We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service & location, questionable features” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da Vinci Hotel

Save Saved
You added Da Vinci Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Vinci Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   244 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #336 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good service & location, questionable features”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hotel's entrance is unimpressive and not marked clearly - you have to really crane your neck up above the canopy to see the name from the sidewalk. I only knew because I asked someone who was working at the restaurant below. Check-in was efficient and the front desk clerk was very informative about quirky things like the hard-to-find A/C switch, the free breakfast that's more like "refreshments", and the wi-fi information.
Room:
Stayed on the 2nd floor so it was easily accessible via the staircase behind front desk. However we were nestled way in the back of the hotel behind the elevator. This was good because it was very quiet and away from high traffic areas. We also heard virtually no traffic noise; I think I heard one fire truck siren (that's what you get for a view of a brick wall, right?) However the wi-fi signal in our room was virtually useless since we were so isolated. Room size is very small but hey, it's Manhattan, and a steal of a deal - what else is new! Mini-fridge really is mini, and closet isn't even high enough for a men's coat. Bathroom is marble-lined, true to its advertisement on the website, but the water in the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. On our second morning to our horror there was a roach crawling around on our floor, it must have been close to 2 inches long.
Breakfast:
Served 7-10 in lobby. It really isn't much, just coffee and a few muffins & buns that run out very quickly.
Location:
This is the main selling point of the hotel. Located near 4 stations all walking-distance, to ABCDEF123 lines. You can really go anywhere! Also isn't far from 5th Av shopping district, Central Park, Broadway theatres, and Hell's Kitchen bars, restaurants, etc. If you take an express train, Penn Station is only 2 stops away!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    162
    78
    25
    30
See reviews for
38
176
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were supposed to spend 3 nights at this tiny hotel and we spent only 2 nights. They made sure to have us pay the entire 3 nights in advance.. The bed was worst than a hammock and the shower and AC didn't work properly..The room was smaller than my bathroom and they make you feel like you are coming from another planet when you complain about it!
NEVER AGAIN! Motel 6 is better than that!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Goderich, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Pros: great location, updated bathroom, free wifi, clean room, friendly staff
Cons: very uncomfortable beds, poor lighting, dirty/old carpet, noisy air conditioning, strange noise coming from phone all night, late housekeeping, no coffee maker in room, continental breakfast with cold coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy Beach, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here during our son's graduation. Overpriced, but apparently all NYC hotels take advantage of graduation month. The carpet was filthy. We were unable to adjust the a/c. It was on or off. Bed was clean and comfortable. Pillows were like bricks. Outdated decor. Very quiet room with mini fridge. Great location with no amenities. Coffee/tea available with poor pastries in AM. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Located between 8th Ave and Broadway and a few blocks from Columbus Circle subway station, it is a great start point for sightseeing in Manhattan. It also a short distance from Central park. The hotel itself is ok. It feels more like a budget hotel than high class hotel. It is clean and comfortable. If breakfast is important for you, you will be disapointed. But you get enough to hold you to an early lunch. Staff is friendly, but not updated on events happening around. When you stay there, try out the restaurant Brasso56. It is next door and have great food and good service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We choose this hotel based on its location and price, and we couldn't have chosen a better one! We were able to check in earlier than expected and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Initial thought of the room was nice, two standard double beds, tv, desk, and mini fridge. Beds were clean :) The bathroom was very nice, marble floors/walls/shower/tub. The water from the shower was a little temperamental...in the early morning the temperature was extremely hot, a little unbearable, but it cooled off later in the day. So if you can take a shower at night or afternoon, do so. Otherwise it was a great hotel and great stay. Continental breakfast with muffins and breads, coffee and tea were nice. Great place to stay! I would definitely consider staying here again for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights, was a great location so close to times square and central park, we could pretty much walk everywhere, the rooms themselves are nothing spectacular, but they will do for somewhere to sleep, the beds were a bit hard and if I wasnt exhausted from the days activities I dont know how I would go sleeping on them, the rooms were always clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would probably stay here again for the location!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci Hotel

Address: 244 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Vinci Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of New York's busy midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vinci
Da Vinci Hotel New York
Da Vinci New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Vinci Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.