We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED The Marcel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 459 Hotels in New York City
abell44
1 review
“LOVED The Marcel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

I love this place! The Marcel is extremly clean, the staff are fantastic and our room was huge! The lounge on the tenth floor was great - computers with free internet access (great when you want to google a Restaurant), free coffee and tea, and an amazing roof deck! I booked it through hotels.com and got a deluxe room- we paid $250 a night, but it was definitly well worth it! Also, I called the Hotel and requested a corner room. They only have 1 corner room per floor, so be sure to call early. Parking was across the street for $27 per day. Great location - close to the village (about a $6 cab ride). All in all - I Loved this place and would recommend it to anyone! We stayed in room 607 and it was amazing.

  • Liked — The room & the lounge
  • Disliked — can't think of anything!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    568
    192
    104
    88
See reviews for
185
576
147
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South River, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night to celebrate valentines day. We arrived around 730pm and the check in was quick and simple, gave us our key and we were off.

The entrance way had a wide fireplace built in th wall and a doorman. There was a parcking deck right across the street and for 24 hours they charge us 27$ which isnt that bad at all for parking in the city!

We stayed in room 311. It was VERY tiny, but clean and very modern. The bathroom was clean and was pretty decent sized. The bed was comfortable except the fitted sheet wasnt very tight and kept moving when i moved.

Liquor store and convenience store right around the corner.
Cab to Lafayette was only 10$.

Check out was simple and quick as well!!

I would DEF recommend this hotel to couples... its worth the money!!!

  • Liked — location, cleanlieness and friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — the tiny rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

I loved this hotel. It was decorated the way I would love to have my place done. It was modern and sleek.. the rooms are small, but it is NYC.
I didn't care much for the shallow bathroom sink, but the bathroom was very well appointed.
All in all: I loved this place and totally will stay there again!

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — The internet for 10USD a day
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

As others have written there were serious problems with the plumbing during mid-late January. Throughout our week stay we had no water, then cold water, then no water again, then the plumbing started to make really loud noises, then no water, ect. Although front desk sent someone to deal with the problem - nothing was solved and we had to live with it.
The room was also very hot and we had to have the window open at all times even though it was below freezing outside throughout our stay.
The staff were polite and helpful and the rooms were clean.
The hotel is in an excellent location for both uptown and downtown in a quiet and safe location.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown Pa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Stayed here on business end of January. Room are small, shower was cold. Room lay out was odd. Not a fan of the decor. It was clean and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Stayed Sunday through Tuesday mid Jan 2008. Got super recently updated room on 4th floor facing Third Avenue. Quick, friendly service at the desk and lobby. Tenth floor lounge never crowded, with free computers and internet access. Internet wireless in room great, although cost is $10/day extra. Shower water was cool two of the days around noon. Front desk didn't know why. Good location for subway and bus travel. Not a good choice if you can afford $500/night but a great choice if you can't.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Cool shower water
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Did some research and got a good rate through hotels.co.uk
Room was not huge but big enough, immaculately cleaned each day, and hotel staff very friendly and courteous.

The free internet, coffee, cheese and wine were great touches. Checked out at 5am (!) on last day which was effortless and taxi arranged by concierge even arrived early.

Subway a 10 minute walk away. Area great - you should definitely take time to explore the bars and restaurants up 3rd avenue.

Negatives are the noise from the road (especially from the drilling at 5am!!), no kettle in room (maybe this is a very English thing!), and room was initially too hot (I figured out you open the heater great to adjust this however).

Would stay there again, it's quirky, clean and convenient.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Noise from road
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.