We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top location, good price and nice staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Vinci Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Da Vinci Hotel to your Saves list
Da Vinci Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   244 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
österreich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“top location, good price and nice staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Near times square and central park and many tube stations :) you can reach important things like times square, 4 2nd street and empire state building by foot in 5 - 15 minutes. Great!!! ... there is breakfast offered in the hotel, it is like ever second shop on the street, to take away and only sweet things like croissants, muffins and so on. It is ok for the first big hungry feeling in the morning, but there are some nice coffee shops near the hotel were you get really nice breakfast :).... the staff was very helpful to find the right way and by ordering a shuttle bus. ... wifi was only working near the reception. we had a room.in the 4th floor and it was not the hugest room I ever saw, but it was ok for two persons. The bed was about 1 meter or more high. A little.bit unusual but ok. The only thing I have to criticize is that the walls are very thin and in a hit summer night you have to turn on the cooler the whole night. Otherwise the room will be very warm.in about 10 minutes. I can recommend this hotel for all people with average standard ;) thanks

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    204
    97
    27
    32
See reviews for
45
222
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in late June (booked mid-April). Travelled as a couple.

Now the room was tiny, the carpet was dirty & the air conditioner was noisy (it also worked very well given the 80 degree temps).

However, I chose this hotel for the following reasons (in order):
Private bathroom
Price
Location
Free wifi
Queen bed
Mini fridge
Free breakfast

& the hotel delivered on all of these ("breakfast" might be a stretch, but they provide free muffins).

If you're on budget & you understand what budget means (also remembering you're in midtown manhattan!) then this hotel should be satisfactory for you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights, and while the location was great many other things were much less than stellar.

The great part is that you are located in the heart of midtown walking distance to so many great places including delicious restaurants!

The things that pretty much sucked were the following:

* broken toilet that wouldn't flush
* our television stopped working
* the light next to my bed side wouldn't turn off so you had to turn the lightbulb loose to turn it off
* the carpet was disgusting, and I felt I needed to wear my flip flops all around the room
* the towel rack kept falling off of the shower door

The bed was actually pretty comfortable, but overall I didn't feel too comfortable staying here and wouldn't again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hotel's entrance is unimpressive and not marked clearly - you have to really crane your neck up above the canopy to see the name from the sidewalk. I only knew because I asked someone who was working at the restaurant below. Check-in was efficient and the front desk clerk was very informative about quirky things like the hard-to-find A/C switch, the free breakfast that's more like "refreshments", and the wi-fi information.
Room:
Stayed on the 2nd floor so it was easily accessible via the staircase behind front desk. However we were nestled way in the back of the hotel behind the elevator. This was good because it was very quiet and away from high traffic areas. We also heard virtually no traffic noise; I think I heard one fire truck siren (that's what you get for a view of a brick wall, right?) However the wi-fi signal in our room was virtually useless since we were so isolated. Room size is very small but hey, it's Manhattan, and a steal of a deal - what else is new! Mini-fridge really is mini, and closet isn't even high enough for a men's coat. Bathroom is marble-lined, true to its advertisement on the website, but the water in the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. On our second morning to our horror there was a roach crawling around on our floor, it must have been close to 2 inches long.
Breakfast:
Served 7-10 in lobby. It really isn't much, just coffee and a few muffins & buns that run out very quickly.
Location:
This is the main selling point of the hotel. Located near 4 stations all walking-distance, to ABCDEF123 lines. You can really go anywhere! Also isn't far from 5th Av shopping district, Central Park, Broadway theatres, and Hell's Kitchen bars, restaurants, etc. If you take an express train, Penn Station is only 2 stops away!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were supposed to spend 3 nights at this tiny hotel and we spent only 2 nights. They made sure to have us pay the entire 3 nights in advance.. The bed was worst than a hammock and the shower and AC didn't work properly..The room was smaller than my bathroom and they make you feel like you are coming from another planet when you complain about it!
NEVER AGAIN! Motel 6 is better than that!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Pros: great location, updated bathroom, free wifi, clean room, friendly staff
Cons: very uncomfortable beds, poor lighting, dirty/old carpet, noisy air conditioning, strange noise coming from phone all night, late housekeeping, no coffee maker in room, continental breakfast with cold coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here during our son's graduation. Overpriced, but apparently all NYC hotels take advantage of graduation month. The carpet was filthy. We were unable to adjust the a/c. It was on or off. Bed was clean and comfortable. Pillows were like bricks. Outdated decor. Very quiet room with mini fridge. Great location with no amenities. Coffee/tea available with poor pastries in AM. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#385 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#173 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#103 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#329 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci Hotel

Address: 244 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Vinci Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of New York's busy midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vinci
Da Vinci Hotel New York
Da Vinci New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Vinci Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.