We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaaaazing ..... Only wish we could have stayed longer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East to your Saves list
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Rates
Ranked #95 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amaaaazing ..... Only wish we could have stayed longer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We should have stayed here until Tuesday but only stayed for 1 night due to Hurricane Sandy. The hotel were beyond helpful , everyone we came into contact with was so, so helpful. We travelled as a family of 5 the room was Huge !!! And exceptionally clean. When we arrived we saw that there was an American Girl package available ( we have a six year old daughter) . Although we had not booked the package we were able to purchase it which made her day . We were fully briefed by the staff throughout and advised on what to do. Without hesitation I would highly recommend this hotel ( the location is 10 mins walk from Grand Central and about 15 from Time Square). Next time we visit this will be the place we stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    638
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
675
256
56
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Three of us have just had a 4 night stay at this Hotel. Must say very pleased with the location, perfect room 2 large comfortable beds and a sofa bed and lots of space to move around. Very clean bed linen and change of towels each day.
Dwane Reads Pharmacy on ground level with everything you need. Lots of restaurants and Diners for breakfast in the area.
Subway just outside which is very convenient with your Metro Card !! We always bring ear plugs so noise is never a problem.
So what if there is no Bar in the Hotel there are lots of them round in 2nd Ave. if thats important to you.
A 1 pm checkout was no problem and we received lots of help with storing our luggage for our late evening flight home. A Limo was booked for us to JFK for $65 including tip which was well worth it. On the negative side the cost of rooms plus ALL the taxes added on can make it quite expensive but still would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on a family trip.
Very friendly staff, terrific location, large and comfortable rooms.
We requested high floors and early check-in and got both. No noise at all at night.
The concierge at the end of our stay pulled all the stops out and got us great transport back to JFK for our flight home which really finished our trip on a high.
The only slight negative is the cost of rooms but I guess for Manhattan you get what you pay for.
Highly recommended. My oldest 2 children, who were with me (22,24) loved it!!
One other tip: 143 E 49th Street, San Martin Italian Restaurant. Well worth visiting, we had a great meal there and within walking distance!

Room Tip: We chose high and they we very pleasant even though our group was on 2 separate floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Courtyard Marriott New York. It is ideally located with all sorts of eateries beside and around you. Subway at the front door and a pharmacy underneath with snacks etc. We didnt eat breakfast at the hotel as much prefer getting out and about. There is a great place called the New York Luncheonette which is a 2 min walk from the hotel on 50th street between 3rd avenue and Lexington. The hotel itself has everything you will need. The rooms are very large for new york standards. We stayed in a double queen with sofa bed. The sofa beds are not comfortable so make sure to ask for an extra duvet to put over the mattress. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again if visiting the city and have no hesitations in recommending this hotel for your visit to NYC. Enjoy

Room Tip: Pick a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

we went to nyc for long weekend, we tryed to do as much as possible .the hotel was in good spot for walking to alot of the attractions.the room was clean, good size, and comfortable. we ate break fast one morning buffet style and it was very good.i have one major complaint and its with their valet parking. the cost was 48dollars a day and a pair of bose headphones were stolen from inside the glove box. when i talked to hotel they said the garage is seperate from them therefore they were not responsable. when i looked into valet parking there was no mention of this or on their website. talked to manager at garage and not holding my breath for them to locate or replace.marriott should at least let you know its not their garage your leaving your car in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

From the moment I stepped in I felt kind of at home, It is not a luxury hotel, but let me tell you that you fell the attentions in a personal way, they take very good care of you. I found everything I needed. A nice clean room, a very comfy bed and a wonderful shower. And at last but not least a VERY GOOD LOCATION. You are six blocks away from Bloomingdales (I love forty carrots frozen yogurt), but not only that, you have right next door a Duane Read 24/7 and very close a great coffee shop with the best muffins ever. Also a Barnes and Noble on the same block. Hope to be back soon. It felt like a family hotel, so many nice seniors and also families with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went to NYC for a long weekend, to enjoy a few Broadway shows. This hotel is 1 to 1.5 miles from the theater district (depending upon which theater) and is a reasonable walk. Note: A cab ride to the theater is only about $7 + tip, if you don't want to walk. The subway (E train) is right across the street and will get you very close to your theater, too.

Pros: VERY large rooms by NYC standards.
VERY clean rooms and bathrooms.
Very friendly hotel employees.
A quiet hotel. Much quieter than being near Times Square. We were on the 23rd floor.
Very reasonable rates for NYC. We booked months ahead of time. $237/night.
Free use of computers in their business center, which was never busy.
Subway station is very close to the hotel.
A good CVS/Walgreens type store is right next to the hotel.

Cons: No large beautiful lobby, if that means anything to you. We couldn't care less about that.
That's it!!!

Note: This property is a typical 3-star Courtyard Marriott. If you're looking for the Four Seasons, this isn't it.

We could not have been more happy with this hotel. Kudos to the management of this property!

Room Tip: As with any NYC hotel, the higher rooms are probably quieter -- less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#65 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.