We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #122 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, nice, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent the weekend at the Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Midtown East. The rooms were fairly large and very clean. Not a lot of frills, but a nice flat screen tv, a mini-fridge and a large safe in the closet. Location is great, subway is right outside and easy to walk to the main mid-town attractions. Would definitely stay here again. Every employee we encountered was very friendly and super helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank amypeteBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I haven't stayed in a NYC hotel in a while since my brother finally got an apartment of his own. No more roommates and frat-like atmosphere and hygiene - thank goodness. I just stayed here one night as we were evicted from my bro's apt when my parents arrived to squat in his apt for a couple of weeks.

Overall, a good hotel. It's actually right around the corner from my brother's apt and provides easy access to several train lines; in particular, the E train which will take you straight to the Air Train to JFK. The location may not be ideal for first -time NYC visitors as it's not in within walking distance to all the major sights, but for us it was perfect. The area actually does have a good number of restaurants nearby you just have to walk around or use Yelp to find the good ones. We went to a couple of cute French resturants that were nearby. Also close are Duane Read and a few other grocery stores.

The rooms were clean and large (by NYC standards). It's a very busy hotel and I paid more than I've ever paid for any hotel in my life! The shower did have mildew which is a huge peeve of mine. The best was so nice and comfy. I noticed lots of families coming in and out of this place so I imagine it's great for families - it was just me and the BF though.

The front desk staff were fine - not overly friendly or rude.

My main reasons for staying here were that it's close to my bro's apt and across the street from the E train so I was happy with my stay. I'd stay here again at a cheaper rate, but doubt I would stay here again paying the rate I did for one night. I'm just too frugal :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenbizkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent 4 days last month (Nov, 2012) at this hotel during a bday trip to the city with my wife. We found the hotel was perfectly located in midtown Manhattan, close to absolutely everything from food to entertainment to local transportation. The hotel employees were all very friendly and courteous. The room had a great view and was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloD209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Very spacious, everything in the room is new, there is no grand lobby, no pool, etc. but it's perfect if that's not what you are looking for. It's a good value for what it is. Do not eat at the cafe, it's very pricey for what it is. There is a bagel shop down the street for much cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Would def recommend to a family due to price and room size, every room comes with a good sized pullout sofa and mini fridge. Bit of a walk to activities but the room size/price made up for it, plus it was nice getting away from the hustle and bustle. Next to a drugstore/grocery store. Good view of the city, next to subway stop 53rd st. Quick and Easy to get to from lga via bus/subway combination for about $2.50 per person. Parade route was easily viewable and not too crowded just up the street.

Room Tip: High room with 2 queen beds, much larger room than the king sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainforestrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Quiet (except street noises which one can't escape in NY), clean adequate room in a good location. Unfortunate that they don't provide breakfast like other Courtyards and there is no quiet place (actually NO PLACE) to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee-which is only available during breakfast hours at a table in the hallway outside their restaurant -which only serves breakfast (for 20 bucks).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

You can't beat the size of the rooms here for the price. If you're going to Times Square or Rockefeller Center the location is great. We had two queens with a pull out sofa for the kids and it did not feel crowded. The room was clean with a comfortable bed, pillows and linen. We had a small refrigerator. It was not a fancy room but was tastefully decorated and met our needs. They are re-doing the rooms in January so maybe they are letting some things slide. The wallpaper was glued down strange in one area and the carpet was bunched up in a small area. These were very minor things. When I'm in New York I don't spend that much time in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant had a good breakfast buffet. They had a nice office area and lounge on the 12th floor. There were two computers with printing options. There is a subway stop right outside the front door which can get you anywhere in the city. Which is much faster than a cab. There is a Duanereade(walgreens) nextdoor which is perfect for grabbing water or asprin. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Times Square West
Courtyard by Marriott New York T...
#121 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#219 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan / Upper East Side
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#251 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#112 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,527 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#278 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing