We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marcel at Gramercy rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Marcel at Gramercy to your Saves list
The Marcel at Gramercy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Waltham MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Marcel at Gramercy rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Cool place; high design allowing very efficient space (and pricing). Service well above the level of more expensive places. Near some great restaurants, including 'Inoteca (from which room service is available).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    559
    186
    104
    88
See reviews for
177
561
147
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Good value hotel, close to Grammercy. Rooms are typically New York small. On two occasions I have been moved to a sister hotel The Bentley on E62. Whilst the rooms are much larger the location is not great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here in January 2012 for two nights. Amazing, friendly staff that were very helpful at check-in and providing recomendations to local spots throughout our stay. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. Small compared to large chains but what you would expect in NYC. The rooms were well stocked with snacks and drinks. No bar or restaraunt at the hotel but it is attached to a nice italian restaraunt with a nice food and great bar setup. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Google Translation
Estamos encantados de que haya disfrutado de su estancia con nosotros! Gracias por compartir la experiencia en TripAdvisor! Me alegra que haya encontrado nuestro personal servicial y te valoro nosotros como uno de sus favoritos!

Esperamos que seamos capaces de darle la bienvenida de vuelta muy pronto!

Atentamente,

Nalini Sullivan
gerente general
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I loved this hotel and I have stayed in a number of NY hotels over the years. The room was spacious and a great price. The staff was outstanding. The location was terrific! Anything I needed was promptly taken care of. Could not have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Louise P,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing you experience on TripAdvisor! I am pleased that you found our staff accommodating and you rank us as one of your favorites!

We hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and found the staff to be amazingly helpful, especially a couple of the dudes on the door. Nice enough location for either walking or a quick cab either uptown or downtown. called at the downstairs bar for a nightcap and was a nice spot with a friendly barman. lovely view from the 10th floor deck.
Would stay again for sure.

I've uploaded some photos from the level 10 guest room. Nice view of the Empire State building from up there.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/70329764@N08/sets/72157629003101373

Room Tip: Seemed as though the hot water ran out unless you showered early - was hit and miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear rooties,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We also LOVE the photos you published of the view from our roof top terrace, they are wonderful! I am very pleased that our staff made you feel welcomed and our location convenient.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The room was very small... smaller than most "small NYC rooms". Walls weren't that thick, as I was awoken in the middle of the night by a drunken couple who couldn't get into their room. Room was clean, although it was a bit heavy on some potpourri scent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear tcsmint,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconveniences you may have encountered while staying with us and we hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days recently and must say I was extremely impressed with the courteous attitude of all the staff and the wonderful atmosphere displayed in the hotel. I have absoloutely no gripes at all and I can be pretty fussy when it comes to hotel rooms! The room I stayed in was a standard king and was brilliant, with a spotless bathroom and all the extras I normally want but can never get from another hotel. The view was lovely, the staff very helpful, and the location excellent! The decor of the room was quite tasteful and for once the bedding was actually comfortable and ensured a great nights rest. Whether you are a lone traveller or are travelling with a family- this is a must and very highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear hm001,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and welcoming atmosphere.

Thank you for recommending our hotel, we hope to see again soon!!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marcel at Gramercy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.