We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch above functionary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Save Saved
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of NYC Package
Ranked #79 of 449 hotels in New York City
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A touch above functionary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

This hotel was good choice with a family of four, that included two boys ages 6 and 8. We had requested an early check in and were in our room by 10:30am. Our room was large, clean, quiet and included a king with a sofa bed. The hotel is located on 3rd /53rd Ave and has multiple subway lines within a block. There are plenty of restaurant choices nearby. The Morning Star Cafe on 2nd/51st was a nice place for a sit down breakfast that was inexpensive. Bistro Deseret on 56th was a delicious place for dinner. The hotel lacks the luxourious touches, but is ideal for the business traveller or family that uses the hotel as a base for exploring the city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small lobby
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    732
    607
    90
    16
    9
See reviews for
602
239
46
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

I understand it is always hard to meet expectations in a service industry, but too many strikes against the marriott on this visit.

I reserved 3 rooms. After being told that they could all be on the same floor, only two were on the same floor.

Having arrived at 3pm, I could only get into one room.

They messed up one of my relatives reservations, and would not honor the original room rate (only a small nightly difference).

I called for my car, which was valet parked ($45/day), and it took 35 minutes to get it, even though it was 6 in the morning.

I went downstairs to get a luggage cart to get my suitcases out of our rooms when leaving. When I got back downstairs, I was instructed that I wasn't allowed to take the carts.

Other items to note: No lobby to speak of. No food other than breakfast. "room service" is delivery from a nearby restaurant.

As you can read, none of these were serious offenses. The rooms were clean. Shower had plenty of hot water. Rooms were a perfectly reasonable size. Breakfast buffet was fine.

I'll stay elsewhere the next time I am in NYC. At $200/night, this would have been fine. At $375, I expected more.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

We were there for 3 nights at the end of April. Was a basic room, bathroom sink area was a little tight but not a problem. Good location, within 4 blocks of Rockefeller Ctr. Clean and comfortable, especially since all you're looking for is a place to shower and sleep.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort, value
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

This hotel is a typical american Courtyard Marriott. Nothing fancy, but convenient and you get what you pay for.
Rooms are bigger than average, and being on the 28th floor there was no traffic noise, so getting a good night's sleep was not a problem.
Walking distance to most places in mid Manhattan, and a subway station right ouside the door.
Many restaurants nearby and a few drugstores.
Workout facilities and business center.
Free wifi.
All you need basically.
Nothing to complain about, except the key card, which stopped working all the time and had to be reloaded.
Staff friendly and service minded.
The only thing missing is a restaurant/bar.
Would not hesitate booking this hotel again.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and little noise.
  • Disliked — The key card was very unreliable. Worked only 2 out of 5 times. Very annoying.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

We chose the Courtyard Marriott for our April stay in New York from the reviews published on Trip Advisor , we were not disappointed. We researched in January and the price per night was under (not much) £150 per night, unfortunately delayed booking till March and the price for the same period had gone up to under £200, lesson is book early. However I checked the Marriott website and found they give a discount to over 62 's so that brought the price back down.
The hotel is on 3rd Avenue up about 52nd street just down from Bloomingdales, a nice area and quite convenient, well within walking distance of the subway, Central Park, St Patricks Cathedral, Grand Central Station, Rockafeller Centre, and Times Square.
The hotel frontage is quite small and plain and has a convenient drug store next door, the foyer is also small and functional, the front desk staff and porters were excellent in all respects.
Our room was on the 19th floor and large (I understand this is usual for the hotel and is a big plus) with a large bathroom, bed and a settee which converts to another bed. Good wardrobe space and mirrors TV and coffee percolator. There was no fridge but the concierge provided one on request.
The booking was for room only and a good reasonably priced breakfast buffet was available in a pleasant dining area on the 12th floor, or there were lots of diners around which we also used but found a bit frenetic.
There is a business centre with pcs and printers which was useful in prebooking attractions (esb) and a Broadway show (Mama Mia excellent and pre show dinner in the Rainbow Grill in the Rockefeller Centre), there is also a fitness centre which we didnt have time to use. There is no bar or lounge as such which is a slight drawback but doesn't detract much from the overall value and is overcomable with the many bars and restaurants locally.
I must mention our favourite local restaurant which was Mimi on 2nd Avenue approx 52nd street, Italian, piano player. bags of atmosphere and very good food and value.
Must also mention Rohan ( at the front desk) always a greeting and arranged for the excellent Flavio to take us to the airport in his limousine at roughly the same price as a taxi, well worth it.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms, cleanliness, friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — No bar / lounge
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

My 3 sons and I spent 3 nights at this property May 1-4, 2008. Our room was very large by comparison to almost any other non-suite hotel. It had 2 queen beds and a pull-out couch. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom (toilet and tub/shower) is separated from the sink and closet area by a door which made use by more than 1 person quite easy. Both were clean with appropriate toiletries and soft towels.

The "free" internet access did not work. Housekeeping was slow in responding to a request to make up the pull-out the first night. After that the room was promptly made up each day.

Staff contact was minimal but check-in was smooth. Al, the bellman, was gracious and very helpful during the entire stay. He arranged for a car to take us to the airport on our departure day at a price that was less than a cab would have been and much less than the limo service we hired for the trip from the airport. John, the concierge, was friendly and helpful but be careful about his restaurant recommendations.

The view from our 30th floor room was nondescript but none of the 4 of us spent anything more than a passing moment looking out to check the weather. As has been previously stated, the lobby is small and not ornate but, unless you are trying to impress someone, more than adequate.

We did not try the breakfast that is available.

All mid-town Manhattan hotels are expensive. This one is no different. This one is, however, well worth the money.

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — Inability to make internet service work
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, S Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Stayed at this hotel while on route to Carribean. Absolutely well worth the stay. Paid £300 for 2 nights, on arrival was upgraded to room which was huge, two large double beds and five windows. Had fab view towards central park. Consiege was great recommended a fab steak house and got us reservations on a sat night....Bobby Vans.

This hotel is a 8 min walk to times square passing the waldorf and rockafella. Very safe neighbourhood. Ate in Mcdonalds down the block for breakfast. I would def stay her again. Cannot be faulted for location, quality or price.

The hotel airport transfer service was great booked transfer for 4am was waiting for us and cost $70 including tolls. Much cheaper than elsewhere. Although early hours of morning still took 1hour to get to Newark due sat nightclub traffic.
I have stayed in New york on three occassions and will def be coming back to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.