our belongings until the room was cleaned. There are a few rough spots in the rooms, that could be sorted, but the hotel doesn't show its age like others. We had a great nights sleep, parked in a reasonably priced garage directly across the street, and experienced a staff that went out of their way to be kind, which is rare. Sure, the rooms are a little small, but this is New York, so you can expect that to be the case. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience at The Marcel at Gramercy, as well as you mentioning some of our team members that made your stay more enjoyable!

Our team at The Marcel try to ensure a personalized experience for each of our guests and I am very glad that our front office team made you feel very welcomed.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Thanks again,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My room was small but very well-appointed and as one person how much space do I really need? It was stylishly decorated. Loved the eco-bath products. They were having an event in their breakfast space but nicely laid out some pastries, coffee and juice on the ground floor.

Room Tip: A standard room can be a double or a queen bed. If you are two people you probably want to call and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I needed a New York hotel room at a reasonable price (personal trip, the company wasn't paying) and the Marcel definitely delivered. The room was well appointed if a bit small, and nicely decorated. Quite quiet.The staff was lovely, location was decent. I would stay here again when I'm looking for a reasonably priced option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Marcel has a great location on 3rd and 24th if you like staying in a more low-key neighborhood. plenty of local hangouts and restaurants. close to the movie megaplex on 2nd and 32nd. easy access to subway lines at 23rd and Park, Broadway, and 6th Ave. quiet rooms, even on 2nd floor. a bit chilly at the registration desk, but more aloof than rude. my only complaint? the jet engine HVAC which when it cycled on made such a loud, shrill buzz it sounded like a fire alarm -- i had to shut it off. if you are looking for a different place to try and want to just change up your usual lodging, Marcel is decent. Not sure it will become one of my regular hotels, but when the deals are under $200, it would be worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdivisor!

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. We are surrounded by many great restaurants and pubs, our residential neighborhood gives our guests the "local New Yorker" experience!

I am sorry to learn that your HVAC made a loud noise and I hope that you informed us while staying with us so we could provide a resolution for you.

Thanks again for posting your experience and we hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.