We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #93 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Very spacious, everything in the room is new, there is no grand lobby, no pool, etc. but it's perfect if that's not what you are looking for. It's a good value for what it is. Do not eat at the cafe, it's very pricey for what it is. There is a bagel shop down the street for much cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    624
    91
    17
    12
See reviews for
666
252
54
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympic National Park, Washington
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Would def recommend to a family due to price and room size, every room comes with a good sized pullout sofa and mini fridge. Bit of a walk to activities but the room size/price made up for it, plus it was nice getting away from the hustle and bustle. Next to a drugstore/grocery store. Good view of the city, next to subway stop 53rd st. Quick and Easy to get to from lga via bus/subway combination for about $2.50 per person. Parade route was easily viewable and not too crowded just up the street.

Room Tip: High room with 2 queen beds, much larger room than the king sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Quiet (except street noises which one can't escape in NY), clean adequate room in a good location. Unfortunate that they don't provide breakfast like other Courtyards and there is no quiet place (actually NO PLACE) to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee-which is only available during breakfast hours at a table in the hallway outside their restaurant -which only serves breakfast (for 20 bucks).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

You can't beat the size of the rooms here for the price. If you're going to Times Square or Rockefeller Center the location is great. We had two queens with a pull out sofa for the kids and it did not feel crowded. The room was clean with a comfortable bed, pillows and linen. We had a small refrigerator. It was not a fancy room but was tastefully decorated and met our needs. They are re-doing the rooms in January so maybe they are letting some things slide. The wallpaper was glued down strange in one area and the carpet was bunched up in a small area. These were very minor things. When I'm in New York I don't spend that much time in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant had a good breakfast buffet. They had a nice office area and lounge on the 12th floor. There were two computers with printing options. There is a subway stop right outside the front door which can get you anywhere in the city. Which is much faster than a cab. There is a Duanereade(walgreens) nextdoor which is perfect for grabbing water or asprin. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on here... I'm not sure what people really expect when they visit NYC. I travel often and am very picky on where I will spend the night. I frequently visit the city and always stay here.

Some of the negative comments I've read on here: (1) The size of the lobby. Sure, it isn't a large grand lobby, but who cares. Are you planning on spending your visit in the lobby? Probably not. To spend $160/night (on average) for a room with a king size bed and sofa (with pull out bed), in a LARGE room, is what I call a steal. (2) The unfriendly staff... I've never encountered this myself, I've always had great staff helping me. However, even if they were rude or unfriendly, it really wouldn't affect my stay. I'm not looking to make friends with them. I'm looking for someone who is able to check me in/out, provide me extra towels or pillows when requested, etc. You can stay in a 5-star hotel and have rude staff, so this shouldn't even be an issue.

When I go to visit the city, the only time I am in the room is to shower and sleep. The rooms are clean, the linens are clean, the bathroom is clean... what more do you want? At night, the front doors are locked and you need to use your room key in order to get in. It's in a safe area with a subway right around the corner, and you are within walking distance of Central Park and Times Square. There is a Duane Read downstairs if you want to grab a snack, soda, toothbrush, whatever.

Overall, for the price, this really is a fantastic hotel and I plan on booking my next stay for January shortly.

Room Tip: I've never requested a specific room/area, but I've never had a problem with what I've b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel. All of our needs and requests were met. The room was clean and the view was beautiful on the 30th floor. Everyone was courteous and friendly. The front desk and valet were excellent and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for a thanksgiving day parade with my kids. Overpriced for the quality of hotel. No grand lobby. No pool. No place to hang out and relax after a day's long walks and subway rides. Very noisy at night (even atop 23rd floor!). The breakfast buffet and food were overpriced, and did not taste good. Fruits were not fresh. Waffle tasted like cardboard! Sausages and bacon were reheated many times, it tasted old!
Will not stay here next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.