We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Family Birthday Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Rates
Ranked #97 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NYC Family Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel accommodations were excellent, bed very comfortable, room kept very clean.Rooms are large. Personnel were very helpful. Al, the Bellman went beyond the call of duty. Spoke to him before I arrived and he set up transportation for my group of 16, found a place to park a 15 passenger van in Manhattan for the long weekend(not an easy task).
This took the burden off of me having my Military family in NYC and not wanting to take public transportation. Our group included eleven children. Prices from the company he recommended to us to were very good.
The 12th floor ladies getting your breakfast were always cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    640
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
676
256
57
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alfred, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The staff were wonderful. Place is clean, quiet and convenient. Only problems we had was that there was not enough lighting in the bathroom and while it is great to have a safe in the room, it was in the closet where it was impossible to to use it unless one sat on the floor (and then what little light was available was blocked). Bistro was convenient for breakfast and the prices were not outlandish for NYC.

Room Tip: From our room we could see window washers cleaning the "Lipstick Building." Quite a sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very easy going convenient and safe location close to all amenities. Everything is easy with this hotel, a great go back refuge within the hustle and bustle. Bit pricey but this is New York. Enjoyed it deeply , and enhance the experience, just don't see the broadway show with Daniel Radcliffe, it's truly awful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The location could not have been better, close to Bryant Park and its subway stations and close to Times Square. The staff is very efficient and the rooms and bathroom very clean. We had no issues at the Courtyard.

Room Tip: The hotal is close to 5th avenue, so higher rooms are naturally more silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel provided exactly what we were looking for - large accommodation together for family of 5 in a good location. Our suite was clean and comfortable. We walked to many places easily - Empire State building, Rockefeller Plaza, Grand Central Station, Central Park and also used the subway which is nearby. I can't fault our stay and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I really like this hotel's location - quiet for Manhattan, but with a subway line very close and Fifth Avenue / Rockefeller Plaza a short walk away. On nearby east 53rd street across the street from the hotel there are some nice restaurants. Our room was very large with a king size bed and a pull-out couch (three of us travelling together). We were on the the 15th floor. We booked one night with Marriott points and did not have breakfast, and the second night through Expedia and got breakfast. If you don't book breakfast there are lots of good cafes in the area, and if you get breakfast included it's very good (choice of various entrees like breakfast sandwiches, French toast, etc. and a drink - either juice or regular coffee/tea.; you can also pay for extras like lattes, etc.). We had two problems with our stay: 1) The wifi wasn't working in our room - when I phoned they said they were working on it but it didn't work for our two day stay. I was, however, able to get on the internet and print boarding passes on the computers in the 12th floor lounge / breakfast area.
2) We bought tickets for the Skyline hop on hop off bus from the concierge which turned out to be a problem. There were no refunds available from either the company or the concierge / hotel after a disastrous morning. I recommend you DO NOT use the Skyline hop-on hop-off sold at the hotel (reviewed separately).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is the second time I am staying here. And for this trip, I stayed in two different hotels. But I still like this one the most. This hotel is a bit older compared to the other one. And you can only have city view from your window. However, the room is bigger. It has a sofa for you to relax after a long walk in the city. It is extremely close to the subway station, and drug stores (for the water or other little things you forgot). No breakfast is provided in this hotel, but there are a couple breakfast places down the block for you to choose.

This hotel is not that close to the Broadway district. If you are going to Broadway, you may need to spend extra time. Walking may be another option though, depends on the weather and the theater.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.