We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #93 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Courtyard on Third Avenue was delightful. The room was spacious and clean, the front desk, concierge and bell staff were helpful and couteous. The price of breakfast was a little steep, but it is NYC, I guess - service in restaurant was pleasant and attentive. A great place in Midtown right in the center of everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of Third Avenue - fun to see all the action below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    624
    91
    17
    12
See reviews for
666
252
54
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second time staying at this property and it is still just as good as our previous stay. We had a nice large room on the 31st floor and had a great unobstructed view of the Chrysler building. As stated in many reviews this hotels location has a subway location just outside that provides easy transportation to any part of the city. There are many choices and all types of food choices in the area, try Club A Steakhouse (dinner), Isle of Capri (dinner) and Madison Restaurant (breakfast). I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it, but check rates because they vary by time of the year and December is the highest (Febuary and August are the lower). Enjoy the city.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and try to get a room on the 31st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent the weekend at the Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Midtown East. The rooms were fairly large and very clean. Not a lot of frills, but a nice flat screen tv, a mini-fridge and a large safe in the closet. Location is great, subway is right outside and easy to walk to the main mid-town attractions. Would definitely stay here again. Every employee we encountered was very friendly and super helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I haven't stayed in a NYC hotel in a while since my brother finally got an apartment of his own. No more roommates and frat-like atmosphere and hygiene - thank goodness. I just stayed here one night as we were evicted from my bro's apt when my parents arrived to squat in his apt for a couple of weeks.

Overall, a good hotel. It's actually right around the corner from my brother's apt and provides easy access to several train lines; in particular, the E train which will take you straight to the Air Train to JFK. The location may not be ideal for first -time NYC visitors as it's not in within walking distance to all the major sights, but for us it was perfect. The area actually does have a good number of restaurants nearby you just have to walk around or use Yelp to find the good ones. We went to a couple of cute French resturants that were nearby. Also close are Duane Read and a few other grocery stores.

The rooms were clean and large (by NYC standards). It's a very busy hotel and I paid more than I've ever paid for any hotel in my life! The shower did have mildew which is a huge peeve of mine. The best was so nice and comfy. I noticed lots of families coming in and out of this place so I imagine it's great for families - it was just me and the BF though.

The front desk staff were fine - not overly friendly or rude.

My main reasons for staying here were that it's close to my bro's apt and across the street from the E train so I was happy with my stay. I'd stay here again at a cheaper rate, but doubt I would stay here again paying the rate I did for one night. I'm just too frugal :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent 4 days last month (Nov, 2012) at this hotel during a bday trip to the city with my wife. We found the hotel was perfectly located in midtown Manhattan, close to absolutely everything from food to entertainment to local transportation. The hotel employees were all very friendly and courteous. The room had a great view and was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Very spacious, everything in the room is new, there is no grand lobby, no pool, etc. but it's perfect if that's not what you are looking for. It's a good value for what it is. Do not eat at the cafe, it's very pricey for what it is. There is a bagel shop down the street for much cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Would def recommend to a family due to price and room size, every room comes with a good sized pullout sofa and mini fridge. Bit of a walk to activities but the room size/price made up for it, plus it was nice getting away from the hustle and bustle. Next to a drugstore/grocery store. Good view of the city, next to subway stop 53rd st. Quick and Easy to get to from lga via bus/subway combination for about $2.50 per person. Parade route was easily viewable and not too crowded just up the street.

Room Tip: High room with 2 queen beds, much larger room than the king sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.