We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Midtown Stay for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Rates
Ranked #97 of 459 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Midtown Stay for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Marriott Courtyard Midtown was a perfect hotel for our stay in NYC. It is located in a area that has reasonably priced, family friendly restaurants, is in easy walking access to shopping, and we (my husband, 12 year old daughter, and I) felt safe walking in the area around the hotel. It has well kept exercise center and a very fun Internet "hang out area" on the 12th floor that we enjoyed taking a break in. Our room was spacious and had it (as well as the entire hotel) has a fun, fresh decor. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The only drawback was street noise (despite our room being on the 24th floor), but this is probably true with any NYC hotel. Overall, I would recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher up may be better from a street noise standpoint
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed and felt comfortable in the hotel and area. I am glad that you found our gathering place on the 12th floor. During the morning hours it is our Breakfast Restaurant Table 866 but in the afternoon in evening it is designed so our guests can just relax outside of their rooms but in the hotel. Regarding the noise, we are looking for some options to make the sound proofing in the rooms even better. Thank you again for staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    640
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
676
256
57
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in New York, as a family of four and with a moderate budget we picked the Courtyard, mainly due to it's larger room size when comparing to others of similar price range. The hotel didn't disappoint, the room with two queens was perfect, quiet and had all that we required for NYC and the staff were most helpful with whatever we requested. The hotel was in a great location, from our doorstep we had Duane Reade (Convenience Store), the best coffee in New York at Ground Central, Chipotle for delicious Mexican treats and Toasties for whatever your taste buds required for morning starts. I would definitely stay there again if I was to return to NYC.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
What can I add to this review other than thank you so much for staying at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, nj
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here while my husband was having surgery at Sloan Kettering and it was a perfect oasis. The rooms are a good size and up to date, with all the amenities you expect from Marriott. It's a great central location, with easy access to the subway and good shopping and plenty do restaurant choices.

Room Tip: Watch for special pricing, but don't expect to extend it if you decide to stay longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good place to stay. They ran out of double beds so my adult son and I shared a king bed and sofa bed room. The room was otherwise comfortable. Coffee pot, hair dryer, mini fridge, flat screen TV, light blocking window coverings. There was a wedding party on the premises and we could hear a room full of women chatting late at night and in the morning, clear as day. It was as if their voices were traveling up a pipe. The room was non smoking and had a safe in the closet. Would stay here again, if needed.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor. Cars honk at all hours
See more room tips
Green Features: Average. Housekeeper didn't empty the trash cans
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've stayed here twice now, both times for a Friday evening event in mid-May. The staff has been wonderful about letting us check in a bit early and the breakfast cafe is great. This time we had a terrific view of uptown Manhattan. We plan to book again for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for writing your review. When you arrive for your next stay please let me know. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay both times. Till next time safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I am Marriott Silver Rewards customer and my family and I have stayed at this property several times before and have in the past been extremely pleased. In most respects our recent stay was also excellent; we absolutely loved the large, corner room with two queen beds (perfect for our family of four), the staff was as always very polite and helpful, and we love the convenience to midtown attractions and the subway. We have found that many of the recent renovations and upgrades have enhanced our experience, however there is one aspect that will unfortunately result in our family avoiding staying at this hotel in the future: the café experience on the 12th floor has been changed significantly, and not for the better. In the past we enjoyed having a choice between a quick continental breakfast or a larger buffet breakfast. Currently the small café has very limited offerings, and the lines were very long. The poor women behind the counter were working feverishly to keep up but it was clear that they were overwhelmed and understaffed. Our room rate came with breakfast included but it was very confusing what options were available, and it took much longer than should be necessary to place and receive our order. In addition the food was quite unappetizing and much of our food was uneaten. There were several large families behind us in line and some were still waiting to order after we had finished our breakfast. This is unacceptable, especially when visitors are eager to get their day started as quickly as possible so as to maximize their time enjoying the city. We consider these changes to be a downgrade compared to the former experience, and for this reason we will not be staying at this property again unless this situation changes. I am saddened to have to say this about our “go to” Marriott hotel in NYC, but with so many other competitors and options, there are other choices which offer higher value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for being a Marriott Silver Rewards Member. I am happy that you enjoyed our large rooms which we are known for and also that you found our location able to meet your needs.

We are committed into looking at alternatives that will enhance our guest dining experience including the speed of service. We are also looking into different alternatives to assist our team members.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. I would love if you come back to our hotel. Please ask for me in the future. I would love to speak to you further about your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It was a good stay in this hotel. The room were very confortables and spacious for a normal hotel en NY. Good front desk service. Clean. The hotel has a good coffee shop for breakfast. Nearby has the 34th Penn Station that has many train lines. For me a good choice in Manhattan.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.